Why selfish England must learn from selfless Germany

• Why selfish England must learn from selfless Germany

The superiority of German football culture over ours can be summed up as an obligation to always put the greater good over any individual needs, a philosophy that applies not only within the 11 players on the pitch but across every level of their game.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...s-Germany.html
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If only our JFF, our teachers=coaches and players...

....would take a page out of Germany's book? TEAM mi seh!!!

When will people realise it's nothing to do with football or investment. It's the national psyche. Culture. Personality. We are a reserved, modest and timid bunch in this country. We will never have the flamboyance of South American culture and will never be capable of their creative football. We are not as patient as the Spanish people and will never master their possession in the build-up. We don't have the pragmatism of the Dutch which is why we will never be as good as them at total football. The Germans are a fiercely ambitious, competitive, ruthless and efficient bunch and that's why we will never be as good as them at winning at any cost. Basically our culture doesn't lend itself to any style of football, unless we can invent one to suit us. English players can do alright in the Premier League with foreigners around but a team of Britons won't compete for cultural reasons.

only in diplomacy can england be described as a ruthless bunch.

all the sports "invented" by the british (except maybe darts) are dominated by other cultures.....andy murray most likely won wimbledon because he wasnt english.....remember tim henman?

Biggest problem England has is a cultural one, show up and play because they are suppose to be good. Most England's friendly are played at home, and everything is matching to the EPL format. Players don't dig trenches and nobody really care about bringing through talent.

It is just so easy as the clubs tell the manager who can only play half a match or hide the players. It is simple, these cups are not very important to England and it shows.

Biggest problem England has is a cultural one, show up and play because they are suppose to be good. Most England's friendly are played at home, and everything is matching to the EPL format. Players don't dig trenches and nobody really care about bringing through talent.

It is just so easy as the clubs tell the manager who can only play half a match or hide the players. It is simple, these cups are not very important to England and it shows.
            If the WC was awarded on winning friendlies then England would be up there with Brazil and Germany in winning it. Most countries will use friendlies to experiment; try out systems, formations, players etc, with the result not taken too too seriously

Example; Italy v Luxemburg 2014

"I have no doubt after this game about how we will play. We tried a system that worked for an hour. Verratti is ready, both mentally and physically, and can play together with Pirlo. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27383409

With England its the reverse. The result is all important especially with the unforgiving media scrutiny which places pressure on the managers and players to stick to what they know and not to lose.
            it leaves little room to learn or develop different approaches or ways of playing. End result; great reults in Friendlies, poor showing in the WC or Euros when the result really matters.
            Last edited by GazX; July 18, 2014, 04:38 PM.

I think too much analysis in this case leads to paralysis, the bottom line on England is the places where they had their greatest weakness they failed to address the weakness, where they had their greatest strength they failed to protect that as well, all under the stupid idea that many on this website have about playing attractive, attacking football as if there is some mystery ingredient that can be captured and applied.

I pointed out their biggest weakness was defensive midfield and the idea that a defensive midfield must play a good portion of defense, instead we saw two attack minded players (Henderson and Gerard) that were both defensive liabilities even at their own club play those two positions in the 4-5-1, I mean how crazy can you get. You are playing the World Cup not the epl, playing in a strong group of countries and you try to play attacking football first.

Then your best creative player (Rooney) you play him on the wing instead of the center of things, then you play bit players over skilled players,welbeck over lallana.

So many management mistakes, England has a great set of players, hopefully one day they get an opportunity to play the best players together in sensible positions.