• Massacare! Shame of Shames! Wednesday, July 09, 2014

Massacare! (sic)
    Shame of Shames!

Wednesday, July 09, 2014

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil (AFP) — Brazil’s World Cup dream was smashed into oblivion as majestic Germany ran riot to win an extraordinary semi-final 7-1 yesterday and send the South American hosts crashing to their worst ever defeat in their 100- year footballing history.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Germany7--Brazil-1

Yes, that was the headline in the online Observer - Massacare! Sounds like a health care plan for the masses.

There was no "care" in the blitzkrieg served up by Germany last evening. Everything in their path was trampled upon, beaten down and flogged.

I still do not understand what happened yesterday.

Ok, most people agreed that Brazil were ordinary and that they would not survive Germany, should not be in the semis probably. But what happened was something totally unexpected. SEVEN? It was like they never played at that level before. It could have been 10 if Germany did not ease up.

I want to think something else was going on that we are not aware of. Something was not right. Hell, even match fixing of some sort crossed my mind although the thought of that being a factor is too scary and painful to even contemplate.

Massa (God didn't) care?! maybe?

I'm still a little stunned.

Perhaps, in trying to get back on even terms they abandoned their defensive duties, the little they had, and Germany took advantage of it, 6 more times!

After 1950, it is said Brazil buckled down and in the next 20 years they won 3 World Cups. Will this bring about another 20 year reign?

It was interesting to see the Dutch coaching execs, the Armani-suited Kluivert and the rest of them, notepads and pens in hand, studying and analysing the games over the last 3 weeks. For them, this is art and science. But they need to figure out how to beat expert offside traps, as were set by Costa Rica. Has Brazil lost their way with regards to football education and trends?

Next year this time we may not remember who won last year's World Cup, but we will surely remember what happened to Brazil in the semi-final.

I also wonder how much having all their top players going to Europe so young is affecting the overall Brazilian style of football. Hard to imagine now that the players on those great teams of the 60s and early 70s never played in Europe.

Football would not be the same without a strong Brazil. I hope they sort out their problems and rise again.

I still do not understand what happened yesterday.

Ok, most people agreed that Brazil were ordinary and that they would not survive Germany, should not be in the semis probably. But what happened was something totally unexpected. SEVEN? It was like they never played at that level before. It could have been 10 if Germany did not ease up.

I want to think something else was going on that we are not aware of. Something was not right. Hell, even match fixing of some sort crossed my mind although the thought of that being a factor is too scary and painful to even contemplate.
              While you may be being rhetorical, allow me to pitch in my two cents on "What happened". Gustavo, Luiz and Dante had no communication with each other, and Maicon and Marcelo forgot that they had defensive duties. Oscar, Hulk and Bernard also showed no sense of defensive responsibility. In particular though, Luiz showed also that he is no football genius, playing center back, center mid and center forward all at the same time. He also showed he is not an on-field leader, acting like an eediat after the first goal and failing to pull the team together. Watch all the goals again and see how many times the Germans were able to get in behind the Brazilian defense only to have the defenders simply watch them do their thing...no urgency, no recovery, no responsibility. And don't start me on the first goal. I mean, man-marking on a corner kick went out in 6th grade, didn't it? When Muller dusted off Luiz and ended up open at the back post, there were 4 or 5 yellow shirts clustered around the near post watching the ball sail over their heads to an open Muller. Jeezus.

I also wonder how much having all their top players going to Europe so young is affecting the overall Brazilian style of football. Hard to imagine now that the players on those great teams of the 60s and early 70s never played in Europe.

Football would not be the same without a strong Brazil. I hope they sort out their problems and rise again.
                I couldn't care less if Brazil sinks into oblivion regarding football. Waiting for Germany, Holland and Argentina to follow right behind!

Massacare! (sic)
                  Shame of Shames!

Wednesday, July 09, 2014

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil (AFP) — Brazil’s World Cup dream was smashed into oblivion as majestic Germany ran riot to win an extraordinary semi-final 7-1 yesterday and send the South American hosts crashing to their worst ever defeat in their 100- year footballing history.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Germany7--Brazil-1
                  Dat ah nuh shames atall.... dat ah SHA MES

People have mental breakdowns... so do teams

Every team went to Brazil with a 'star' man in their team, excepting Germany. The German machine on a whole is the star. Watching that game yesterday it was as if Germany was still in first gear. Every time they attacked they could have scored. Right now Brazil should thank God they only concede 7.

From day 1 the players go hard pon the anthem and dun when the game start.

Brazil were not so much humiliated as they were exposed. With apologies to American football coach Dennis Green the German coach must have said" The Brazillians are who we thought they were and we didnt let them off the hook".
                        Their tactics throughout the tournament was anti-football. Truth be told it was the Germans who looked the more skilled team combined with their customary ruthless efficiency.

Brilliant summary.

yuh haffi si wid luiz ... he has scored more goals in this tourney than the forwards...

Had he not been wearing the armband I would agree, but he was captain in Thiago's absence. That is a different kind of responsibility which requires more of a leadership mentality than he displayed. One aspect of leadership is to rally the troops and get them pulling to a plan when things are going awry. I knew in my bones before this game that he was the wrong guy for the job and thought that the goalkeeper would have been a better choice, but I doubt that it would have mattered. That was a terrible day not just in Brazil's football history, but in football history generally. I am still hurting.