Did the goal line technology work or fail
I see it now. Viewing an a tablet I wasnt seeing the entire thing."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Well, I just heard that FIFA rules say if a shot is taken which then bounces of the goalpost and hits a defender or GK before going in, it is NOT an own goal, the striker gets the goal.
So it sounds like the technology got it right and the ref still got it wrong. If that is the case they will most likely correct it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
They showed a picture of the ball about an inch over the line. Remember, the entire ball has to cross the line for it to be considered a goal."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I believe the animations are just a simulation of what the high speed cameras have picked up, to show an up-close visual of how it made its decision."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Time View PostI am not sure that the 2nd French goal against Honduras was a goal (that the entire ball crossed the line) I don't see a goal in the replays. I see may be 80% to 90% of the ball across the line.
Who wants to call it before someone publishes a photo from one of the cameras?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Peter R View PostTennis and cricket have been using this type of technology successfully IMO; I don't see why it won't be the same with football.
Tennis and cricket has wide open spaces for whatever they using to see where the ball is located at any instant. I don't know how they figure it out within the confines of the goal space. How do they do it inside the goal?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Time View PostTennis and cricket has wide open spaces for whatever they using to see where the ball is located at any instant. I don't know how they figure it out within the confines of the goal space. How do they do it inside the goal?
The system comes from German tech startup GoalControl. The company installed 14 cameras in each of the 12 World Cup stadiums, located high up above the stands of roaring, painted fans. The cameras work together to triangulate the motion of the ball with calculated precision, snapping up to 500 images per second. With GoalControl’s cameras and additional goal line sensors, the startup’s technology can instantly ping a referee when a ball crosses over the line"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
They have 14 high speed cameras located at different points in the stadium that focus on each goal (7 cameras per goal). They use these cameras to determine the X,Y & Z coordinate of the ball at any point in this when the ball goes to goal.
Based the position of the ball, the computer figures out if the ball has crossed the goal line, then provide feedback to a watch worn by the referee."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Good! Thanks for that."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Peter R View PostKarl, If the technology is what is being used, that's what we have to go by. With the TV cameras, it's impossible to say, IMO.
TV cameras can be used for offside though, or, why not apply the same goal-line technology?? TO BE USED when a goal results i.e.
btw - In the case under discussion it appears the spectators immediately accepted the call. The TV/Cable/Media camera replays caused a hum from the crowd...but it appears to me that the real passionate questioning came from the Honduran coach. ...but he settled down with a shrug.
Aside: The day shall soon be on us where the entire pitch (...later the spectators) will be watch by a great multitude of cameras. Dissecting of games demand it!
50, 100, 200 or more cameras?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Peter R View PostDo you agree it was an OG? I don't.
Completely different thing from the following ---
i) 3rd goal -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpvLmUbyXxM
- and a weird defenders goal it is - pass from one defender to his fellow defender who then beat his 'keeper 'brilliantly'!
ii) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpvLmUbyXxM
iii) http://www.attackingsoccer.com/2013/...luna-own-goal/
Question: What concept is in play that when the defender designated 'keeper dives and attempts to prevent a goal and the ball deflects in off him the attacker is awarded a goal...but if an 'out defender' makes similar effort and the ball deflects in off him it is not awarded to the attacker but awarded as an own goal?Last edited by Karl; June 15, 2014, 09:39 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."