Ozil - One of the greats with Win?

• Ozil - One of the greats with Win?

One goal and one assist and 248 passes completed (3rd)He is the fastest player on the German side at 32 kmh (very deceptive) he covers the second most ground of all behind Lahm and is the third highest ranked player on the German team behind mueller and Lahm based on the Castrol index and he is still only 25.

With a win and some contribution to the win his stock rises immensely.

a wah? kiss teet

Ozil will back good passes but he doesn't really advance the ball by himself and can't beat players. He has to have someone running pretty close to him to be effective, his defense is poor. How do you compare him to Lamm, Muller, and most of that midfield???

I look at his play and see why he wasn't successful at Arsenal last year. He will make good short passes but that what he is mostly showing.

Ozil will back good passes but he doesn't really advance the ball by himself and can't beat players. He has to have someone running pretty close to him to be effective, his defense is poor. How do you compare him to Lamm, Muller, and most of that midfield???

I look at his play and see why he wasn't successful at Arsenal last year. He will make good short passes but that what he is mostly showing.
        The only comment I can make is; please look at his games again?

Ozil is a very good player:

Karl I have seen him too many times, on the mid- left, back turned to the opponent goal, get a pass and then make a very short pass. Very rare you see him take on a player. he plays very good short passes but I don't really rate him as good as you guy do.

I think the only reason he is that successful in this German team is because he is playing with good team mates who understand him, something he didn't have at Arsenal. I see him as a role player, someone would could be easily isolated. Nowhere close to great.

He can't be compared to Pierre Littbaski(Wicked little German Midfielder) and Stoni talking bout great. KMT

Very rare you see him take on a player.
              I can emphatically say that either you have not watched Ozil or you have no idea what is a one-on-one play!!! It is one or the other or both!

I see him as a role player, someone would could be easily isolated.
              Isolate a player!
              It is an impossible task! ...only the player and his TEAM-mates can work together to allow that to happen.

I just cannot visualize that at the level of the World Cup or even at the lower level EPL or even a still lower level such as the MLS where one's teammates make a conscious decision to at least on occasions during a match not utilize the services of a team-mate? The higher the level of play the greater it becomes as matter of course that each player must be incorporated into 'plays'.

The thinking that goes into considering a player of the caliber of Ozil who moves around and passes as often as he does being 'easily isolated' appears to be...

Go back and look at his Arsenal games??? In many he was rendered "ineffective".

How can that be if he is one o the greats. You guys are not talking about a "good " player here but "one of the greats". KMT.

Ozil is a very good team player. He keeps it simple and thinks the game well. He is unable to win the game by himself, but luckily, he has very good players around him. And football is a game about passes and teamwork.

When he is at Arsenal, however...

Go back and look at his Arsenal games??? In many he was rendered "ineffective".

How can that be if he is one o the greats. You guys are not talking about a "good " player here but "one of the greats". KMT.
                    Not as effective as we would have liked during some games...as do all the greats.

Listen to English commentators with an open mind. ...too often - (Did not say, most often.) - they mislead.
                    Last edited by Karl; July 13, 2014, 02:28 PM.

Yuh ready for a treatise and to be locked into a discussion for the next week?

Thank you very much. You properly explain it for me. Very good team player but not I would class "one of the greats" I expect a little edge from greats, someone who can turn a game by himself when everything else in not working.

I watch many of his games, I am glad I didn't have my radio like you did

Sass, you let me down boss, 10% drop off you ratings. Mezut is as good as they come, he can beat players if he wants but he is the ultimate team player as unselfish as they come. But for me up there with the best in the world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mesut_%C3%96zil

Dunny it is simple. I wouldn't put him as one of the 3 best on the German team. Not to mention I could name 10 better players in the world cup.

Don't confuse "good" with "greats". Stoni post is about "greats".

I haven't seen him beating many players. Defense splitting passes, yes.

One of the best in the world? Out of how many? he is not in my top 10. 20, hmmmm......... Rate him in the EPL last year, he wasn't even close to the best player.

Don't take great lightly.