Nigeria boycott training in money row

• Nigeria boycott training in money row

The Nigeria squad at the World Cup have missed a scheduled training session in a row over bonus money.

BBC Sport understands the players believe they are each $15,000 (£8,800) short of what they were expecting for reaching the last 16 in Brazil.

They refused to train in Campinas on Thursday and officials later confirmed the session had been cancelled.

Nigeria are scheduled to play France in the knockout stages on Monday having finished as runners-up in Group F.

BBC Sport has learned the problem lies in the interpretation of the bonus structure, with the players believing they will only receive $10,000 for their win 1-0 over Bosnia-Hercegovina and $5,000 for the 0-0 draw with Iran.
    The players' understanding was they would receive a $30,000 payment for qualifying from the group.

However, it is believed the Nigerian Football Federation's offer to the players includes the agreed win and draw bonuses plus 30% of the prize money due from Fifa for reaching the knockout stage.

This is understood to rise to 40% of the prize money from Fifa if Nigeria were to win their round of 16 match, 50% for a quarter-final victory, 60% for a win in the semi-final stage and 70% for lifting the trophy.

While all parties work to find a resolution to the misunderstanding, coach Stephen Keshi has insisted it will not affect the team's performance.

And it has been confirmed to the BBC that the players will travel to Brasilia on Friday as scheduled and will train in the evening and over the weekend.
    It is not the first time the Super Eagles have made a stance over money - last year they arrived late for the Confederations Cup in Brazil.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/28055186
    Last edited by Karl; June 27, 2014, 11:11 AM.

Aaaaaaah Bwoy!!!!?????!!!!!

BrickTop, your expert analysis please.

Thanks.

Oh Lord. You know HL, as much as I would like to view this all as just a comedic sideshow I cannot deny how it makes me feel deep down.
        The very worst of Africa has been on display this World Cup. It is not about losing or not advancing, not at all. It is about reinforcing the caricature of a
        people who just cannot get their act together.

Good thing race is just a myth. Ahhhh, I feel a lot better now.

You just don't get it. Is this restricted to African nations. What about middle Eastern teams that have reported that they received threats at gun point to win games? You seem to forget what happened in Colombia in 94. Some people's dirty laundry just shows more than others. This no excuse for self hatred.Christianity really has some down sides.

Oh Lord. You know HL, as much as I would like to view this all as just a comedic sideshow I cannot deny how it makes me feel deep down.
            The very worst of Africa has been on display this World Cup. It is not about losing or not advancing, not at all. It is about reinforcing the caricature of a
            people who just cannot get their act together.

Good thing race is just a myth. Ahhhh, I feel a lot better now.
            IslandMan, I feel exactly the same.

BrickTop's uncensored approach (like-it or not) bears some truth....

Looking at the bright side--I am GLAD Saurez is not Black. Can you imagine any popular superstar Black player biting another player. That would take the cake.

Dem tief di players money. Straight!

U and many others dont want to face facts. Much of Africa has a poor governance culture where the authority people abuse the regular people and think they can do the same to rich, exposed footballers. Well, see the backlash there. This is not about race, its about culture geting usurped and corrupted.

FIFA does the same, but are more skilled at hiding it.

This is a mafia world.

I don't think this post should be directed at me.

Absolutely should be directed at you. You are like the people who when you tell them Jamaicas public school system is bad, will say "look at Campion or Immaculate".

Post colonial Africa has suffered from a culture of poor leadership, indiscipline and general chaos. Saying that does not mean that it does not happen anywhere else, or that every institution in Africa has poor leadership. It means that taken as a whole, Africa has underperformed and underachieved.

Now if you want to ignore that and talk bout the pyramids and all that and that makes everything ok for you, then that is your right. In fact it is because I know Africa is capable of such greatness why I find nonsense like we have seen in Brazil these past 2 weeks so sad.

Very accurate description Willi. This is exactly the case.

Race is a myth but culture is very real, culture and tradition makes for almost unbreakable poor habits and behavior.

Yup, very difficult to break but not impossible.

What we cannot do is accept it as the way it is or pretend it is not real. That will condemn use to another 500 years of hell, collectively speaking of course.

Much have been said about players from Africa becoming desirable to clubs,just wondering how the trained eyes of Fergie could miss Pogba,maybe he had eyes only for Cleverly.
                            Besides,Drogba at his prime had to do battle with Ballack and Torres.

By virtue of being a team,it speaks with one voice,the same if it was clad with caucasian players dealing with the national FA,and of course it is a mean to a solution.

And yes I know Pogba is from France but....