I always said this Brazil side was not all that, with or without Neymar. I didn't think they would be seeing 5-0 at half time. Make that 5-0 in the first 30 minutes!
Dissapointing first half
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil GibranTags: None
Agreed!
...expected Brazil to share the ball. Play TEAM! They still continued to try 'the individual thing'. Guess the coach & players never realized that in each of the previous games they were flattered by the scoreline. Goals scored from individual effort...and opponents missing or not taking chances commensurate with %age chance:goal ratio as Brazil???"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostAgreed!
...expected Brazil to share the ball. Play TEAM! They still continued to try 'the individual thing'. Guess the coach & players never realized that in each of the previous games they were flattered by the scoreline. Goals scored from individual effort...and opponents missing or not taking chances commensurate with %age chance:goal ratio as Brazil???
1. Big Phil made the wrong personnel selection - Ramires and Willian should have started
2. Gustavo, Luiz and Dante were pathetic with their communications! 6-0 to ra$...
Me gone...haffi go bawl now."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
2. Gustavo, Luiz and Dante were pathetic with their communications! 6-0 to ra$..."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Tilla View PostI would add Fernandinho to that list. Fernandinho gave up the ball two times that resulted in goals."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
OK, sorry sir!"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostMy take:
1. Big Phil made the wrong personnel selection - Ramires and Willian should have started
2. Gustavo, Luiz and Dante were pathetic with their communications! 6-0 to ra$...
Me gone...haffi go bawl now.
i) Outworked;
ii) Second best on passing and movement ...waaay second;
iii) reacted in manner devoid of sensible thinking - out-thought;
iv) failed on quickness - pace across ground, quick feet & mind;
Moved too slowly, moved ball too slowly and structure and discipline went out the window. The real thing is all these poor traits were evident in each of the team's matches through out the tournament. ...but most of thought it would not continue and TEAM game would suddenly bloom and it would in this match. Unfortunately 'poor playing' tend to catch up with you - reminds of Asafa beating everyone faced but keeps doing the poor 'shutting down' 75 - 80 meters out. It eventually caught up with him and he started losing races at the practiced 'shutting down' section of the race. Brazil ran out of luck and at the same time ran into the best TEAM in the tournament.
Facts from the match: Thomas Muller was a tiger on attack, in the middle and on defense... Scored 1 and had 3(?) direct assists and was involved in other goals.
TEAM was played to the max - This was 'no player trying to do for his only glory'. ...save Mesut Ozil's shot on goal (70s min) when Germany had already put the match out of reach. He should be slapped as the ball should have gone to the player on his right...who knows perhaps the 'keeper (Julio Cezar) would have recovered and the then best option for that man to Ozil's right would be a return pass for open goal finish????
Aside: Will the German coach drop Ozil from starting as punishment for that transgression? That would be a big decision in context of "doing everything to win the World Cup"."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
The Germans were making passes in the final third with impunity. It was like they were playing a Manning Cup team. Painful to watch, at least for me.
Brazil suffered from a historic meltdown yesterday the likes of which I think nobody alive has seen before. It was not just having a bad game, it was as if they forgot how to play the game.
It was that bad."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Gamma View Postbrasil survived 2 rounds beyond their sell by date...
You know, sine the 1982 WC, I still support Brazil, but just will not go into the deep with them. I almost drowned in 82 with no life support!"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Brazil has never been the fastest with ball movement, but they always kept the ball and defended as a unit.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostBrazil has never been the fastest with ball movement, but they always kept the ball and defended as a unit."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran