Mattocks versus Deshorn

"The problem here is that they are product of the college system which them turned them over to the MLS"

What club was looking at them before College? Is there any better result for our players who didn't go that route?

You are Wrong. They spent 2 years in college. How many the played in Dcup and Jamaican football??? Would they even be in the MLS if they didn't go to college???

Fact is they had to get CRASH COURSE. Mattocks played 1.5 years in college, at age 19-20 he wasn't even a regular starter at Waterhouse. Explain that to me Tilla.
    Last edited by Assasin; July 31, 2014, 12:33 PM.

They spent 2 years in college.
      Two years in college? That is two years to long Sass.

But I understand, it is where the opportunity presented itself. In some situations, it is the advice people give the young youths who want an opportunity. Going the college route is a safer bet for many as if they do not make it in the professional game, they would have an education to fall back on. Can't wrong that approach still, especially when clubs were not knocking down your door.

Yes, DaCosta and Manning Cups played their parts too.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla the fact is the 80% of the kids that go to college had no chance of a professional career if they didn't. It is not like anyone was knocking on their doors, going to college gave them a chance at a pro career and education, it is not just a backup.

To move from can't starting from a NPL team to Starting for a MLS team in two years and playing constantly?? I call that big improvement.

It is what it is, and until our environment changes it is a no brainer for me. If you are a talent players with option and have clubs seriously knocking, then I wouldn't expect a player to choose college if they wanted a pro career, but as the case with so many of these youths on the edge of national program or premier league teams who think there is more in football and can mange the college work then college is a great opportunity.

oh, its that time again to hash out that age old debate? if there are no new points of view we can just recycle the archived arguments...

Are you suggesting that you cannot teach old dog new tricks? Both players only just turned 23, so they still have some playing time left.

The problem here is that they are product of the college system which them turned them over to the MLS. Proves the point that playing in the college rec league does now help in the players' development when compared to committing to a professional environment earlier. I guess they had to take the opportunities as they come.

Well, here goes Assasin now.
            Not suggesting that, however they are way past the development stage and should be making a real impact at this age. I would love to see them excel but experience tells me they won't be nothing more than ordinary. I would look to the guys who are under 21 to be honest.

Deshorn Brown 22-12-90
            Darren Mattocks 2-9-90
            Raheem Sterling 8-12-94
            Neymar 5-2-92
            James Rodriquez 12-7-91
            Lukaku 13-5-93
            Juan Quintero 18-1-93

Unuh get the drift

You are right. Shows how our system or lack of a system has underdeveloped our players.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

you talking Apples to Oranges. Let us start get in a few in Championship and other second tier league consistently first.

Just talking about age of development

Deshorn seems more level headed looking on from a distance.
                    Last edited by Stonigut; August 2, 2014, 10:12 AM.

Wow those are some serious figures, boom, tells us a lot.