Came up during the match...and saw an interesting

• Came up during the match...and saw an interesting

set of opinions on whether or not Argentina should have been awarded a penalty and Neuer sent off?

btw - Before going on were there 2 occasions when an Argentine player should have been sent off? ...and another where a German should have been?

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...3234938272D1C0

...but back to that Higuain/Neuer incident - What do you think?
    Last edited by Karl; July 14, 2014, 01:54 PM.

Penalty for what? The keeper was excellent in dominating his box and was able to read the game and sweep up for his slow defenders.

Seems Fifa blocked the video...

It was that punched ball...and now it depends on how you saw it - i) after which he collided with Higuain... or ii) after which Higuain collided with him

Half of good video for discussing referees inconsistent calling of incidents. hey...the other half would be any video of a penalty being awarded for a defender clearing a ball and then after which he collided with the attacker... or ii) after which the attacker collided with him

Neuer v Higuain - There is Twitter!

https://twitter.com/James_Dart/statu...16947747688448

The following quote?

Manuel Neuer’s Big Hit on Higuain
        Manuel Neuer's big hit on Gonzalo Higuain has been a major talking point with the non contact sports specialists calling for a red card and the hard as nails specialists calling for a badge of honour and I must agree it was a great hit and a fair one too he got the ball and done what I'd expect every great keeper to do knee's up and protect themselves when coming for a ball in the area!

http://soccerblogs.net/blog/post/792...hit-on-higuain

It was that punched ball...and now it depends on how you saw it - i) after which he collided with Higuain... or ii) after which Higuain collided with him

Half of good video for discussing referees inconsistent calling of incidents. hey...the other half would be any video of a penalty being awarded for a defender clearing a ball and then after which he collided with the attacker... or ii) after which the attacker collided with him
          Karl - it only happened one way - the goalie punched the ball before the collision, no controversy need be drummed up.

Paul: I have always refereed one way - Man plays the ball then inadvertent contact - No foul!

...suddenly a few years past, man plays ball fairly then cannot stop on a dime - Foul! (...or ref calls Foul). That I have always held is a nonsense position. It has become so frequent for refs to make such a call that I suspect the FIFA Referees' Committee through its Education Committee and the FIFA Referees Trainers have been instructing refs so to do.

...even if so, still appears to be 'nonsense"!

Aside: Refereeing - Mission and Goals
            http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/footba...g/mission.html

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/footba...ing/index.html

Again, casual observers.

Is that the same thing as 5th columnists?

The goalie did nothing wrong. Higuain must also have known the goalie was coming.

actually most of the experts had it as a foul and red card...

No he didn't...knee to the head BEFORE the punch...but that is never going to be called against the keeper...

you a go show a picture. From this picture how do you know the goalie didn't punch the ball first????

kiss teet...go yuh bed...

also look good, you nuh see Higuain a lean inna the man knee fi get the fowl

hehehe....a so it looked to me to
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A still picture, Bricky? Really?!?! Yuh good like gold!