Karl, Pirlo's performance

Originally posted by Me View Post
    Hue while able to replicate the passes from deep and the shooting, does not allow the team to maintain its defensive integrity unless he is played much higher up the pitch.

Despite his limitations, I would pick Hue for our attacking midfield position over any of those Burrell hyped English based players that we imported at the last minute during qualifiers.
    This comes down to coaching and being able to communicate ideas and instructions clearly.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Comes down to coaching when our players are youngsters.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        Pirlo covers much more ground than Hue. And tactically is in the right position on the defensive side. Hue while able to replicate the passes from deep and the shooting, does not allow the team to maintain its defensive integrity unless he is played much higher up the pitch.
        Do you think Hue is as good on the taking of Free-Kicks?

Despite his limitations, I would pick Hue for our attacking midfield position over any of those Burrell hyped English based players that we imported at the last minute during qualifiers.
        The problem with such a position with our current TEAM is, against the '2nd formers' (CFU opposition) Hue would be great...while against higher quality opposition he would often not receive the ball - his movement is poor and additional slow i.e. he would be most often beaten to the ball and that even in the best of cases when the pass is made directly to him and he is nearer to the ball than an opponent - and further he would not have time on the ball to make his killer passes as required during game.

Then there is, he is poor defensively. It would be as playing with our 10 v their 11.

...so the decision for the selectors is simple, make selections to improve TEAM or merely the wasting of time and resources as the TEAM 'beats up' 'second formers'?

Yes
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No. He is almost as good. However, he cannot get the ball to move in the air the way Pirlo does (not many in the world can).

The problem with such a position with our current TEAM is, against the '2nd formers' (CFU opposition) Hue would be great...while against higher quality opposition he would often not receive the ball - his movement is poor and additional slow i.e. he would be most often beaten to the ball and that even in the best of cases when the pass is made directly to him and he is nearer to the ball than an opponent - and further he would not have time on the ball to make his killer passes as required during game.

Then there is, he is poor defensively. It would be as playing with our 10 v their 11.

...so the decision for the selectors is simple, make selections to improve TEAM or merely the wasting of time and resources as the TEAM 'beats up' 'second formers'?
              Garbage. Which one, two or three of our current midfielders is doing or performing up to task as you describe it?

Originally Posted by Karl View Post

...and...

Yes
                Here is your problem, Jangle: You have poor depth perception. ...or even if good enough for use in say, driving a car...you would be now (today) poor at judging and then catching a cricket ball thrown 20 meters.

Pirlo strikes his Free-Kick with much greater force than Hue. That translates into giving the opposing goalkeeper less time on focusing and refocusing on the ball during its flight...and presents more difficulty in preventing a Pirlo's kick than a Hue's kick of the ball from entering the goal.

Decided advantage that extra velocity Pirlo imparts.

Hue's Free-Kicks...appear to most to be of similar quality as Pirlo's. The truth is they are miles apart on quality. A 'gentle' lob is nowhere near 'quality' of a 'fiercely' struck ball.