Karl, Pirlo's performance

• Karl, Pirlo's performance

Before this WC gets too deep and I forget, Karl, did you take note on Pirlo's performance against England? Again, he was THE GENERAL in the midfield. He is arguably the slowest midfielder, ACROSS GROUND, playing at the top level, yet his presence was so commanding. Italy is not a fast-paced team, but they are devastatingly accurate with their passing and keep possession well. Italy's team is built around Pirlo and he carries the team well.

Jermaine Hue is Jamaica's Pirlo.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Before this WC gets too deep and I forget, Karl, did you take note on Pirlo's performance against England? Again, he was THE GENERAL in the midfield. He is arguably the slowest midfielder, ACROSS GROUND, playing at the top level, yet his presence was so commanding. Italy is not a fast-paced team, but they are devastatingly accurate with their passing and keep possession well. Italy's team is built around Pirlo and he carries the team well.

Thank you, Jangle! You may put aside your dunce cap for a couple hours!

Football is not all about a mad rush, box to box, out-sprinting the next player, speed across ground and all the rest of it. It can also about smarts, great passing, awareness, timing and subtle movement.

Pirlo is the boss! And so was Maestro!

What is it about many of us, how we compare things that bear no comparison. Why compare Hue to Pirlo there is little if any comparison, the best that can be said is that they are midfielders, they are both below average speed and they both show a certain level of individual skill, that is about it.

So if a bird looks like a duck, walks like a duck, eats like a duck, quacks like a duck but can neither swim, float or fly then that is not even close to being a duck, you can't be a duck if you can't do those fundamental things. Pirlo is a highly achieved player who has produced in every single situation he has been placed in regardless of his weaknesses, he has turned his advantages into super advantages and limited his liabilities by doing that.

Let's compare our players and their possibilities based on real and tangible things not some fantasy of what it should look and feel like and let's not ignore the most base points of making a comparison.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post

Let's compare our players and their possibilities based on real and tangible things not some fantasy of what it should look and feel like and let's not ignore the most base points of making a comparison.
        Why would you call it a fantasy when your idea of the perfect team is a figment of your imagination. Karl's idea of the perfect midfielder hasn't been born yet either. The Hue and Pirlo comparison is apt based on their similar skill level. The only difference is Pirlo plays in a higher league, however, taken in context, Hue remains Jamaica's best option for that creative midfielder position. It comes down to the style of play that a coach choose to adopt.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If Pirlo were Jamaican, he would have been kept out of the national side because of people like Stoni. In their books, stats rule and "speed across ground" is everything.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The only thing different about the two - Pirlo is playing with quality players.

When are y'all ever going to learn that production is everything.
              You get your props when you produce, that is all. If four picni go out to sell roast peanuts so the rest of the family can survive who is going to get the most props when them come home, not the one that have the smoothest chat, not the one who walk the farthest, but the one who have the most effective combination of talk, movement and connection with the most people, thus the one who sells the most gets the props, same with ball, who are the monsters of ball, Messi, Ronaldo, Suarez they get it done, bring home the bacon. No bacon, no props, jamaica ball will get nowhere until that fundamental understanding is applied across the board from kindergarten to JPL.

I love speed because of the advantage it brings but it must bring production with it or if you don't have the speed then you get more wise but same thing you must show production like Pirlo. No show no go, right Mo.

Blouseandskirt!

pants and shirt....bargains like dirt....

Nonsense - Pirlo is slow....and slower than the last European Champs...but he is miles faster than Hue!

...on Pirlo's performance it was good but not as dominating as during his last World Cup. I do not think he will be allowed to manage the game as well as he did in any of his upcoming matches.

...btw - Italy runs the game with sporadic busts of tremendous pace. Please replay the game and you shall see the French outrunning the opponents 'all over the field'...frequently! They just turn that use of pace on and off...on and off.

Good way to judge the Italians pace is to try to remember the league matches and recall who say...the forwards outran then. Most of their players are very quick. E.g. think on Mario Ballotelli? Do you think he is slow? ...however in this game to the untrained eye he appears slow. Why? Most of the others around him are quick. ...so relative to each other they do not appear to be moving fast.
                    Last edited by Karl; June 16, 2014, 09:24 PM.

Nonsense - Pirlo is slow....and slower than the last European Champs...but he is miles faster than Hue!

...on Pirlo's performance it was good but not as dominating as during his last World Cup. I do not think he will be allowed to manage the game as well as he did in any of his upcoming matches.

...btw - Italy runs the game with sporadic busts of tremendous pace. Please replay the game and you shall see the French outrunning the opponents 'all over the field'...frequently! They just turn that use of pace on and off...on and off.

Good way to judge the Italians pace is to try to remember the league matches and recall who say...the forwards outran then. Most of their players are very quick. E.g. think on Mario Ballotelli? Do you think he is slow? ...however in this game to the untrained eye he appears slow. Why? Most of the others around him are quick. ...so relative to each other they do not appear to be moving fast.
                      reread my post. I said Italy is not a fast-paced team. I didn't say that their players weren't fast. Italy builds their game around Pirlo. This is different from have a midfielder who is running all over the field. Nothing is wrong with either styles and Italy has been very successful using this style. In Jamaica's case, we have to use the players that are available to us and build a style around their skill level. We have not found a suitable midfielder who can control and dictate the pace of the game like the much heralded Tappa, who I think was less skilled than Hue, not since the 98 campaign. The current lot of midfielders are substandard. We do not have a go-to midfielder and Rudy Austin is not that player. What is wrong with building a team around Hue even at his age?

Here is a description of Pirlo:

A player who fundamentally stays in one place on the field, and shifts the ball about relying not on pace or physical strength, but on spatial awareness and control of the football.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/wor...#ixzz34u4fKu4k
                      Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

reread my post. I said Italy is not a fast-paced team. I didn't say that their players weren't fast. Italy builds their game around Pirlo. This is different from have a midfielder who is running all over the field. Nothing is wrong with either styles and Italy has been very successful using this style. In Jamaica's case, we have to use the players that are available to us and build a style around their skill level. We have not found a suitable midfielder who can control and dictate the pace of the game like the much heralded Tappa...
                        This is what you meant?
                        Agree FULL 100!

Here is a description of Pirlo:
                        A player who fundamentally stays in one place on the field, and shifts the ball about relying not on pace or physical strength, but on spatial awareness and control of the football.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/wor...#ixzz34u4fKu4k
                        Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Not true. ...as Pirlo roams the entire field.
                        ...but I know what you mean....his greatest attributes are his brain and technical skills.
                        Last edited by Karl; June 17, 2014, 11:12 PM.

Ok, then since you agree, why yuh arguuing with me?

Yuh nuh e-ven kno wah yuh pos dem seh
                            Please read all of them...fram tap tuh battam?!

Pirlo covers much more ground than Hue. And tactically is in the right position on the defensive side. Hue while able to replicate the passes from deep and the shooting, does not allow the team to maintain its defensive integrity unless he is played much higher up the pitch.

Despite his limitations, I would pick Hue for our attacking midfield position over any of those Burrell hyped English based players that we imported at the last minute during qualifiers.