Things Ozil did better than anyone else at the World Cup

• Things Ozil did better than anyone else at the World Cup

Arsenal and Germany attacker attracted criticism for his international displays but we highlight his areas of excellence.

A hat-trick of Arsenal players emerged from the recent World Cup tournament in Brazil as champions, with Lukas Podolski making two cameo appearances over 53 minutes, Per Mertesacker lining-up five times and Mesut Ozil featuring in every single game for Germany.

Out of them all, though, it is the trequartista who has once again had to fend off criticism for his performance-level with the Daily Mail running a hyperbolic appraisal of the Gunner following Germany's 7-1 rout over Brazil at the semi-final stage.

Despite 55 touches on the football, an 88% passing accuracy, one successful dribble, two shots on goal, two goal-scoring opportunities created and one direct assist, he "barely registered an important kick" according to an article that has since been deleted.

http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2014/...e-at-world-cu/
    Last edited by Mosiah; July 14, 2014, 10:14 PM.

wow pure genius and we cant see it. wi mussi blind, 66 touches per game 89% passing accuracy, 171 final third passes, 17 goal scoring opportunities, six balls won in final third.

with that combination no one was close.
    Ozil so good so sublime that many totally miss it.

Surely you can't be this gullible!

Why did the great Michel Platini seek out Ozil to ask

For his number ten shirt. michel Platini who many regards as a classic, and great player who wore the number 10 Jersey with distinction singled out the sublimed Mesut Ozil to ask for his shirt. Therefore, are we to believe that Michel doesn't recognized this player Ozil's skills or is it just a fanatic appeal....I posit this to ponder on the enigmatic player..Who evokes praise and criticism in abundance.
        "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

The reason why Ozil takes up so much space on this forum is because, while there are many who think he's a legend, there is an equal number who believe he is not. I believe he's overrated, and did not live up to expectations at Arsenal.

The article I posted sought to identify the things he did well. Do you think his naysayers could put together something to prove why he's not all that? I don't think that would be too difficult.
          Last edited by Mosiah; July 15, 2014, 07:34 AM.

Ozil will always split opinion because of his style of play and his unselfishness, however his productivity is second to none. He has been Germany's key player for the last 4 years and today is no different.

http://www.theequaliser.com/2014/07/...errated-player

I think this is a fair assessment of Mesut Ozil:

http://m.bleacherreport.com/articles...-is-mesut-ozil

Ozil is well known for making simple 10 yard passes to his teammates. How do you think that will skew his numbers?

What we all see is not exactly what is being reflected in his stats. Dirk Kuyt probably has great numbers too because most of his completed passes are safe back passes.

I know, Ozil completed the most passes into the final third. Well, were they the defence-splitting passes we keep hearing about? Or were they simple 10 yard passes to open teammates?

Anyway, all this is making it look like I don't like the player. Fact is, I do, but I do believe he's overrated. He just ain't as good as some of us have made him out to be.

The key is creating scoring chances, short passes, long passes it doesn't matter. For a player or a team to succeed end product is the key and Ozil consistently create scoring chances and has been the most productive playmaker in Europe's top leagues over the past 5 seasons that is why he is a top player.

The more we talk, the better you say Ozil has been performing.

I think the count is now "5 seasons". When do we hear 6?

His best quality - humility. Or it could be his worst! Maybe if he were a little brash we would see the damage he appears capable of doing.

A bet you this won't be address but the worshippers?

While I think he will be successful, this article did a balance review.

Arsenal and Germany attacker attracted criticism for his international displays but we highlight his areas of excellence.

A hat-trick of Arsenal players emerged from the recent World Cup tournament in Brazil as champions, with Lukas Podolski making two cameo appearances over 53 minutes, Per Mertesacker lining-up five times and Mesut Ozil featuring in every single game for Germany.

Out of them all, though, it is the trequartista who has once again had to fend off criticism for his performance-level with the Daily Mail running a hyperbolic appraisal of the Gunner following Germany's 7-1 rout over Brazil at the semi-final stage.

Despite 55 touches on the football, an 88% passing accuracy, one successful dribble, two shots on goal, two goal-scoring opportunities created and one direct assist, he "barely registered an important kick" according to an article that has since been deleted.

http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2014/...e-at-world-cu/

Do you still think this guy is not TOP THE WORLD CLASS?

The figures as per this article: 1 person in a group of 10 taken over number of minutes played? ...let me use the stats to lie a little but to jog the mind on path thinking should follow - Mesut Ozil is considered in the company of the 10 best in the World. If we follow such a through process...flawed though it is...then being in the World's top 10 must make one World Class!!!!

...so again, do you still think this guy is not TOP OF THE WORLD CLASS=great???!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                          wow pure genius and we cant see it. wi mussi blind, 66 touches per game 89% passing accuracy, 171 final third passes, 17 goal scoring opportunities, six balls won in final third.

with that combination no one was close.
                          Ozil so good so sublime that many totally miss it.
                          Yuh eva si Frankie Worrell or Lawrence Rowe bat when on top form?
                          Dem man deh mek ebryting look lacka hit innah slow-motion!!!

Mesut Ozil?
                          Him mek hit look lacka slow motion, nuh true?!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            Ozil will always split opinion because of his style of play and his unselfishness, however his productivity is second to none. He has been Germany's key player for the last 4 years and today is no different.

http://www.theequaliser.com/2014/07/...errated-player
                            Dunny this guy cannot be marked successfully. His tricks, his TEAM-first attitude and mind is...well?...unique.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                              The key is creating scoring chances, short passes, long passes it doesn't matter. For a player or a team to succeed end product is the key and Ozil consistently create scoring chances and has been the most productive playmaker in Europe's top leagues over the past 5 seasons that is why he is a top player.
                              ....and as fact, anyone who claims he does not make many wonderful 'long passes' has been blinded to the reality!