Italy v Costa Rica = Pirlo's 'speed across ground'?

• Italy v Costa Rica = Pirlo's 'speed across ground'?

Please, I beg, can we pay special note to Pirlo's pace compared to the rival with whom he 'chases' to/for the ball.

We do have buried in our minds the relative pace of say, a Campbell of Costa Rico...and generally that of the Costa Rican midfield(ers)...hey they outrun our midfield at times...with which to recall and make judgments.

Early in the match we saw one 'race' already. Pirlo could not run down the Costa Rican but to me it seemed as if he also never lost ground. (It is now the 21min...so I am guessing that 'race' took place between 5min in and 15 min out. I thought of making this post...then after a while got up and went to the 'Big Boy' and made the post hence the wide time-line i.e. 5min - 15min.).

Pirlo: Aside...

Uses right and left frequently...although he is decidedly has a right-foot preference.

Movement is continuous...although he paces self - walks at times but even as he walks he pulls into or drifts into supporting space.

I think I have been arguing the wrong angle with you about Pirlo. We both agree that he is slow in comparison to other players, but let's look at his effectiveness and his importance to Italy. I just started watching thematch and so far I've counted Pirlo making 3 goalscoring passes from around the half line.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think I have been arguing the wrong angle with you about Pirlo. We both agree that he is slow in comparison to other players, but let's look at his effectiveness and his importance to Italy. I just started watching thematch and so far I've counted Pirlo making 3 goalscoring passes from around the half line.

...Yup! ...even makes not just 4 or 5 killer passes per game but...TONS!!!!

Arsenal robbed of a penalty!!!!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

But justik prevails

btw - On a match comment: One of the commentators claimed -

Ballotelli it just is not going his way

What more can a striker ask than numbers chances/regularly being set-up? So far Balotelli has had 4 good looks...and should have had 1 goal save for a missed lob=off target lob. If I were in his place Balotelli's) I would be well pleased. If the service keeps coming then....????

btw - Costa Rica has been great! The Costa Ricans belong!
              have to admit I never saw this coming!!!!

Missed it! I was typing!
                Missed a goal too... but then I am taping and there shall be replays.

Campbell is good...very good.

The ref a collect some Lire

Half time - Extremely good match.

Can Costa Rica remain as disciplined as they were in the 1st half? ...and what adjustments will they make to deal with those 'over the top' passes being made by Pirlo.

Having seen Costa Rica for 1 and 1/2 matches they appear to be 'the real deal'. Simple sensible football by players with good technical and tactical quality.

...as it is always in the context of comparison with my REGGAEBOYZ: Why have we not put this type play together in our schools, Parish Leagues, NPL and national TEAMs? It is not hard to be sensible!!!! ...we are born that way!!!!! ...it just takes using that uncommon common-sense!!!

As it relates to our players, administrators and teachers/coaches, I have to change my mantra - TALENT ABOUNDS...to PHYSICAL TALENT and technical talent ABOUNDS! ...the mental part? ...the use of common-sense part

The match - One of commentators claimed...

...the Italians need a Plan B.

The question is, why?

They created numerous chances and should have scored 2.
                      ...unless the Plan B referred to is about putting the ball in the back of the net but not on the way they have been creating chances

Having seen Costa Rica for 1 and 1/2 matches they appear to be 'the real deal'. Simple sensible football by players with good technical and tactical quality.

...as it is always in the context of comparison with my REGGAEBOYZ: Why have we not put this type play together in our schools, Parish Leagues, NPL and national TEAMs? It is not hard to be sensible!!!! ...we are born that way!!!!! ...it just takes using that uncommon common-sense!!!
                        Unfortunately Jamaica isn't interested in player development.

It's cheaper and easier to import 3rd rate English ballas for short periods... for the short term purpose of WCQ

As it relates to our players, administrators and teachers/coaches, I have to change my mantra - TALENT ABOUNDS...to PHYSICAL TALENT and technical talent ABOUNDS! ...the mental part? ...the use of common-sense part
                        It is the administrators who are mentally deficient... they pursue bankrupt policies. Aided and abetted by a myopic public.

That is the mentality that must first change

Costa Rica played Pirl much much better than England did.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                            Costa Rica played Pirl much much better than England did.

No, not really. Pirlo created many chances for the forwards, who failed to convert them.

Stats say he had half the touches he had against England. He will always get touches but you shouldnt allow him too many.