Things Ozil did better than anyone else at the World Cup

Data only good when it support certain cases.

Funny thing is you a go hear how we nuh rate Ozil. He is a very good teammate to have, but I don't know if I can expect him to lead my team.

So it look!

Karl have some ammunition still. Ozil's average passing distance is 14m, not 10 as I thought. Woo hoo! 14 is still less than his teammates, and when you think that he plays a lot on the wing, so he would be making crosses...then you realise that many of his passes could be under 10m!

The fact that his teammates are scoring goals while he isn't, not just here but at Arsenal, is a little unsettling for me.

As for the writer who tried to suggest that Ozil was fasting due to Ramadan and so may not be in the peak of health, what about the Algerians? They seemed to have handled Ramadan quite well, no?! Mind you, we are not sure which ones actually observe the holiday.

" As for the writer who tried to suggest that Ozil was fasting due to Ramadan and so may not be in the peak of health, what about the Algerians? They seemed to have handled Ramadan quite well, no?! Mind you, we are not sure which ones actually observe the holiday."

Good observation.

So it look!

The fact that his teammates are scoring goals while he isn't, not just here but at Arsenal, is a little unsettling for me.
          hahahaha!!! Yuh funny nuh ratid.
          ...or I guess you could supplying scoring chances and be on the end of them all at the same time

Yuh ever see some videos I have made of some NPL players? Real Madrid scouts would be impressed!

Karl, look at the stats I just put up and explain why Ozil's data and overall scores lag behind his own German counterparts, particularly others in midfield. Twist the data any way you like!

Again, I am not saying he is a bad player, but I cannot understand how some of us big him up over some other German players.
            Have you looked at the data you put up?
            Have you delved into them?

Do you realize that some of the players in front of Ozil had single digit action?
            ...and on another note - Take a look at defensive midfielders and backs - As outfielders they usually lead the line in successful -
            - completed pass %age;

- clearances.

So the defenders and defensive midfielders lead in those areas.
            So who are the players Ozil should be compared with?
            Where would he then fit within his German TEAM?

What about the method used by the statistician? ...weight applied to what?

You breakdown/provide the detailed analyses of your posted stats and give clear interpretation on same. ...as the "eyes" suggest for Germany Ozil played his part well...and as fact without his contributions Germany could not have progressed as they did. (Please review each match and contributions Ozil made in each).

The main attacking midfielders were -
            - *Thomas Muller (midfielder/forward) Best of the attacking midfielders and certainly possible the best German player. In every match he was everywhere - on attack and on defense - making chances and scoring goals. By example the strongest player with greatest endurance in each match! Only competition as German player of the tournament, 'keeper Neuer.
            - Sami Khedira
            - Mesut Ozil
            - Andre Schurrle - Who had limited play but contributed mightily.

...but this is a great TEAM with great players in every position. Every player save Per Mertesacker and I think - not sure...cannot remember him moving forward making passes through to finding himself in the forward position - Jerome Boateng contributed in defense, midfield and as forward in each game. Phenomenal player rotation in games. Total football - positions just about irrelevant. The perception to the lover of the game the game was the players could rotate in a circular manner to right or left...or inverted flow as per 'the Jet Streams does at times' or the global wind flow patterns...with that Spanish team of the recent past but even closer to perfect TEAM football.

Look closely on your stats and you will find Ozil above and below fellow midfielders on different occasions. No matter how you cut it he was a vital member of this star-studded German TEAM.

--------
            Example of comparison of players and it tells a deep dig is needed to jump to conclusion that, say or target Ozil is down on sustained quality play than all rated above him.

Neuer v Thomas Muller

*That would suggest those 2 lead any ratings of the German TEAM. In your stats that is not so.

...and the scoring does not even have them close = There is a whopping gap between Neuer 357 and Thomas Muller 275. How so?
            Last edited by Karl; July 15, 2014, 07:45 PM.

Mr President,I think it would be fair to say those stats came as a surprise to you,well if so,then there are things about Ozil that are missing to you.
              Oh yeah,in this instance you were being specific but it is not the only time you questioned Ozil's capabilities.

hahahaha!!! Yuh funny nuh ratid.
                ...or I guess you could supplying scoring chances and be on the end of them all at the same time
                Maybe it's just me, but I would rather have goals over chances any day of the week, especially on matchday Sundays! Just an oddity I have.

Other players created almost as many scoring chances as Ozil did yet they managed to get on to the ends of them and score! Yet Ozil is the one who can run at 32 kph!
                Last edited by Mosiah; July 15, 2014, 09:10 PM.

If yuh can't make a précis out of this, then...not sure when I am going to find the time. Especially when I know I am not going to understand a single point!

Yes, I thought Ozil would have played a little more defence. 14m passes to the 10 I expected is not much of a difference. Fact is, his passes are shorter than most. Yet, his accuracy is not as high! Karl could probably explain that one.

Heh heh! I knew you'd come around sooner or later!

Yuh figget Kroos

Maybe it's just me, but I would rather have goals over chances any day of the week, especially on matchday Sundays! Just an oddity I have.

Other players created almost as many scoring chances as Ozil did yet they managed to get on to the ends of them and score! Yet Ozil is the one who can run at 32 kph!
                          Ozil scored - 1
                          ...and the most scored by a German was...?

Ozil played on a great TEAM! ...and contributed superbly and mightily!

i don't think his job was "stand out" as was the job description of messi and neymar ....

btw who was best young player? I though origi deserved at least an honourable mention

i don't think his job was "stand out" as was the job description of messi and neymar ....

btw who was best young player? I though origi deserved at least an honourable mention
                              Frankly I thought he was the best!
                              Hat mi dat im nuh go-hin tuh be hat GUNNERS. - Fast - Could be faster than Sturridge and or Sterling!!! Out of this World on attack!!! Technically skilled cyan dun! Good shot - either feet - right preference! Puts in good defensive work!

His team may well win the 2014/2015 EPL!!!

Ozil going backwards...