2014 Brazil World Cup: Day 7

• 2014 Brazil World Cup: Day 7

Was supposed to have a ticket for Spain vs Chile, but last minute, the seller screwed me over.

So, decided to check out Ipanema Beach. Nice place, with the famous Sugar Loaf Mountain in the background. But the main destination was the Statue of Christ, the Redeemer.

Took the train ride up the mountain, excited about seeing this most iconic symbol of the city. Very close to the summit, the weather changed drastically - thick fog! As close as you were to the statue, you couldn't see a thing! At one time, it cleared a little and you could make out the outstretched arms, but just.

So, the hundreds of us up there waited, and waited, for the fog to clear. Meanwhile, people lined up to take pics with me in my Jamaica shirt. Then I saw another Jamaican, with a flag, stealing my thunder. So, we joined forces and took pics with the many lining up for a piece of us. An Argentine wanted to swap his team shirt for my JFF warm-up jersey but I refused as I would lose the little swag I had.

Anyway, so after 3 or so hours, I decided the fog was going to be around for a while , bought some souvenirs and waited for the train to take me back down, dejected.

Wasted day!

The hotel I was staying at had a bunch of Chileans so I joined them for a Pisco, their national liquor, chased with Coke. As we all know, the Chileans drove the final nail into the Barca-Spain-tik-tak era. Or did they?

Tomorrow, the forecast calls for rain. Matters not. Not coming to Rio and not bless my eyes on Copacabana!

All this yapping and all now you can't post not one picture of Brazil's famous attractions. Whey yuh think we send yuh down deh fah, go look pon fog??? Man go down a the beach and tek some picture wid yuh likkle fool-fool camera. Yuh a walk 'round the place inna yuh ReggaeBoyz Jersey and a pose fi picture like seh yuh a superstar. This trip was funded with the blessings of the forum. It is not about you. Post the pictures.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Don't sound wasted at all. It's part of the experience.

Him fogging up di place?

Keep the reports coming. I shared your report with my wife last night and we both had a good laugh.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

"...the seller screwed me ..."

Was the seller female? Mek we see har picture nuh? We can see if she on INTERPOL wanted list.

Was supposed to have a ticket for Spain vs Chile, but last minute, the seller screwed me over.

So, decided to check out Ipanema Beach. Nice place, with the famous Sugar Loaf Mountain in the background. But the main destination was the Statue of Christ, the Redeemer.

Took the train ride up the mountain, excited about seeing this most iconic symbol of the city. Very close to the summit, the weather changed drastically - thick fog! As close as you were to the statue, you couldn't see a thing! At one time, it cleared a little and you could make out the outstretched arms, but just.

So, the hundreds of us up there waited, and waited, for the fog to clear. Meanwhile, people lined up to take pics with me in my Jamaica shirt. Then I saw another Jamaican, with a flag, stealing my thunder. So, we joined forces and took pics with the many lining up for a piece of us. An Argentine wanted to swap his team shirt for my JFF warm-up jersey but I refused as I would lose the little swag I had.

Anyway, so after 3 or so hours, I decided the fog was going to be around for a while , bought some souvenirs and waited for the train to take me back down, dejected.

Wasted day!

The hotel I was staying at had a bunch of Chileans so I joined them for a Pisco, their national liquor, chased with Coke. As we all know, the Chileans drove the final nail into the Barca-Spain-tik-tak era. Or did they?

Tomorrow, the forecast calls for rain. Matters not. Not coming to Rio and not bless my eyes on Copacabana!
              Yuh deh ah Brazil ah waste one whole day fi look pan Jeezas statue wen suh much phat ting deh ah road fi deal wid proppa??

But ah wha dis Faada God,,,

Place overrated, chuss mi.

But still, not everything can talk bout on this family forum!

Well since it is a family forum, put up two pictures of Auntie Rosie, cousin Ynelda and har phat sister Puncinella nuh?
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Place overrated, chuss mi.

But still, not everything can talk bout on this family forum!
                    LOL!

Dat mean yuh try an dem flop yuh

"Pisco"? really?? LOL Hope it taste better than the name suggests

I see you want to hear the details.

Link yuh when I get back. Nuh fret!

Pics from Ipanema beach were not great.

Today promises to be much better, despite the torrential rain. Or maybe because of it! But I doubt very much I will be able to use any recording device!

Mi know a just chat people a chat. Nah pree dem badmind!

lol