And the rocket's red glare.........

I don't see it that way at all.

At the moment the US soccer gets at best, third tier athletes. They do not have a history of passion for the sport. In fact until not too long ago being a serious fan of the sport would almost attract ridicule in mainstream USA.

USA Soccer has gradually built a community around the game and now have a financially viable and growing league. Again, not too long ago the MLS was considered a joke. I can remember people on this forum saying that it was maybe marginally better than Jamaica's premier league but not by much.Yes I have been here a LONG time . Let us also not forget that professional soccer leagues in the US have failed miserably in the past. This was by no means a foregone conclusion. When people succeed against odds I give them ratings, MLS has done so.

But really I am talking specifically about THIS USMNT in THIS World Cup. They were given no chance to advance. They were playing against superior opposition on paper. They were the underdogs. They proved most of us wrong, while others with far more talent available like ENG, ITA and yes, GHA, failed miserably.

As for purchasing players, well I hardly see a top team without some player who could be playing for someone else. Won't knock them for that

There are other feel good stories I am sure but since I had a personal interest in this one playing out as it did, that's the one that I have focused on.

I understand you don't see it the way I do (you seem to focus on their challenges) but my analysis is based on facts

When a country of 300+ million with >3 million YOUTHS playing in organized football leagues uses "lack of available talent" as an excuse for being mediocre, something is radically wrong

The USA media hype is overwhelming but for all it's potential greatness in football the US is unfortunately a relative underachiever

Wake mi up when dem actually do something great... mi nuh inna di hype ting
      Last edited by Don1; June 26, 2014, 04:59 PM.

...except if the hype is about GHA and Ivory Coast

Me understand. Me disappointed inna dem too, but more frustrated than disappointed.

Me a get too old fe de foolinish, Jamaica already tek up my quota of tolerance.

Thank God fe Los Ticos.

lol... mi si yuh pawdie

A wonder how China and Inda did in the world cup??? LOL

No Jawge, his biggest problem is bad decision and focus. So many balls he miscontrolled. He dribbled into 3 players, If he knows that he is not a dribbler then kick away the ball then. His passing was off bad, even when he is under no pressure.

....the bombs bursting in air,

Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.
                Oh, say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
                O'er the land of the freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee and the home of the brave!

USA! USA! USA! USA!
                Sing it yeah I'man. USA! USA! USA!....

Even with that outstanding performance "a few" still are barfing on their shirt and in their shoes. They come up wid all sorts of factoid to justify their dislike for their resident country. But

I wonder how many are yappin about dem

The USMNT has been impressive to me, they are overachievers and you have to respect that.

Talent abounds, unrealized talent abounds almost as much.

Talent used its maximum effect, now THAT is special.
                      "Talent abounds, unrealized talent abounds almost as much. "

Hope people a pay attention. This was even done with Landon and Eddie Johnson sitting at home.

Italy, Spain and England gone home and Bush League a run things.

Assasin, yu figget to mention Portugal wid super starrr Ronaldo

No man enough people nuh live a Portugal, that was expected

Well Uruguay and Costa Rica average (maybe 3.6 million population) an' dem innna de knockout stage

Go USA!
                                USA! USA! USA!