Germany made halftime pledge not to further humiliate Brazil

• Germany made halftime pledge not to further humiliate Brazil

Germany made halftime pledge not to further humiliate Brazil in World Cup semifinal, says Mats Hummels

The 6-4 Borussia Dortmund defender claims that he and his teammates decided to take it easy on Brazil once they went up 5-0 before the 30-minute mark during Tuesday's semifinal.

BY Jaime Uribarri /

NEW YORK DAILY NEWS /

Thursday, July 10, 2014, 1:05 PM

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/so...#ixzz377DxUE8k

Very magnanimous, if I am to believe that. Truthfully, they did look like they weren't too keen to run up the score..

But saying this...how magnanimous are they, really?

Germany keeper was terribly upset Brazil scored.....

But saying this...how magnanimous are they, really?
          Not!
          Why? - They let the world know they stepped off the gas. If they were really magnanimous they would have kept 'mouths shut'.

I think at least one other player publicly voiced that 'hease pon dem'!
          Not nice!

It was obvious though

It was, which in itself makes it that much more humiliating.

Oh really? They kept on scoring at every opportunity. True generosity was when Brasil played Spain in the final. The team pulled back after the red card (even though Scolari was there on the sides urging them on). They did not try to humiliate Spain with ten men. Clearly something went wrong with Brasil's team but I guess one can brag that they beat Brasil by seven goals and one had to ease up (which is not true).

On a serious note: Scolari is not truly sorry (there talking about as a player, teacher and coach,me, me, me) I don't know why the people of Brasil allow this man to humiliate them this way.

BTW; had to look up that word "magnanimous". Couldn't you find a much simple word?

they had no choice but to score in those circumstances. have you seen your dentist at all this week?

point taken; seeing that Brasil must have knocked in four goals. Thus given "the circumstance" they (Germany) had to score two more. Thanks.

it would have been more embarassing not to score.....

So at halftime they made a pledge not to humiliate them any further? Yet they still scored 2 more goals?

they could have scored 5 more ....!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                            So at halftime they made a pledge not to humiliate them any further? Yet they still scored 2 more goals?
                            ...and allowed Brazil 'closer looks' at the 'keeper (who was not appreciative and demonstrated same ...cuss aff im defense. Commentators claimed he cussed Ozil for not scoring. Did not get where that came from considering there was a 'goal-kick' and later a waltzing up the field through the presented porous - ...not representative of the first half display by the Germans - defense ) and the goal.

...hell even defender Boetang's effort on Oscar's goal was 'suspect'!
                            Last edited by Karl; July 11, 2014, 04:14 PM.

yes.