"If you notice the best in the academy may not choose college"........That's what WE want, THE BEST.
Improving Football Product without high overhead
If you read my post, nowhere did I say the best. You will have very few players who can go pro at 17 but for most players currently in Jamaica they can't.
Do we have a better system or will have a better system in Jamaica anywhere in the last 10 years?
Look at track, even with very good track program in Jamaica, you have kids coming to college, because Jamaica can't cater to all of them. We can't bypass the college as currently developing a lot of our 2nd tier players.
To have a program you need a good pool of players to choose from and that is what we have to try and establish.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh ah focus pon ISSA recordkeeping an' US college scholarships fi improve Jamaican football. Dat nuh mek sense.
Mi wudda gi yuh a likkle bly if US college ball standards did reach whirl class like some a dem track programs... but no, college ball VERY ordinary
Yuh lost yute.... betta yuh guh sing one sankey an' find yuh way back to reality
Last edited by Don1; July 13, 2014, 06:24 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
How is college ball ordinary for us when they currently a huge part of our player pool??? How can it make no sense to improve 2nd tier players who have not even been seen by the national program and make them good enough to be considered for selection??? Even if we have a national academy a lot of these players will not be in it but they are good enough to come back 3 or 4 years later and come back in the pool.
ISSA is a major player in Jamaican football, currently and will be for the immediate future so you can gwaan talk the least they can do is get organize and help create opportunities for youths who they can help to a future in football or academics.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostISSA is a major player in Jamaican football, currently and will be for the immediate future so you can gwaan talk the least they can do is get organize and help create opportunities for youths who they can help to a future in football or academics.
your plan is good if the focus is on enabling economic opportunities for student-athletes... mi dun tell yuh dat lang time
where you went off the reservation was in billing your proposal as "Improving Football Product". It won't do that so its a complete misnomer
Betta yuh rename yuh headline " How to enable more economic opportunities for student-athletes"TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
It is simple. A percentage of that student athlete will become professionals if you provide the opportunities and that is a part of improving the product.
That is the whole idea of part one. We are currently using them in our setup so if you provide more, you will get a few more and chances or they well be better than what we currently have.
As I said this is part 1, not the overall solution.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
more mediocre college players will not move Jamaican football development... that's the point. but we can agree to disagreeTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
that is where you are wrong. Provide opportunities, "Cream will rise to the top".
College players are currently in the EPL and other leagues and I believe given the opportunity Andre Blake and maybe others could also get that opportunity too.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
lol... ah nuh now yaad balla ah guh US college. wi ave decades of experience wid dat route. Mi neva hear bout nuh yaad balla who guh from college to di EPL..suh dat ah foolishness
We have overall mediocre results from the thousands of Jamaican ballas who have passed thru US colleges.. i.e. mediocre from a football perspective .
Suh if di odd yute mek it dat nuh prove yuh point....
A development system is needed at home... US college programs naw cut it
Mek wi si yuh development proposal fi where it really matta.. yaadLast edited by Don1; July 13, 2014, 10:59 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You are on point tracking the players play a part in any good development plan.
You may have put forward a purpose that could be questioned on level of importance but on many other important levels what you suggest doing is very, very important."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostYou may have put forward a purpose that could be questioned on level of importance but on many other important levels what you suggest doing is very, very important.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE