• Captain Burrell: Time to draft Usain Bolt for football

No... not as a player Here's how:

Usain is perhaps the World's most recognizable sports personality.. He's a global brand. Usain is also a track star who loves football

Brazil is hosting the Rio Olympics in 2016. Brazil is not an Olympic power but has aspirations especially since they'll be hosts..
    Jamaica and Usain are already HUGE Olympic power centers.
    Rio needs us and the Jamaica vs US rivalry to be an uber successful event... so let's leverage this scenario on a win-win basis

Please strike a partnership with the JAAA/Jamaica Olympic Committee and co-lead a high profile delegation to Brazil (including Usain) where we can offer them track our track expertise in return for technical football assistance for a genuine youth development program. Just by it's innovative nature and star power....this proposal would get tremendous coverage and overwhelming support in Brazil.... chuss mi

Here are some possibilities: HOW TRACK CAN POWER FOOTBALL

Our football can only benefit from Brazilian expertise ... our track trainers benefit from more opportunities... and our Brazilian partners learn how to run fast

The time to get this done is NOW ... the timing leading up to Rio is perfect.

Respectfully,

Don1
    Last edited by Don1; July 20, 2014, 08:21 PM.

Leverage what you have when it is at its highest value (run up to Rio) great idea!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      Leverage what you have when it is at its highest value (run up to Rio) great idea!
      seeit deh Stoni... wi nuh guh skool fi nutten

Good idea, yes!

Idea yah soun appealing fi real, love it.

without a doubt they have to get him involved. Who expected to see him on the field???

Like the partnership with Cidella Marley and the Reggae Girls. It help them to raise funds for the girls.

The idea=concept is TOP OF THE WORLD!

Just by it's innovative nature and star power.
                its

The problem is that we often don't recognize what we have in hand and how to leverage intangibles (like our creativity or brand power) ...

What Jamaica has to understand is... development is not always about oodles of money... People get that idea from the foreign environments they live in where everything is denominated in dominated by bags of money. That mindset is shallow

Sometimes we just need a likkle more vision (and yes a likkle money) to fulfill our potential imho.... and that vision can attract the support we need if it's mutually beneficial
                  Last edited by Don1; July 21, 2014, 11:29 AM.

manchester united used him .....

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...chester+United
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What Jamaica has to understand is... development is not always about oodles of money... People get that idea from the foreign environments they live in where everything is denominated in dominated by bags of money. That mindset is shallow
                        You were doing so well until you uttered the above piece of nonsense! I expect better than that from you.

I think you are looking at the JFF as if it were a "dolly house" and not a business. Money is needed to address the business' need for goods and services. How you come by that money is another thing, but to suggest that people who focus on how to finance the business are "shallow", is bordering on being asinine.

I have no problem with programs securing sponsorships to help run the business. Brazil's football program is heavily sponsored. I can recall looking into this some years ago and Nike at the time had a long-term sponsorship deal with them valued at some US$120 million, Brazilian bank, Itau US$40 million, then there are others like MasterCard, Poweraid etc, etc. We need a source of income for the Jamaican national teams, be it through sponsorship or teams pay us appearance fees to go to their countries to participate in friendlies etc. Playing games in Jamaica make no economic sense, as our Jamaican based fans do not have the disposable income to support games on a regular basis and at a price point where the JFF can make money off these matches.

I see if Jamaica and Brazil were to agree on an exchange project as you have suggested, it is going to be a situation of Brazil undertaking their costs in getting their experts here and Jamaica/JFF undertaking their's in getting our expertise there. However you look at it, somebody will have to pay for the Jamaica part of the exchange, assuming that Brazil will take care of theirs. In the absence of sponsors coming on board to meet our part of the obligation financially, would you expect Brazil or the Jamaican government to absorb our part of the expense? At the end of the day, monies have to come from somewhere. . . Airfare, lodging, salaries, stipends, food, etc, etc, do not take care of themselves.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

LOL. Based on your unpleasant tone it seems you interpreted this as a personal attack. Hush

Instead of your rank emotionalism it would have perhaps been better if you read and comprehended the essence of my suggestions.

The essence being that development starts with vision...not money. Of course money is important... but to get stakeholder buy-in a compelling vision is required. I see the phenomenon all the time in projects

The proposal addresses how to acquire the technical training skills we need but don't have. Contrary to your stated beliefs this is a HUGE cost if it is secured on a commercial basis and not through the barter arrangement suggested. The proposal also anticipated and stated that.... given the $$$ disparity between the 2 nations, Brazil could be open to covering the lion's share of expenses.

Without vision the yutes will continue to perish. That's the sad reality but one which is easily within our power to fix.... but it can't be fixed while wearing blinkers
                          Last edited by Don1; July 21, 2014, 05:04 PM.

One thing that's really astonishing about these comments re financing (and the specious flummery recently extruded by HL ) .... is the failure to comprehend that barter is a form of trade which REPLACES financial exchange... It's almost sad that I have to point out this obvious fact

Consequently the proposal is largely self-financing with respect to the critical and VERY EXPENSIVE human technical inputs.... Conceivably running to US$ millions over a 10 year term

It's revealing that I can't recall seeing any significant development proposals from the naysayers... and certainly none with built in financing

Go figure
                            Last edited by Don1; July 23, 2014, 03:48 PM.