Dem tief Mexico...

well the ref was not in perfect position to make any of those calls...the linesman was in direct line with BOTH plays...and THE LINESMAN made the calls and the calls were accepted by the referee...referees don't wave off offside calls...no referee worth his salt will be in a position to make an offside call unless he is flash gordon

For my part I saw no Offside or foul committed. Appears to be mistaken call by Ref. GOAL it should have been!
      No. A mistaken call by the linesman...the linesman made the call and was supported by the referee who really has no choice in these matters...the ref cannot make an offside call from in front of the play...

So you are advocating getting rid of human officials altogether...just say that and stop going round the ting...now you see how ridiculous you sound?

Where did I say that??? Obviously you never went to JC! Show me where I said that! I dare you, no, I double dare you

Let me help you out, have any of the other sports I mentioned dispensed with ref? or umps? Please yute...

Wait, is me yuh talkin tuh or Paul M?? I leaving me statement still anyway, cah Paul nevah seh dat neidah! :kissteet:

So you are advocating getting rid of human officials altogether...just say that and stop going round the ting...now you see how ridiculous you sound?
            Neither me or Peter said get rid of the ref, we said use technology to assist the officiators. "Now see how ridiculous YOU sound"...LOL!!! Bredrin, learn to read and comprehend before you enter into arguments wid big man. You are clearly impaired.

review for offside is not necessary...the calls were blatant errors from the linesman...you cannot disregard a linesman's flag for offside and continue with the play to then review the play...that is ridiculous...this is football not any of the other sports :-)

to remove the incompetency of the officials from the game you would have to replace the officials with technology...capiche?

great...now address the point...a referee cannot wave off a linesman making an offside call...
                  Oh yes, he/she can...and it has happened in the past in FIFA competitive matches...and other matches. And it shall occur again!

Come on, Bricktop you know that which you said does not make sense in the context of, the referee being the final arbiter and secondly, a seeking of fair play.

You're being obtuse star. IF a GOAL RESULTS AND the flag is up, in just the same way WE ALL, INCLUDING YOU, realised almost instantaneously upon seeing the replay that the man made an error (through incompetency or any other means), similarly, a fourth or fifth official would communicate that and the goal would stand. By the same token IF A GOAL RESULTED and the flag stayed down, and the replay showed the scorer to be offside, the official would communicate same to ref, and disallow the goal. IT ISN"T ROCKET SCIENCE boss...

Ask Bruce to explain how they do this in ice hockey. FIFA insists on keeping the game in the dark ages. It's not offsides that replays should or could be used for; e.g. any "hand of God" goal should not be allowed and replays can ASSIST...capiche? ¿comprendes? tu vois? verstehst du? LOL

BTW, Why do you think they introduced goal line technology?

what about a ball over the top, possible offside and a one on one breakaway with the keeper...does the ref ignore the linesman's flag and then await the result of the play to go to a review? then you will have the goalkeeper giving up on the play because of the flag...could you point out one incidence where a referee has overruled a linesman's offside call on the field...why not just get rid of the linesman altogether?

point me to the evidence please...you as a referee position yourself in line with the defence on each play? it seems that the legendary referee Ken Aston disagrees with you Karl...yuh chatting foolishness...
                        Last edited by Bricktop; June 16, 2014, 06:50 AM.