Anyone...pleeeeeeeeease? The match stats please?

• Anyone...pleeeeeeeeease? The match stats please?

Particularly interested in for TEAM and each player %age passing success rate and %age possession!!!
    Thanks!

Team stats Ghana first USA second.
    21Total shots8
    8Shots on goal7
    10Fouls12
    60%Possession (%)40%
    7Corners3
    5Saves5
    5Offsides1

Ghana dominated possession but no result, USA played almost perfect compact tortoise shell ball, clogging middle and Ghana was lackadaisical on defense and no imagination in attack, USA played almost perfect counter attack ball under tough, demanding situation.

Defense played with concentration and organization can potentially beat or at least battle to a draw with any superior opponent.

Good summary Stonigut! I can see that you are a man who does analysis based on the data and not emotion, (except for fast twitch lol. )

Telling statistic : Shots on goal: Ghana 8 USA 7.

How can that square with, as Karl says, superior Ghana "playing well" and inferior USA "not playing well" if the objective of the game is to score goals and prevent your opponent from scoring? If Tim Howard was scrambling throughout the whole game to save shots from Ghana then that would be a different story about how well Ghana attacked , but he was not.

In fact if any team was unlucky it was the USA for having injury problems early in the game.

I wrote you a small treatise on fast twitch, go check it out, you will have fun thinking about it.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          Team stats Ghana

Ghana was lackadaisical on defense and no imagination in attack, USA played almost perfect counter attack ball under tough, demanding situation.

Defense played with concentration and organization can potentially beat or at least battle to a draw with any superior opponent.
          OK! Here is Mervyn Morris' GP class!

In the context (always) of the entire 'article'=your post.
          Your topic is Ghana v USA.
          You presented some facts.
          You drew some conclusions.

1. You have alluded to Ghana being the superior opponent?
          ...or have you made a general comment?

2. You claimed, even in the light of your reported fact of Ghana's 60% possession, that... Ghana - no imagination in attack.

3. You also claimed that even in light of your reported fact of Ghana having 60% possession - (a method of preventing the USA from attacking most of the game) - that Ghana was lackadaisical on defense .

What then makes up your perception of defense? is it merely about tackles and stopping shots on goal?

4. On the USA playing almost perfect counter-attacking?
          a) How many 'counter-attacking' forays did the USA attempt? ...and Ghana?

b) The USA scored 2 goals.
          What percentage was as a result of counter-attacking?

c) What were the tough demanding conditions under which the USA played?
          Did Ghana operate under those same conditions? Why or why not?

Final question: Do you wish to modify or discard your initial statement and substitute another?

Mervyn would leave the class to ponder on same. ...at times he would ask for thinking on additional questions. ...at other times he would present his opinions [=an insight into his thinking and definitely a challenge to look carefully and logically...Yup! ...with critical eye at one's own hastily or not so hastily drawn conclusion(s)].

btw Stoni: I think no one can deny that USA
          played under tough, demanding situation.

...and that...

Aside: How many shots on goal did each TEAM execute?
          ...and?

Respek!!!

Good summary Stonigut! I can see that you are a man who does analysis based on the data and not emotion, (except for fast twitch lol. )

Telling statistic : Shots on goal: Ghana 8 USA 7.

How can that square with, as Karl says, superior Ghana "playing well" and inferior USA "not playing well" if the objective of the game is to score goals and prevent your opponent from scoring? If Tim Howard was scrambling throughout the whole game to save shots from Ghana then that would be a different story about how well Ghana attacked , but he was not.

In fact if any team was unlucky it was the USA for having injury problems early in the game.
            Good questions!

Let me play at being Mervyn Morris:
            Why did you limit 'unlucky' to only injuries?
            Was Ghana 'unlucky' to have missed so many of its players'/TEAM's created chances?

...or as you consider the total of misses and positions from which the acts occurred relative to their opponent's goal: Do you think Ghana's missing of those opportunities is 'just about right' when considering the technical ability of each player who missed?

If you think those players would miss such opportunities below 50%, 40%, 30%, 20% of times they found selves in such a position, would that then make them unlucky?

...and if you think those players would miss such opportunities 50%, 60%, 70% and so on towards 100% of times what would your comment(s) then be?

Passing distribution: http://resources.fifa.com/mm/documen...stribution.pdf

Respek!
            Last edited by Karl; June 17, 2014, 05:54 PM.

I consider unlucky to be an bad event that is less under your control. Injury via a broken nose or a hamstring pull is less under your control than making poor crosses and skying the ball over the crossbar time and time again.

Don't get me wrong, I am not saying that the Ghanaian players are not good, or that they will always miss that many opportunities. What I am saying is that in the game last night they were not UNLUCKY, they simply DID NOT PLAY WELL in the final third and were suspect in defense. They dominated the midfield but did very little with all the possession they had. Poor crosses from the flank, inability to go through the middle, poor shots on goal.

You are not going to get good results playing like that even if you dominate possession.
              Last edited by Islandman; June 17, 2014, 10:09 AM.

I-man, do you know what counts as a "shot on goal"? How many shots on goal were blocked by a defender? Do we have those stats? Or do those not count to tell a story?!?

Stats are useful, but they are not gospel!

OK! Here is Mervyn Morris' GP class!

In the context (always) of the entire 'article'=your post.
                  Your topic is Ghana v USA.
                  You presented some facts.
                  You drew some conclusions.

1. You have alluded to Ghana being the superior opponent?
                  ...or have you made a general comment?

2. You claimed, even in the light of your reported fact of Ghana's 60% possession, that... Ghana - no imagination in attack.

3. You also claimed that even in light of your reported fact of Ghana having 60% possession - (a method of preventing the USA from attacking most of the game) - that Ghana was lackadaisical on defense .

What then makes up your perception of defense? is it merely about tackles and stopping shots on goal?

4. On the USA playing almost perfect counter-attacking?
                  a) How many 'counter-attacking' forays did the USA attempt? ...and Ghana?

b) The USA scored 2 goals.
                  What percentage was as a result of counter-attacking?

c) What were the tough demanding conditions under which the USA played?
                  Did Ghana operate under those same conditions? Why or why not?

Final question: Do you wish to modify or discard your initial statement and substitute another?

Mervyn would leave the class to ponder on same. ...at times he would ask for thinking on additional questions. ...at other times he would present his opinions [=an insight into his thinking and definitely a challenge to look carefully and logically...Yup! ...with critical eye at one's own hastily or not so hastily drawn conclusion(s)].

btw Stoni: I think no one can deny that USA

Aside: How many shots on goal did each TEAM execute?
                  ...and?

Respek!!!
                  How Stoni fi ansa dem yah query???

Memba seh Stoni nuh watch game... Stoni wait fi game dun den crunch numba fi tell yuh out it supposedly did guh ar shudda guh ...

Superior opponent in light of the fact that USA recognized that they could not play open ball but must stay composed and close ranks which they did, Ghana controlled the rhythm of the game but USA shut down the inside lanes and presented a strong defense with the only space being to the flanks but they covered well on crosses and gave very little solo moments like ghana gave to the youth in the final minutes.

Ghana lack of imagination even with 60% of the ball could not crack! could not draw could not get the USA defense to sag even though they were bone tired. 60% of possession and you get beat mean you are ballistically bankrupt. Especially that ayew youth that came off first, I was cussing him the whole time, he had no imagination and took no chances at all.

Ghana was lackadaisical in defense especially on the two occasions that us scored, they looked like they were sleeping on the first goal, especially the rb, talk about a pathetic attempt to tackle,that was it. To have Dempsey saunter through the box like that in the first minute was totally unacceptable for a team like Ghana. The second goal was worse, the youth had acres of space around him, reminds me of that 1-0 we got from Mexico in jamaica when the Mexican forward was escorted to the goal by two boyz each within five yards one on each wing, while the Mexican just jump up for the cross and calmly nodded in while the Jamaican that play in Finland just a spectate. Same thing here lack of concentration at critical moments, wait I almost forgot we are related, they are Akans and we are Jakans, we both love Nancy but we not quite as smart as Anancy.

Counter attacking can be one opportunity or many, for me it is strictly about being patient and attacking on the breakdown of the opponents attack, they had quite a few of those and if I remember correctly the corner was as a result of a move that started as a counter, but not sure. Bottom line counter is born out of strong defense and taking advantage of concentration lapses or taking advantage through strong defense and taking the ball while they attack creating an imbalance in their numbers and a weak point to attack if done quickly.

Us struggled through the game and clearly were physically and mentally having a tougher time than Ghana adapting to the heat.

To your final question I would say were you watching the game or were you watching the highlights, I would say you were watching highlights. I loved the game they played and even though I am a Black Stars fanatic I had to clap the USA for surviving and actually winning the game as I gave them little if any chance to do that.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                      Superior opponent in light of the fact that USA recognized that they could not play open ball but must stay composed and close ranks which they did, Ghana controlled the rhythm of the game but USA shut down the inside lanes and presented a strong defense with the only space being to the flanks but they covered well on crosses and gave very little solo moments like ghana gave to the youth in the final minutes.

Ghana lack of imagination even with 60% of the ball could not crack! could not draw could not get the USA defense to sag even though they were bone tired. 60% of possession and you get beat mean you are ballistically bankrupt. Especially that ayew youth that came off first, I was cussing him the whole time, he had no imagination and took no chances at all.

Ghana was lackadaisical in defense especially on the two occasions that us scored, they looked like they were sleeping on the first goal, especially the rb, talk about a pathetic attempt to tackle,that was it. To have Dempsey saunter through the box like that in the first minute was totally unacceptable for a team like Ghana. The second goal was worse, the youth had acres of space around him, reminds me of that 1-0 we got from Mexico in jamaica when the Mexican forward was escorted to the goal by two boyz each within five yards one on each wing, while the Mexican just jump up for the cross and calmly nodded in while the Jamaican that play in Finland just a spectate. Same thing here lack of concentration at critical moments, wait I almost forgot we are related, they are Akans and we are Jakans, we both love Nancy but we not quite as smart as Anancy.

Counter attacking can be one opportunity or many, for me it is strictly about being patient and attacking on the breakdown of the opponents attack, they had quite a few of those and if I remember correctly the corner was as a result of a move that started as a counter, but not sure. Bottom line counter is born out of strong defense and taking advantage of concentration lapses or taking advantage through strong defense and taking the ball while they attack creating an imbalance in their numbers and a weak point to attack if done quickly.

Us struggled through the game and clearly were physically and mentally having a tougher time than Ghana adapting to the heat.

To your final question I would say were you watching the game or were you watching the highlights, I would say you were watching highlights. I loved the game they played and even though I am a Black Stars fanatic I had to clap the USA for surviving and actually winning the game as I gave them little if any chance to do that.
                      Stoni... wha dis punishment fah? Whe mi duh yuh?