Why Kareem Abdul Jabbar thinks soccer is un-American

LOL. Anywhere else in the world that would be considered embarrassing.

I notice a trend with some of my fellow Americans to brand things that they are not accustomed/familiar with or new, as not being American. Maybe it's a defense mechanism because it's difficult for them to keep up, understand and accept change that's occurring around them......The America you knew & was comfortable with is changing, & you can't stop it.
      The MLS is 20 years old, this year........How did the NFL, MLB & NHL stack up after their first 20 years???

When they win another Olympics or World Championship, & can consistently challenge then I'll agree with you.

"An inconvenient truth" - can I use that to describe the article? or is that term taken already?

Even the NBA champions are called world champions!

Good observation USAF!

I would add that American major sports are centered around television advertisment.

1. Americans will never embrace a game they're second rate at and are subject to being thrashed by nations they regard as non-entities on the global stage e.g. Ghana, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium etc. Their ego-maniacal national implulses will not tolerate that

2. Americans prefer games with regular and extended breaks that can be used for the media and advertising circus they adore.... they need time for the hype factor during games... the game itself is not sufficient to hold their attention
                You're too late. The numbers show that Americans are already embracing the game. And the TV deals keep coming.

Wrong on both counts, Bittah1!

Unfortunately those two conditions are not easily fixable... if at all
                You nervously try to convince yourself!

Kareem and others can hold onto their 1970s view.
                  Americans are into soccer and it is no stopping it.
                  Well said.

Kareem is part of the dinosaur generation of Americans who grew up without the sport being even the minutest presence in the country. The game is still something alien to them and for whatever reason they feel they have to disparage it.

Guys like him are on the decline though. Unlike soccer in America...

Yuteman the US has been supposedly "embracing football" since the 1970s and is still struggling to make an impression at the world level 40 years later.
                    This performance in that time span cannot be described as stellar by any stretch...

There's no shame that the USA doesn't excel in football. They're many other areas of American excellence you can celebrate

It's possible that the US will one day be a global force in football and not 2nd rate as it is now. It's certainly not a human or material resource problem.. those exist in overwhelming abundance.
                    For example the number of registered football players in the US is greater than Jamaica's total population. That's very promising

Work on the passion thingy in the next couple of decades and unnu might just mek di transition to being a world power in the 2030s
                    Last edited by Don1; July 3, 2014, 05:00 PM.

I was laughing when the water break came and they put in ads during that time. I was saying, what these station would give for a 5 minutes water break in games in both halves.

Even 2 minutes!

If the ad men got hold of the game the half time at WC would be twenty minutes at least, and there would be a half time show, which actually isn't a bad idea if it included Beyonce , J Lo , Shakira et al....

Don1, if the WC is anything to judge by, America is in the top sixteen of footballing nations. Remember, only eight countries (I think) have won the WC and among them three have only won once.

In that context, America is doing quite nicely... imagine if JA had their record?!

Don1, if the WC is anything to judge by, America is in the top sixteen of footballing nations. Remember, only eight countries (I think) have won the WC and among them three have only won once.

In that context, America is doing quite nicely... imagine if JA had their record?!
                              PR please note that I'm a far harsher critic of Jamaica than of the USA... I just call things like I see them regardless of any prevailing opinions or any groupthink

Also they're perhaps 8-10 teams that are perennially world class... those I would regard as 1st tier.... Unfortunately the USA is not yet in that group imho

But yes...I would be pleased if JA were to achieve the level the USA or Costa Rica have reached
                              Last edited by Don1; July 3, 2014, 09:19 PM.

PR please note that I'm a far harsher critic of Jamaica than of the USA... I just call things like I see them regardless of any prevailing opinions or any groupthink

Also they're perhaps 8-10 teams that are perennially world class... those I would regard as 1st tier.... Unfortunately the USA is not yet in that group imho
                                You're a true visionary! Just as your predictions demonstrated both times the USA and Jamaica faced off in the Hexagonal!

Before Jamaica 1-2 USA at the Office.

Before USA 2-0 Jamaica in Kansas City.