USA's chances

• USA's chances

I think with the shellacking of Portugal by Germany has opened the way for the USA to make it out of the group. They will have to beat Ghana and then hope they can take Portugal. That would only leave having to deal with Germany, where they would not necessarily have to win.

Portugal is wounded now, as they will be missing Pepe due to a red card and they had two players (Hugo Almeida and Fabio Coentrao) taken off due to injury.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think the USA will emerge from this group.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

...................you are smarter on some days--than others Jangle.

And that's alright

At whose expense?

One of two other teams in the group.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Brilliant!😄

I think the USA will emerge from this group.
              Hmm, they can't beat Ghana today. Germany and Ghana will have 3 points each by the end of today.

I think they will beat Ghana. Essien and Boateng not playing.

USA shall play good TEAM ball...and I am hoping she advances

Hell I picked her with fingers crossed. Will Dempsey or wont Dempsey?
                  USA is another TEAM that needs 'the one-baller' to perform...duh Missa Dempsey play top class TEAM nuh???

You are correct, Portugal has a history of putting out mentally weak TEAMs...today however, her players stuck to playing good committed football. Sure the score-line was horrible...but the difference in quality play even for the excellent German passing and movement/movement and passing, was good!!!

I was surprised the Portuguese players did not fold but kept going. ...and if body language was anything to go by, they walked off the field firm in gait and heads held high!

I think they will beat Ghana. Essien and Boateng not playing.
                    US luck holding up. It Ghana 0, USA but should be Ghana 4 USA 1 by now.

Well, can you at least wait for Karl's analysis?

Karl now I know that we see football differently, and you've lost the little ratings that I had for you. Portugal today, was the worse team so far in this WC. Go back and watch the game. They were equivalent to Jamaica and if they had played the rampaging France that played us, they would've gotten the same 8 love or more.

Hell I picked her with fingers crossed. Will Dempsey or wont Dempsey?
                          USA is another TEAM that needs 'the one-baller' to perform...duh Missa Dempsey play top class TEAM nuh???

You are correct, Portugal has a history of putting out mentally weak TEAMs...today however, her players stuck to playing good committed football. Sure the score-line was horrible...but the difference in quality play even for the excellent German passing and movement/movement and passing, was good!!!

I was surprised the Portuguese players did not fold but kept going. ...and if body language was anything to go by, they walked off the field firm in gait and heads held high!
                          Really!? That performance by Portugal was awful!

I don't see that as luck. Ghana had a lot of possession but their crosses and shots on goal were mostly poor.