Does it matter if the ball swings out of bounds

• Does it matter if the ball swings out of bounds

and back over the playing surface from a corner kick?!?

That German goal looks awfully suspicious! But I have never liked that "out of bounds in the air" rule from long time! Too subjective and to me just another problem the officials don't need.

and back over the playing surface from a corner kick?!?

That German goal looks awfully suspicious! But I have never liked that "out of bounds in the air" rule from long time! Too subjective and to me just another problem the officials don't need.
    I have to see the replay to make a call on out or not.

I do not know why you think it is subjective making the call of out of bounds in the air or not. Well, some mightt not be so obvious and would be difficult to call in close situations. There are times when the ball can serve as much as a foot or two and then come back in. I think in those cases, a well placed assistant ref should be able to make the call and get it right.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Portugal's defending is abysmal. The media love to hype things. Ronaldo, the best player in the world, will never achieve the jewel in his crown because of his inferior teammates. That last goal was scored because the defender tried to control the ball in his 18, instead of kicking out one-time.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

BUt why should it matter if the ball went out of bounds in the air or not?!? Just another...nuisance that makes the job of officiating that much more difficult.

Not sure what other sport puts itself thru so much problems. In tennis the ball does not have to go over the net; in volleyball you can retrieve the ball a mile out, in T&F you can cross lanes in certain situations...the examples are numerous!

They need to rid themself of that rule along with the offside rule!

Was that what he was trying to do? Perhaps, or Muller got lucky! Well taken goal, however!

For me, Portugal is too much swagger. They could be Jamaicans!

And I guess while we are at it, we should just cut out offside rule, do away with red and yellow cards, institute timeouts and limitless changes.Hey, why not just play American football and be done with it?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

For me, Portugal is too much swagger. They could be Jamaicans!
              Yup. They need to hold on to the ball better and be little more patient. I saw a Portugal break-away and instead of passing the ball to Ronaldo, the midfielder held on to it too long and was closed down by the defender. Ronaldo turned around and told him 'bout him mumma.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The stadium is surprisingly empty for a match between Portugal and Germany.

Yup. They need to hold on to the ball better and be little more patient.
                  I need to retract this statement. Portugal needs to play the ball earlier and leggo off a the blerneet ball.

You said all that, not me!

Rules are made to be revisited and revised. Those are my current recommendations. Yours are duly noted!

The ref robbed Ronaldo from taking a penalty.

Portugal sucks and their goalie sucks more.

Clear penalty! But the assistant on that side should have seen it as well.

Ronaldo says, "Fvck it" and just gave away the ball.

BUt why should it matter if the ball went out of bounds in the air or not?!? Just another...nuisance that makes the job of officiating that much more difficult.

Not sure what other sport puts itself thru so much problems. In tennis the ball does not have to go over the net; in volleyball you can retrieve the ball a mile out, in T&F you can cross lanes in certain situations...the examples are numerous!

They need to rid themself of that rule along with the offside rule!
                              Hmm, lets say that the ball is outside and in the air and the player is partiall inside and pulls it back with his foot. Should that be allowed?

Some people believe that goal that was spotted by the new goal line technology yesterday occurred when the ball crossed the line while in the air ,but not on the ground (they believe that it travelled along a curve after it hit the post.) If true, then should that be disallowed?