Build the team upon the rock of defense!!!!

• Build the team upon the rock of defense!!!!

If you are going to build a team, then build a team to survive in the heat of winning a championship, as you can all see there was only one goal scored in play in the quarters across four games. Where are all the offense and attacking theory guys now, where is all the pretty ball now, pretty ball and big scoring is for friendlies and for early rounds of competition, there is no place for pretty ball in the pantheon of winners, especially when penalty kicks ends the deadlock.

In hard core competition there is no scoring, defense protects your team and keeps you in the game all the way to penalties, then it is a fighting chance even for the team that had zero shots and 30% possession, we almost saw that with Holland versus CR, Holland dominated the game totally and CR was dangerous on counterattacks till the final whistle and had a great chance to win via penalties.

You don't win by not scoring goals but you definitely lose by conceding goals and you are always in with a chance to score a KO via counterattack if the score is tied.

What is it about defense first that is so hard to understand, we see this with every tournament when the sledding gets tough, one lapse in concentration, one opportunity and boom you have conceded a goal, it is critical to play defense in a way that the opponent in the final third has no space to turn and move with ease and if you are to get beaten it must be a brilliant shot outside the 18, it is unacceptable to have an opponent dribbling in the box and making guys whiff, like we saw with the first USA goal with Ghana, one second of sloppy defending and Ghana cedes a goal and the game to the US.

Defense starts and ends with the midfield control of the heart of the game, excellent defense and pressing creates havoc for opposing teams. England could not compete in this competition as they ceded midfield to the opponent and chose to play defensive mids that had no business playing that position especially the combination of Henderson and Gerrard who are best known for attacking and not defending, talk about brilliant planning you put in the defensive mid combination that gave up fifty goals and lost Liverpool the EPL title, what were they thinking???
    The four goals ceded by England were like daggers with quick combinations through the heard of midfield with little or no opposition, ceding space to the attackers thus enabling the speed of the attack.

How do we build a team upon the rock of defense, we start with the formation of 4-5-1 or 3-6-1 both easily adapted to a 4-3-3 if the opposition is inferior or tired or starts breaking down mentally. The game is to shutdown the mids, shutdown the attack, force the attack to the wings and with speedy backs create opportunities for fast breaks and counterattacks. Stack the middle always with two defensive mids that are strong and good tacklers, ball hawks and interceptors by nature, are also good passers and good ball handlers those are the skills needed for that position.

All the important games means tough opposition therefore we must have patient players who can concentrate for long periods of time are super fit and play team ball, yes sounds like Germany doesn't it, well we can do that, we must find the players with these mental skills they are out there and those things can be easily discovered with a little work.

So let's start building that team, we have a few great competitions over the next two years, let's see if we can build a team that is almost impossible to score upon as that is the only way we can move forward. the team must play shutdown defense to survive the hex, draws away and wins at home.

If that is the system, do we have the right players?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      If you are going to build a team, then build a team to survive in the heat of winning a championship, as you can all see there was only one goal scored in play in the quarters across four games. Where are all the offense and attacking theory guys now, where is all the pretty ball now, pretty ball and big scoring is for friendlies and for early rounds of competition, there is no place for pretty ball in the pantheon of winners, especially when penalty kicks ends the deadlock.

In hard core competition there is no scoring, defense protects your team and keeps you in the game all the way to penalties, then it is a fighting chance even for the team that had zero shots and 30% possession, we almost saw that with Holland versus CR, Holland dominated the game totally and CR was dangerous on counterattacks till the final whistle and had a great chance to win via penalties.

You don't win by not scoring goals but you definitely lose by conceding goals and you are always in with a chance to score a KO via counterattack if the score is tied.

What is it about defense first that is so hard to understand, we see this with every tournament when the sledding gets tough, one lapse in concentration, one opportunity and boom you have conceded a goal, it is critical to play defense in a way that the opponent in the final third has no space to turn and move with ease and if you are to get beaten it must be a brilliant shot outside the 18, it is unacceptable to have an opponent dribbling in the box and making guys whiff, like we saw with the first USA goal with Ghana, one second of sloppy defending and Ghana cedes a goal and the game to the US.

Defense starts and ends with the midfield control of the heart of the game, excellent defense and pressing creates havoc for opposing teams. England could not compete in this competition as they ceded midfield to the opponent and chose to play defensive mids that had no business playing that position especially the combination of Henderson and Gerrard who are best known for attacking and not defending, talk about brilliant planning you put in the defensive mid combination that gave up fifty goals and lost Liverpool the EPL title, what were they thinking???
      The four goals ceded by England were like daggers with quick combinations through the heard of midfield with little or no opposition, ceding space to the attackers thus enabling the speed of the attack.

How do we build a team upon the rock of defense, we start with the formation of 4-5-1 or 3-6-1 both easily adapted to a 4-3-3 if the opposition is inferior or tired or starts breaking down mentally. The game is to shutdown the mids, shutdown the attack, force the attack to the wings and with speedy backs create opportunities for fast breaks and counterattacks. Stack the middle always with two defensive mids that are strong and good tacklers, ball hawks and interceptors by nature, are also good passers and good ball handlers those are the skills needed for that position.

All the important games means tough opposition therefore we must have patient players who can concentrate for long periods of time are super fit and play team ball, yes sounds like Germany doesn't it, well we can do that, we must find the players with these mental skills they are out there and those things can be easily discovered with a little work.

So let's start building that team, we have a few great competitions over the next two years, let's see if we can build a team that is almost impossible to score upon as that is the only way we can move forward. the team must play shutdown defense to survive the hex, draws away and wins at home.
      We have to be careful about drawing conclusions from on-off set of performances and relatively small 'study groups' or set of results.

...you can all see there was only one goal scored in play in the quarters across four games. Where are all the offense and attacking theory guys now, where is all the pretty ball now, pretty ball and big scoring is for friendlies and for early rounds of competition, there is no place for pretty ball in the pantheon of winners, especially when penalty kicks ends the deadlock.
      The quote above is also devoid of stats as it relates to many factors that 'go into' winning games and that of scoring goals.

Let me pose just three related questions:
      a) Were number of goal-scoring opportunities outside of the norm for matches of the Quarter-Finals at World Cups?

b) How many chances were created in these matches?

c) Does the relative quality of opponents...one to the other...impact number of goals scored?

...finally, it would be interesting to see facts presented on the record of each of these country's goal-scoring records, inclusive of during these 2014 World Cup matches...and also that of goal-scoring at these stages of World Cups? What would a 'deep dive' into those numbers 'tell'?
      Last edited by Karl; July 7, 2014, 09:53 AM.

Whilst I agree 100% with you that you must build your team on a solid defense, I don't agree with your counter-attacking approach to every game. Personally, I like to see a team go out and attack their opponents, however, there is a time and place for such tactics. All the top teams have solid defenses and also top attackers. Costa Rica is not a top team. They are a very good team though who was lucky not to pick up 4 or 5. Their defense was being picked apart by Oranje. I cannot back a team that hangs on by their fingernails for 89 minutes and wait for the one opportunity to counter attack and score.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Back to Stoni...and a comment on your post!

Whilst I agree 100% with you that you must build your team on a solid defense, I don't agree with your counter-attacking approach to every game. Personally, I like to see a team go out and attack their opponents, however, there is a time and place for such tactics. All the top teams have solid defenses and also top attackers. Costa Rica is not a top team. They are a very good team though who was lucky not to pick up 4 or 5. Their defense was being picked apart by Oranje. I cannot back a team that hangs on by their fingernails for 89 minutes and wait for the one opportunity to counter attack and score.
          Stoni: Puts forward many interesting points and states many truths on football but appears to miss the point that as we move forward it becomes increasingly clear that teams hoping to win future World Cups must aim at being great in/at 'all things' as in needed: Fast players - pace over ground and quick feet! Players with quick mind! ...in Technical Area! in Tactical Area! ...the aim must be to build a team with 'no fault lines'. Fantastic on attack! Magnificent on defense! Great with the ball! Great without the ball! Players who play and think TEAM first, through infinity.

Aaaah, Jangle?
          Your comment on Costa Rica is bang on.

Intuitively the conclusion must be that on recall of the actual performances in matches they played the approach was well suited to the squad...but it was an approach where in all their matches risk of losing could have been assumed to be high...but that given the personnel the approach was 'best choice'...approach taken 'astute'.

It was a matter of a wonderful coach working with what he had. ...but would that be the TEAM anyone would wish to create?

Aside: So far, what is the tournament goal-scoring record of each of the TEAMs that made it through the quarter-finals?