America's newfound passion for the beautiful game

WSJ said it's the in thing among high enders (billionaires) to buy soccer teams.
    Won't even say what the study cited in the WSJ shows about Americans and the other major sports. It seems true though based on the response to this WC.

This year’s World Cup has arguably been one of the most thrilling soccer competitions to date, featuring memorable story lines such as early exits for the defending World Champions and England, the inventors of the beautiful game.

But the one talking point that has seemed to resonate around the globe has been the Americans’ newfound passion and love for the game through the first month of the tournament.

Domestically, the passion for soccer had already been on the rise, with Major League Soccer (MLS) becoming stronger and stronger each year, but the rest of the world was relatively unaware of the growth of the game stateside.

Until now…

http://orlandocitysc.com/news/?article_id=1925
      America's "newfound passion" is a fallacy. Football has long been a popular sport in the US, even in the 70's with 70k fans in Giants stadium on a regular basis. The FACT of the matter is that the MEDIA suppressed the growth of the sport because they COULD NOT make the kind of money off it as they could with American sports that have lots of interruptions. We have the advent of the internet and the changes that media companies have had to embrace (or die) to thank for what appears to be a sea change - IN MEDIA - but not at the household level in many American communities.

I dunno Paul. You may have a point on the media but in terms of participation in the game, isn't that more recent?

New York and other cosmopolitan cities maybe but in the days for the NY COSMOS you didn't have soccer moms and thousands of kids playing all over the US every weekend. That is the main difference this time around I think.
        Last edited by Islandman; June 27, 2014, 06:55 PM.

America's "newfound passion" is a fallacy. Football has long been a popular sport in the US, even in the 70's with 70k fans in Giants stadium on a regular basis. The FACT of the matter is that the MEDIA suppressed the growth of the sport because they COULD NOT make the kind of money off it as they could with American sports that have lots of interruptions. We have the advent of the internet and the changes that media companies have had to embrace (or die) to thank for what appears to be a sea change - IN MEDIA - but not at the household level in many American communities.
          yep... football is one hype ting ova yah.

wi nuh mix up inna media excitement

Islandman, soccer has been a top 5 sport in terms of youth participation since the 70's. The glass ceiling for the sport has been until recently, the advertising dollar. Old school TV advertising as everyone knows is on its last legs; there is no coincidence in the media hype around the sport in recent world cups and the demise of the old time advertising format. So going back to NY COSMOS, while soccer was not as big in the 70's as baseball or basketball, it was bigger than American football in terms of youth participation. It has been the number one youth participation sport in the US for over 20 years. The whole "Americans don't like soccer" thing worked to the advantage of media companies...when facts (i.e. participation numbers) were telling everyone something totally different.

One of the biggest difference I see is that now you see serious soccer people getting involved and taking advantage. Players and parents are taking it serious. There is more of a push in certain quarters for more than just recreational soccer.

Wow!! Sounds like some serious passion going on here
                Last edited by Don1; June 27, 2014, 09:01 PM.

An example at the MLS level is the Brazillians getting involved, Mancity, and other major clubs. At the local level I see a lot of coaches with very high level qualification coming to the states. In my area there are hardly any local youth clubs it is all owned by associations who buy up small clubs and are running rec and academy soccer programs. It is not your 1970 program.

And what I'm saying is that this could all have happened MUCH sooner had the sport not been artificially repressed by the advertising complex.