Klinsmann jumps back into MLS debate...

• Klinsmann jumps back into MLS debate...

...with Facebook post

Richard Farley
    Jul 5, 2014, 5:12 PM EDT

Major League Soccer isn’t mentioned in Jurgen Klinsmann’s latest Facebook update, but the quality and culture around the United States’ domestic competition is the subtext of his post. Citing the U.S.’s finish in Brazil 2014 as a benchmark, the U.S. Men’s National Team head coach said the team needs to “add the work load,” going on to imply the current level of competition his players face needs to improve. The “tempo” and “rhythm” of the national team can’t move forward unless those qualities can be matched at club level.

http://prosoccertalk.nbcsports.com/2...ampaign=buffer

It’s a common theme with Klinsmann: A soccer career is a lifestyle. It isn’t just defined by matches and the time you give your club in training. It extends to your off field preparation, your choices of how to rest and eat, or even the personal sacrifices you have to make to play against better competition. Being a professional athlete is a huge and well-compensated sacrifice, but if that’s what it takes in the soccer world to track down the world’s best, it’s a sacrifice players have to make.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl!!! It's reported that Roma is signing Yedlin & they were chosen over Liverpool.
      Klinsmann is trying to change the soccer/football culture in the U.S. & rightfully so, especially youth development. Wish him all the best & hopes he gets the FULL & CONTINUED support of the federation & MLS.

Wonderful news for Yedlin and USA soccer.
        Agreed...if Klinsmann remains USA soccer shall move leaps forward.

On another note, if Klinsmann remains with US Soccer, unfortunately, US Soccer moves further away from Jamaica's football on quality. ...and that would lead to even less Jamaica footballers being offered opportunities to play in MLS.

Hi nothing wrong here. MLS has improved the team. If you notice some of the MLS players in the squad are players who you didn't even hear anything about 2 seasons ago but they could still contribute. The defense had mostly MLS players in it and they did ok. We are not expecting superstars from the MLS but it is just an avenue for youth players to step in and step up while the league improves. The MLS had something like 23 players in the worldcup and they didn't really look out of sorts.

Klingsmann just have to do his job, create a better team and encourage the players.

JFF MUST understand the importance of a COMPREHENSIVE NATIONAL FOOTBALL PROGRAM......There's NO getting around it, they MUST invest in training & developing their coaches/trainers & players.....The crazy thing is they have QUALIFIED Jamaicans in the U.S. & England who are willing & eager to HELP, but for some reason they refuse to use their resources. They even have a Jamaican who's been part of Dortmond's YOUTH PROGRAM for years.

the MLS has one purpose...exposure for young players to be spotted by european clubs...that's it

Tell that to certain owners who a pocket some money, and some regional players who a eat a food or would be getting less than 20,000 US dollar a year.

good for them...in the grand scheme of things that means nothing...MLS only real purpose in the big picture of football is to showcase players to sell overseas...not really helping their cause by signing these washed up international players...

how do you explain henry/keane/beckham?

Well, they serve a purpose too. In the twilight of their careers, they get to play and rub shoulders with the young and upcoming players, thus adding to the experience level and exposure of the young players.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

More like Matthaus and Denilson...

good for them...in the grand scheme of things that means nothing...MLS only real purpose in the big picture of football is to showcase players to sell overseas...not really helping their cause by signing these washed up international players...
                          Where you one of those who just a few short years past was claiming the USA would never accept football as a major sport?

...or one of those who said that the USA would never have top World football TEAM?

Well put this in your pipe and smoke it; USA's MLS shall become a top World league!!!