• Adu delivers warning to Beckham

Adu delivers warning to Beckham

USA international midfielder Freddie Adu says that David Beckham's profile could fade very quickly if he does not shine when he joins LA Galaxy in July.

Adu has told World Football that Beckham "has to carry this league."

"He has got to be the face of the league. It's a tough situation," said the 17-year-old Adu, who had a trial with Manchester United last November.

(continue)

said the 17-year-old Adu, who had a trial with Manchester United last November.
    Heh, heh, heh. Thought you said he did not have a trial with ManUre?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The BBC can call it what they want.

It still doesn't change the fact that he can't transfer to Europe until he's 18.

is that true?

Zeppo where you get that fraaam?

That is true. FIFA is big, at least so they claim, on the protection of minors. The only way Adu could have played there was if his parents moved to the UK for reasons other than football. Adu, in moving with them, could then sign for a farin club. Of course, it would no longer be a farin club, because he would be living there.
          Last edited by Mosiah; May 26, 2007, 11:22 PM.

Hey, Zeppo seem to forget that Keith Kelly was with PSG right after the under-17 World Cup in 1999 (?). Although Kelly could not sign a professional contract with the club per FIFA rules , the club could take him in their academy and work with him until he got to the age where if they were still interested, they would have the first choice at signing him.

Sir Alex took one look at Freddie and said Freddie nuh reddie!
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mo, suh how did Kelly sign with PSG?

I have a feeling that Adu and family must be kicking themselves now that they did not produce the right birth cerfitiket long time. Right now he might be getting too old for a contract while awaiting his 18th birthday.
              Last edited by Tilla; May 28, 2007, 12:43 PM.

Hey, Zeppo seem to forget that Keith Kelly was with PSG right after the under-17 World Cup in 1999 (?).
                That was back before the rules were changed.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                  That was back before the rules were changed.

Trus mi iffen im neva fail...a way would be found to have him in ManU's clutches!

Well please enlighten us all with the details.

Zeppo pleeeeaaase stop living in denial, it is plain as day that Adu went on trial at ManU but was not offered a deal because he is just not ready. This is by no means saying that he is not good because he is...but he is just not READY yet. He will eventually get there but if he improves leaps and bounds on his cuurent level of play. There are countless teen phenoms world better than Adu so please get a hold of yourself. As a matter of fact, Altidore is a better prospect than Adu at this point. Can that change later?...of course.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                        Zeppo pleeeeaaase stop living in denial, it is plain as day that Adu went on trial at ManU but was not offered a deal because he is just not ready.
                        Then let's just suppose for a moment that Man Utd had decided that he was ready last November.

Could they have signed him?

No, but they could have made some agreement to keep him in their academy for a year until he turns 18 then sign him. That would enable them to have first dibs on him in case other teams show any interest in his services.

And you think that his MLS club would have given him up for free?

He was under contract then to MLS, as he is now. Man Utd would have had to pay for him, which would have been a transfer, which would have been impossible since he was under 18 (as he still is).

Sorry.

He was under contract then to MLS, as he is now. Man Utd would have had to pay for him, which would have been a transfer, which would have been impossible since he was under 18 (as he still is).
                              So if FIFA does not allow players under 18 to sign contracts, how is it that he has a contract with MLS since he was 14? Adu can sign a contrat if he wants to, he just have to produce his right birth certificate.