• Potential Suarez profit for Liverpool

Potential Suarez profit for Liverpool

Liverpool originally purchased Suarez on a 5.5 year deal from Ajax in the January 2011 transfer window for a reported £22.8m. Suarez’s transfer fee was amortised to around £4.1m annually (£22.8m / 5.5 years).

Suarez then signed a (presumed) new 5-year contract in August 2012. The remaining book value of the transfer fee at the time of his new deal was £16.65m as around 1.5 years of the original transfer fee (£6.15m) had been amortised. Therefore £16.65m amortised over the new 5-year deal meant a new amortisation cost of £3.33m per season.

Then in December 2013, he signed a new 4.5 year deal. Almost 1.5 years of his re-amortised total figure of £16.65m had been amortised which reduced his total unamortised value by £4.99m (£3.33m x 1.5 years) to £11.66m His annual amortisation cost became £2.57m (£11.6m / 4.5 years) or £214,000 per month.

If you are still with me (!), depending on the exact figures that Barcelona are willing to pay for Suarez, an initial conservative £70m transfer fee minus the remaining £8.89m (£11.6 – £1.71m) which is 8 months further amortisation (£214,000 x 8 months December ’13 to July ’14 inclusive) gives Liverpool a total accounting profit on the Suarez sale of £61.11m. Therefore, with £9.6m in lower wages [1], £2.57m lower amortisation costs and £61.11m estimated profit on the sale, Liverpool may show an annual profit improvement of around £73.2m.
    http://tomkinstimes.com/2014/07/ffp-...ion-of-suarez/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

you are going to be disappointed .....

Why?
      ...a club - (inclusive of Barcelona) - may come in willing to pay more for him? ...or Liverpool may decide to keep him?

you are going to be disappointed .....
        Why? City selling Touré? LOL!!! X is trying hard to convince himself he is a Liverpool man...ain't gonna happen...I am here to remind him of his true loyalties!!! LOL!!!

58 million looks like the price.

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/rumours?ICID=AR_FS_3

So wha happen to hundred and odd? Remember Neymar is out so the price should go up

I told X a long time ago, if the guy had a 70million pound release clause in his contract, if he wants to leave and the buying club is prepared to pay, then Liverpool would not have any negotiation leverage to push up the price. It just makes sense to me.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The thing is Suarez seems like he wants to leave. After last season some of the same thing, Liverpool must be tired and wanting the distraction over. Barca must have sense this and maybe push the flame somewhat too.

suarez is a complicated individual....very very VERY complicated

I told X a long time ago, if the guy had a 70million pound release clause in his contract, if he wants to leave and the buying club is prepared to pay, then Liverpool would not have any negotiation leverage to push up the price. It just makes sense to me.
                    It makes sense to you because you have sense. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for X. That's why there is a disconnect.