First RVP, now Vermaelen to Manu**...
Originally posted by Karl View PostCould never understand the talk about his 'poor defending'.
When? Where?
I never saw that poor defending at all.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRSvyUrEiPc
Originally posted by Dunny View PostKarl, this guy Vermaelan have been a liability for the past 2 seasons costly mistake regularly that is why he is been getting splinters in his backside sitting on the bench. Here is one of many
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRSvyUrEiPc
He may escape when playing for Germany as the entire squad (all players who take the field) put in yeoman defensive work.
Aside: 'member I told you that striker Thomas Mueller is a tremendous defender...and one I think is just about the best defender on the German TEAM? (Earlier when I said that I did not say just about...a said, the best defender on the German TEAM.
btw - I still think he is the best defender on the German TEAM. ...and look for Mesut Ozil to put in good defensive work in this World Cup. Finally Ozil is not slow...he just uses pace (changes in pace) as additional weapon. He lulls opponents into thinking he is slow...and exploits that level of complacency that they fall in. Look for him to run by players who earlier in a game 'stays' with him and some who earlier appear to blow by him/'have his number' on pace.Last edited by Karl; June 16, 2014, 06:06 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostI hear you, Dunny. ...but the guy makes less mistakes that 'the Big German'. The 'big German is just lucky that his mistakes did not hurt my GUNNERS against the 2nd tier EPL TEAMs. Now when he came up against the big boys away - it was domino scores but most of the GUNNERS fans just closed their eyes!!!! (Players on the big TEAMs keep running by him, turning him, and plain just playing as if he was not on the field - They took him for a joke!!!
The big German is one of the top centre backs in the world without a doubt
Originally posted by Dunny View PostSo tell me Karl, how comes the big German have 99 caps for one of the best teams in the world and still their number one centre half after so many years.
The big German is one of the top centre backs in the world without a doubt
The Dutch and Portugal have speed merchants in great squads. He does not have to play against Germany's speed merchants...but against the additional good TEAMs...an Argentina, England and Belgium if and when he meets those TEAMs he shall be exposed on lack of pace yet hidden by the excellent defenders that surround him (defenders that will run down the speed merchants that get by him) and minimize or shut out danger.
Look on positional play/reading of the game he is TOP WORLD CLASS! ...on pace he is awful!!! ...against poor TEAMs with slow thinking players (i.e. players who do not quickly recognize that in 'packs' they can simply run by him on one-twos...he shall always be great."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostBecause not many TEAM are absolutely 'TOP RANKING'! - On one off games the thoroughbreds are Spain, The Dutch (Yup! ...2 TEAMs that I do not expect to win this World Cup), Portugal (another I do think shall win this World Cup) and the Germans.
The Dutch and Portugal have speed merchants in great squads. He does not have to play against Germany's speed merchants...but against the additional good TEAMs...an Argentina, England and Belgium if and when he meets those TEAMs he shall be exposed on lack of pace yet hidden by the excellent defenders that surround him (defenders that will run down the speed merchants that get by him) and minimize or shut out danger.
Look on positional play/reading of the game he is TOP WORLD CLASS! ...on pace he is awful!!! ...against poor TEAMs with slow thinking players (i.e. players who do not quickly recognize that in 'packs' they can simply run by him on one-twos...he shall always be great.
Matic unuh sell fi 4 million and buy him back for 20+ mil. Unuh just jealous, not one single one of those players were important before they came to Arsenal but as soon as we sell them they are important. Arsene a genius to rahtid"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Dunny View PostKarl, this man has been to how many world cups and European championships and playing champions league football every year against the best strikers and attacking players in the world give the man the credit he deserves top class!!
...gotta be true to myself, Dunny!
I have been watching this player for a few years ...Germany is one of my TEAMs (see: article on the main site) and yuh figet di GUNNERS a fi mi club side?
He has always performed tremendously well against sides that do not challenge him on pace!!!
I am not going to change what my eyes tell me...so let us agreeably leave the topic of Mr. Mertesacker's worth. After all is said and done...we are GUNNERS!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Assasin View Postmi nuh like that deal. It better them did ask Grandpa Rio fi take a pay cut.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostI am going to presume that you are joking. For under 10m, we are getting a top class defender who I think is better than the lot that we have, and who is also a goal scoring threat.....and not only from set play. Some may say that he is injury-proned, but so was/is RVP."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I am not overly excited either, but I know that he is a very good defender. It is a shock move because our eyes were looking elsewhere, but I think if we pair him with another hardman, then our defense will be rock solid. I would certainly start him over what we have. Evans has improved but still prone to mistakes. Jones is better than Smalling, but they both need to learn the game more and are not world class defenders.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015