when makele was traded from real and beckham brought in, the club said that they had traded a plyaer who can pass the ball 10 metres for one can make a 30 metre pass ..... after the trade, real went into a dry spell and chelsea won 2 epl titles and an FA cup....
Things Ozil did better than anyone else at the World Cup
when makele was traded from real and beckham brought in, the club said that they had traded a plyaer who can pass the ball 10 metres for one can make a 30 metre pass ..... after the trade, real went into a dry spell and chelsea won 2 epl titles and an FA cup....
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI think this is a fair assessment of Mesut Ozil:
http://m.bleacherreport.com/articles...-is-mesut-ozil
When Ozil first emerged as a potential star at Schalke, he was barely post-pubescent; his body was typical of a 17-year-old athlete. The trouble is, he never developed the muscle—and with it, the strength and explosive turn of pace—that typifies professional athletes.
The player or set of players who do best at "limiting of time for opposing defense to 'set up'" are among the football greats! ALL THE GREATS had that quality of limiting (cutting into) the time opposing defenses had to work-out and execute defense - ...and it mattered not where those greats played in a TEAM.
The writer goes on to list a number of attributes that should be regarded as underlying that Ozil is a great player...yet he suggests he could be possibly labelled a flop in future years.
*Then there is the poster - Mosiah - of the article to this site. He states the comments on Ozil is fair yet just a few short posts past he claimed 'defense splitting passes' was not Ozil'? What is he trying to have us believe?
*http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...zil#post487424
As to the claim on he cannot win a game by himself? Exactly what is meant - cannot make the incisive pass that leads to the winning goal? Nonsense! ...as it flies in the face of the evidence!
Cannot score the goal that wins the game?
Nonsense! ...as it flies in the face of the evidence!
...so in light of it taking a TEAM to be successful at the highest levels, what does that cannot win a game by himself mean?Last edited by Karl; July 15, 2014, 01:38 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View Post*Then there is the poster - Mosiah - of the article to this site. He states the comments on Ozil is fair yet just a few short posts past he claimed 'defense splitting passes' was not Ozil'? What is he trying to have us believe?
So, to remove all doubt, let me state again - I do no associate defence-splitting with Ozil. Ozil is no Maestro!
So, to remove all doubt, let me state again - I do no associate defence-splitting with Ozil. Ozil is no Maestro!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWho makes it fact?
btw - What distance do you consider a ball to travel to be considered a long pass?
i) Often by Ozil: Anything over 15 yards is for me a long pass.
ii) ...20 yards and above is very long pass...and Ozil also makes those at times."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Well, here are the stats. How does Ozil compare against his teammates?
http://www.squawka.com/players/mesut-ozil
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostOzil is well known for making simple 10 yard passes to his teammates. How do you think that will skew his numbers?
What we all see is not exactly what is being reflected in his stats. Dirk Kuyt probably has great numbers too because most of his completed passes are safe back passes.
I know, Ozil completed the most passes into the final third. Well, were they the defence-splitting passes we keep hearing about? Or were they simple 10 yard passes to open teammates?
Anyway, all this is making it look like I don't like the player. Fact is, I do, but I do believe he's overrated. He just ain't as good as some of us have made him out to be."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Wow Mosiah, why yuh love support yuh arguments with facts so?Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWell, here are the stats. How does Ozil compare against his teammates?
http://www.squawka.com/players/mesut-ozil
Even within those stats he was a top performer for the Germans in several areas.
Well Eyes! - A look at some of his acts: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VywOgIzJnI0
2014 World Cup - v Brazil: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNOt2irejII
2013/14 GUNNERS - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhyF7EM9TQo
The Story so far (2010): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUAFMIxUfnc"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Yuh ever see some videos I have made of some NPL players? Real Madrid scouts would be impressed!
Karl, look at the stats I just put up and explain why Ozil's data and overall scores lag behind his own German counterparts, particularly others in midfield. Twist the data any way you like!
Again, I am not saying he is a bad player, but I cannot understand how some of us big him up over some other German players.
Originally posted by Karl View PostWhat are you trying to read from those stats? ...surely not that Mesut Ozil does not make defense splitting passes or long passes? ...or as Sass claims not good one-on-one?
Even within those stats he was a top performer for the Germans in several areas.
Frankly, I am not overly impressed when compared to his countrymen.
His best number, total chances created, is barely better the others, even as it happens to be the best. The other stuff was not impressive.