• U.s.a. 2 - Ghana 1; Concacaf 3 - 1

I have no more nails.
    Thought Klinsy would have brought on Wondolowski instead of Jóhannsson for Altidore.

Usa! Usa! Usa!

We should enjoy it while it...
    ...and for a more settled and composed TEAM USA in the following matches.

Unfortunately, Altidore's injury looks serious. If he can't go Wondolowski should start.
      They miss Donovan.
      Bradley's play was disappointing & sloppy. That can't continue, as his bad passes put added pressure on the team.
      Team defense was critical to the win.

Indeed Donovan is surely missed....

Altidore (if he is unable to continue) will be a bigger loss.

BTW: the anti-USA supporters must be puking barf down their shirts.

Bring on Germany and Portugal.

I like Ghana. Now they can win their next two games.

Bradley got exposed once Altidore came off. Why? Bradley doesn't have one on one skills. This hype about being a midfield general is false. He is a defender. Bradley was there to push balls to Dempsey and Altidore.

The unsung hero of the game is J. Jones; he is the real general. Jones set the first goal. Jones worked hard defending plus making runs at Ghana's defence. I think Klinsman is going to put Bradley behind Jones.

My Two players for that game is Jones and Dempsey. I saw Dempsey coming from the changing room with a focused look on his face. Dempsey's jaw was tight, he could not even sing the national anthem. Dempsey was in a zone. The nose break brought him back down. I like what Dempsey said post match. He said let's focus on the next game before we start talking about leaving the group. This guy listens and believes in his coach.

All along I knew Portugal was the weakest team in the group (mark my words). The US has some gaps to fix before meeting Germany. Germany won't be as forgiving as Ghana

Was happy to see Klinsman's approach to the game & his going for the win.
            Brooks (at 21 & coming into a game like this) did very well.
            With the players under 25 in his pool, I'm interested in seeing the team over the next 4 years.

Bradley wasn't playing good even when Altidore was on the field. I never thought he was a "midfield general" or close to one, but he was a "worker" (box to box) as he showed in '10, breaking up attacks & helping in offense with good, simple passes & movement. Yesterday he was giving the ball away & he seemed confused in his movement with & without the ball.

That is why he should play behind jones and Jones play where he was today.
                If Jones is at the tip of the midfield spear; he would cause Portugal much pain. BTW look out for Portugal's dirty game when things aren't going their way See what happen when you start projecting ahead and not focused on what's in front of you? Gerrard was bold in say he had a better team than Italy (YES Italy! The seasoned WC vet) Portugal came as if yeah we got this . We have Christian here. In 30 mins that game was decided (the group for that matter) I was sorry that Pepe lost his head (knew they were going to slip up/fup but not that bad). I wanted the lesson in precision and being clinical to continue but......ah well

Notice your boy (sarcasm) Lalas predicted that the US would not leave the group? He would like the US to lose because his selfish and petty objectives. I'm glad Kasey Keller is there to keep him in check.
                Last edited by Jawge; June 17, 2014, 02:06 AM.

Bradley had a poor game, which is something rare for him in a USA shirt. Every player is due to have one every once in a while.

I'm counting on him to get back to his old self on Sunday.

No time for poor games on the big stage. You have to raise your game at the WC level because you have only one chance (no game 2). WC is more about one's mental game than anything else.

Oh, one more thing. Ghana lost yesterday because of the tight up blouse that they were wearing. WTF??? Alexi Lalas is a likkle boitch.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                        Unfortunately, Altidore's injury looks serious. If he can't go Wondolowski should start.
                        They miss Donovan.
                        Bradley's play was disappointing & sloppy. That can't continue, as his bad passes put added pressure on the team.
                        Team defense was critical to the win.
                        The Donovan of the last 2 years?
                        The one who works when he feels like it and not as his TEAM needs demand?

Bradley?
                        He was a mess. Could it be the pressure he felt caused jitters? Fortunately...I do not think he shall play that badly again...and so shall the USA...Bradley and the USA should perform much better. ...unfortunately, the next two matches could still be lost - Hey...the TEAMs coming up is Germany, for my money the best TEAM in the World...and Portugal a TEAM in the World's top 10 and with something to prove after the butt-kicking received from Germany.

...but the ball is round and Dempsey after his brilliant play in the 1st minute of the last game and Bradley should play at much higher levels than that of last game. Altidore shall be sorely missed for his attacking instincts and his ability to hold up the ball and bring his TEAM-mates into play.

We shall see, what we shall see come Sunday!
                        Go USA!