two quarter final exits and humiliation in the semis and you put it down to a tactical blunder?
My take on Brazil's historic loss...
Agreed. That's why I was very surprised when Mosiah said he couldn't care less if Brazil football declined into oblivion.
This is the nation most responsible for taking the game and making it beautiful beyond belief. Their youngsters don't just LEARN the game they LIVE the game.
Personally, as painful as the 7-1 was to watch, I am more concerned longer term with the total absence of the Brazilian flair and rhythm. If you changed the jerseys you would have a hard time knowing it was a Brazilian team. Chile and Columbia were more Brazil than Brazil."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Same team killed tika taka last year ,how is that possible to this ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Part of the problem is too many South American players are going to England too early in their career. They are no longer been developed with the "hold the ball" attitude. Another problem is people like Karl telling us that the game has become so fast that you only have one or two touches.
When last you seen a Brazillian side without a Wingback making crazy runs?
Brazil is use to keeping the ball and then spring it on you at Tempo, they have lost it. As you say a mixture of sub par local leagues, players leaving to get in European clubs, and the national team not really taking internationals serious but more like a travelling road show.
Hopefully they will get it right soon. There was not one player to box ball with Neymar on the team.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Maybe tiki taka was already terminally ill and we gave them too much credit? I don't know if that is the case but when we see what Holland did to Spain it is at least a possibility.
Time will tell. I agree with you that Brazil will fight back. Football is too important to them for them not to respond. From what I have heard their overall national pride has been on the rise in recent years so I am expecting (hoping) that they will turn it around."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
You have heard of tika taka in europe i.e Spain and expansive football ,cc: champions league .
Look Brazilains play in leagues in Europe where Tika Taka is the staple or (hold the ball) why isnt it being seen in their national play , its not nothing new to them ,hell they gave it to the world.
Brazil abandoned it post 80s with success to win a WC, they even said it.They said they cant play juego bonito if they expect to win the WC, that was proven not to be true .Spain did it and so have Germany .Now Spain , Germany etc etc,does it its standard football in their leagues and national teams, even the British are trying to get in on it.What happened was a deserved beating for giving away their birth right.
They will be back.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I will leave with this think ! They once called it Samba football.
Marcelo Torres, editor of the country’s main football newspaper Marca Brazil, said: “People here are very disappointed because they watch Spain and they think this is our style, the style we lost maybe after the 1982 World Cup.
“Brazilian football isn’t boring, it’s worse than that – it’s ugly. It’s more about strength than style.
“We don’t have the midfield we used to. We don’t have players who can change a game.”
Recent friendly defeats to Mexico and Argentina have done little to boost Brazil’s flagging self-confidence.
And with the World Cup just two years away, there’s an acceptance that the task facing Mano Menezes, who replaced Dunga as Brazil manager in July 2010, is a mountainous one.
Torres added: “The only ‘craque’ (roughly translated as ‘ace’) player we have is Neymar.
“He is the only guy who is on the level of Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi.
http://www.express.co.uk/sport/footb...so-out-of-stepTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Tika Taka is not nessecarily Brazil style of holding the ball. Brazil had players who could draw defense and break down your shape. The kind of ball Spain play is to keep the ball in the midfield. Brazil use to do that but the made excellent use of their wing backs and didn't always need to one touch in the middle of the field.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostAgreed. That's why I was very surprised when Mosiah said he couldn't care less if Brazil football declined into oblivion.
This is the nation most responsible for taking the game and making it beautiful beyond belief. Their youngsters don't just LEARN the game they LIVE the game.
Personally, as painful as the 7-1 was to watch, I am more concerned longer term with the total absence of the Brazilian flair and rhythm. If you changed the jerseys you would have a hard time knowing it was a Brazilian team. Chile and Columbia were more Brazil than Brazil.what I will do to Mo next time I see him (
), I think the Colombia and Chile observations go some way to underscore the point that when you have so may players on the national team scattered about the world, you run the risk of losing your identity. Maybe having 1/2 from the national leagues should be a policy, I don't know...but it certainly showed that those other countries that had teams comprised mostly of home grown talent can compete. Costa Rica (mostly homegrown) nearly beat Holland!! Anyway, we can pray.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostPart of the problem is too many South American players are going to England too early in their career. They are no longer been developed with the "hold the ball" attitude. Another problem is people like Karl telling us that the game has become so fast that you only have one or two touches.
When last you seen a Brazillian side without a Wingback making crazy runs?
Brazil is use to keeping the ball and then spring it on you at Tempo, they have lost it. As you say a mixture of sub par local leagues, players leaving to get in European clubs, and the national team not really taking internationals serious but more like a travelling road show.
Hopefully they will get it right soon. There was not one player to box ball with Neymar on the team.That's the problem. Brazil should be a destination that Europeans WANT to go to...I think they lost that opportunity in the 90s when big TV money made the allure of players getting super rich too hard to resist...but that TV money should have been at least contemplating Brazilian league broadcasts. Sadly, not so. They have a mountain to climb. A mountain. But I hope I am wrong.
Yuh nuh affi hope, Yuh wrang.Tika taka is played in European leagues and teams to the Envy of nostalgic Samba Brazil.
Tika taka should rub off off on these exports no ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
All iI can say is all the players on this Brazil side will have to be put under the care of a psychologist who would run them through a 10 step program of psycholigical rehabilitation. Most of these players are damaged goods right now in a Brazil shirt."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Islandman View PostAgreed. That's why I was very surprised when Mosiah said he couldn't care less if Brazil football declined into oblivion.
Personally, as painful as the 7-1 was to watch, I am more concerned longer term with the total absence of the Brazilian flair and rhythm. If you changed the jerseys you would have a hard time knowing it was a Brazilian team. Chile and Columbia were more Brazil than Brazil.
That Brazilian flair and rhythm may never return to modern football. Ask Stoni about that. The movement and speed of Germany is what today's football is all about. And even if it returns, are we saying only Brazil can give us that?
Years ago, India and Pakistan dominated field hockey with flair and rhythm. Today they cannot compete with the technique of the Germans, Argentines and Australians.
Here we have it, another final between countries that already have 5 titles between them. Has the demise of Italy (2 consecutive failures) shaken the world off its axis? Has Belgium stepped up to fill that gap?
We need to stop acting as if this game can only be played by 4 or 5 countries.
Again, matters little to me if Brazil never wins another World Cup. Can't see why anyone but Brazilians should care.Last edited by Mosiah; July 10, 2014, 11:50 AM.
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostKarl, the problems are there to be fixed, whether the powers that be have the will to do what is necessary is doubtful. Had Brazil been organized, their leagues would have been the ones on world wide TV, not La Liga and the Prem. It is truly sad, and I fear, broken. Argentina is suffering the same fate, but they have a "golden generation" at the moment. It will be interesting to see where this all goes. It is also worth noting that 15 of Mexico's 23 man squad play in Mexico, about 11 or 12 of Colombia's play in Colombia and the same for Costa Rica. Chile had fewer but Ecuador more (something like 15 if I remember played in this hemisphere). My honest take is that the Americas have to figure out how to keep their best players playing in North American and South American leagues for as long as they can...otherwise, the power will not only shift, but stay in Europe. Ah so me see it.
The fix?
Not so sure on the recommendation of...the Americas have to figure out how to keep their best players playing in North American and South American leagues for as long as they can...otherwise, the power will not only shift, but stay in Europe.
Aside:
The bottom line on what is promoted for Jamaica is, improved leagues such that the quality - players and TEAMs - 'walks with TOP OF THE WORLD'. Naturally the assumption is that type set of leagues would translate into TOP OF THE WORLD national TEAMs. ...if that thinking is transferred to thought on say, current Brazilian leagues have slipped...then Brazil's returning them to former prominence would put Brazil back into position for glory. That fix maybe in producing so many top quality players and teams that 'export of players' do not make any drop off on performance of national teams"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Who else play Tika Taka besides Spain in Europe? The style is similar to Brazil's samba style of old, but there is a difference. The Brazilian style of old had at least 3 or 4 individuals who had the flair, the dribbling skills and the confidence to execute those skill to turn a game on its head in an instance. These individuals weren't afraid to try a trick or two. This is what has been missing or on the decline in Brazilian football since the 86 WC. The European teams are drilled into maintaining their defensive shape and allow the opposing team to control possession. Individualism is coached out of young players and special talents are not encouraged. Spain adopted Brazil's style of close control and intricate passing and took it to a higher level without the individual flair. TV money in football demands that top teams don't lose, so the game has evolved into sterile football and the few players who possess individual flair commands big money - Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar, Hazard.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015