Thank you teacher. Munro would be proud of you.
Please explain this for me......................
Originally posted by USAF View PostHow can someone say that a team that looses a game is better than the winning team???
The ULTIMATE GOAL of any team in football/soccer, or any sport, is to WIN. The player selections, formations and game plan/tactical plan is to give the team the best opportunity to WIN. In its basic form, to achieve this you convert your chances or most of them & prevent the opposition from converting theirs.....The team that LOOSES failed to achieve their ULTIMATE GOAL, so how can the loosing team be considered the BETTER team???
***As a coach once said in a press conference, "You play the game to WIN. Nothing else matters."
- One speaking in terms of the immediate result of match just concluded.
- The other is looking at possible results over number of matches in close proximity to each other - say,If the teams met 4 times in next 2 months, based on manner of play in the just concluded match, it is possible that of the teams being discussed, the loser would prevail more often."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostTilla - Jamaica was better than Japan in '98. No question. Try a nex' example u hear 'fore me start treat yu like yu name X!! Nah...jes' jokin' ... dat could neva happen!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I think you are confusing "better on the day" with "better, period"
If you win game one of a best of 7 series and then lose the next 4 were you the better team 2 weeks before or just better on that day?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
If you FAIL to EXECUTE (converting your chances) & LOSE I cannot call you the BETTER TEAM........PERIOD......No IFs, ANDs or BUTs.
Regardless how dominant & skillful the team is, what is needed & expected is a WIN, so if you LOSE you're not the BETTER TEAM.
So even if you hit the post 10 to 20 times, or the ref thief the game the better team can't lose?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Doesn't make any sense to me, but if that is your definition of better.
For me being the better team is not equivalent to playing the better game 50 times out 50. Even sports greatest teams of their era lose a few games now and then. Form is temporary, class is permanent."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by USAF View PostIs the ULTIMATE OBJECTIVE to score goals or hit the post???"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Willi View PostWe scored 3 times and they robbed us one! I was at that match."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
According to USAF's logic, if 2 teams play 10 times and one team wins 9 straight then loses the last one, then the team that won the last match is the better team at that point in time.
Makes no sense really, and I think USAF knows it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Obviously you have NO clue what I'm saying, so ask. Don't ASSUME.
You & others have chosen to use hypothetical situations/instances to prove your point - What if they play 10 times &.......; What if the referee makes bad calls; etc.
What I've said is straight forward - When 2 teams play, I cannot consider the team that FAILS to EXECUTE (convert their chance/chances) & LOSE to be the BETTER TEAM, regardless if they dominated position & created more scoring chances.
Originally posted by USAF View PostObviously you have NO clue what I'm saying, so ask. Don't ASSUME.
You & others have chosen to use hypothetical situations/instances to prove your point - What if they play 10 times &.......; What if the referee makes bad calls; etc.
What I've said is straight forward - When 2 teams play, I cannot consider the team that FAILS to EXECUTE (convert their chance/chances) & LOSE to be the BETTER TEAM, regardless if they dominated position & created more scoring chances."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365