LOL. Anywhere else in the world that would be considered embarrassing.
Why Kareem Abdul Jabbar thinks soccer is un-American
I notice a trend with some of my fellow Americans to brand things that they are not accustomed/familiar with or new, as not being American. Maybe it's a defense mechanism because it's difficult for them to keep up, understand and accept change that's occurring around them......The America you knew & was comfortable with is changing, & you can't stop it.
The MLS is 20 years old, this year........How did the NFL, MLB & NHL stack up after their first 20 years???
Originally posted by Don1 View Post1. Americans will never embrace a game they're second rate at and are subject to being thrashed by nations they regard as non-entities on the global stage e.g. Ghana, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium etc. Their ego-maniacal national implulses will not tolerate that
2. Americans prefer games with regular and extended breaks that can be used for the media and advertising circus they adore.... they need time for the hype factor during games... the game itself is not sufficient to hold their attention
Wrong on both counts, Bittah1!
Unfortunately those two conditions are not easily fixable... if at all"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Assasin View PostKareem and others can hold onto their 1970s view.
Americans are into soccer and it is no stopping it.
Kareem is part of the dinosaur generation of Americans who grew up without the sport being even the minutest presence in the country. The game is still something alien to them and for whatever reason they feel they have to disparage it.
Guys like him are on the decline though. Unlike soccer in America..."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Yuteman the US has been supposedly "embracing football" since the 1970s and is still struggling to make an impression at the world level 40 years later.
This performance in that time span cannot be described as stellar by any stretch...
There's no shame that the USA doesn't excel in football. They're many other areas of American excellence you can celebrate
It's possible that the US will one day be a global force in football and not 2nd rate as it is now. It's certainly not a human or material resource problem.. those exist in overwhelming abundance.
For example the number of registered football players in the US is greater than Jamaica's total population. That's very promising
Work on the passion thingy in the next couple of decades and unnu might just mek di transition to being a world power in the 2030sLast edited by Don1; July 3, 2014, 05:00 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I was laughing when the water break came and they put in ads during that time. I was saying, what these station would give for a 5 minutes water break in games in both halves.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Don1, if the WC is anything to judge by, America is in the top sixteen of footballing nations. Remember, only eight countries (I think) have won the WC and among them three have only won once.
In that context, America is doing quite nicely... imagine if JA had their record?!Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostDon1, if the WC is anything to judge by, America is in the top sixteen of footballing nations. Remember, only eight countries (I think) have won the WC and among them three have only won once.
In that context, America is doing quite nicely... imagine if JA had their record?!
Also they're perhaps 8-10 teams that are perennially world class... those I would regard as 1st tier.... Unfortunately the USA is not yet in that group imho
But yes...I would be pleased if JA were to achieve the level the USA or Costa Rica have reachedLast edited by Don1; July 3, 2014, 09:19 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostPR please note that I'm a far harsher critic of Jamaica than of the USA... I just call things like I see them regardless of any prevailing opinions or any groupthink
Also they're perhaps 8-10 teams that are perennially world class... those I would regard as 1st tier.... Unfortunately the USA is not yet in that group imho
Before Jamaica 1-2 USA at the Office.
Before USA 2-0 Jamaica in Kansas City.