Dem tief Mexico...
what about a ball over the top, possible offside and a one on one breakaway with the keeper...does the ref ignore the linesman's flag and then await the result of the play to go to a review? then you will have the goalkeeper giving up on the play because of the flag...could you point out one incidence where a referee has overruled a linesman's offside call on the field...why not just get rid of the linesman altogether?
Leave a comment:
You're being obtuse star. IF a GOAL RESULTS AND the flag is up, in just the same way WE ALL, INCLUDING YOU, realised almost instantaneously upon seeing the replay that the man made an error (through incompetency or any other means), similarly, a fourth or fifth official would communicate that and the goal would stand. By the same token IF A GOAL RESULTED and the flag stayed down, and the replay showed the scorer to be offside, the official would communicate same to ref, and disallow the goal. IT ISN"T ROCKET SCIENCE boss...
Ask Bruce to explain how they do this in ice hockey. FIFA insists on keeping the game in the dark ages. It's not offsides that replays should or could be used for; e.g. any "hand of God" goal should not be allowed and replays can ASSIST...capiche? ¿comprendes? tu vois? verstehst du? LOL
BTW, Why do you think they introduced goal line technology?
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Bricktop View Postgreat...now address the point...a referee cannot wave off a linesman making an offside call...
Come on, Bricktop you know that which you said does not make sense in the context of, the referee being the final arbiter and secondly, a seeking of fair play.
Leave a comment:
to remove the incompetency of the officials from the game you would have to replace the officials with technology...capiche?
Leave a comment:
review for offside is not necessary...the calls were blatant errors from the linesman...you cannot disregard a linesman's flag for offside and continue with the play to then review the play...that is ridiculous...this is football not any of the other sports :-)
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostSo you are advocating getting rid of human officials altogether...just say that and stop going round the ting...now you see how ridiculous you sound?
Leave a comment:
Where did I say that??? Obviously you never went to JC! Show me where I said that! I dare you, no, I double dare you
Let me help you out, have any of the other sports I mentioned dispensed with ref? or umps? Please yute...
Wait, is me yuh talkin tuh or Paul M?? I leaving me statement still anyway, cah Paul nevah seh dat neidah! :kissteet:
Leave a comment:
So you are advocating getting rid of human officials altogether...just say that and stop going round the ting...now you see how ridiculous you sound?
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Karl View PostFor my part I saw no Offside or foul committed. Appears to be mistaken call by Ref. GOAL it should have been!
Leave a comment:
well the ref was not in perfect position to make any of those calls...the linesman was in direct line with BOTH plays...and THE LINESMAN made the calls and the calls were accepted by the referee...referees don't wave off offside calls...no referee worth his salt will be in a position to make an offside call unless he is flash gordon
Leave a comment:
great...now address the point...a referee cannot wave off a linesman making an offside call...
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Peter R View PostKarl, If the linesman raises his flag for whatever reason, including offside, does that mean the players then should stop playing? or are they supposed to continue playing until the ref blows the whistle? I've seen instances where refs have ignored the flags, even while acknowledging same, and play continues as the whistle has not been blown.
I suspect I know the answers. My point is, while BT contends that players react to the flag which I do not dispute, they are wrong to do so until they hear a whistle. I always remember the term "play to the whistle"...
Bricktop is 'reaching'!
Even in Jamaica with our horrible teachers/coaches we are taught "play to the whistle".
Leave a comment:
Karl, If the linesman raises his flag for whatever reason, including offside, does that mean the players then should stop playing? or are they supposed to continue playing until the ref blows the whistle? I've seen instances where refs have ignored the flags, even while acknowledging same, and play continues as the whistle has not been blown.
I suspect I know the answers. My point is, while BT contends that players react to the flag which I do not dispute, they are wrong to do so until they hear a whistle. I always remember the term "play to the whistle"...
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostNobody reacts to the linesman's flag? are you kidding me? Goalkeepers and defenders stop all the time when a linesman's flag is up...the referee can't ignore a linesman's flag for offside...the ref is in no position to call offside...once again...why not just do away with human officiating then?
...on the 2nd time Dos Santos put the ball in the met the ref was in a perfect position. As the referee's assessor would 'tick' positional abilities - check!
Generally speaking (i.e. for entire match) this ref's movement on the pitch was wonderful.
...back to the 2nd call - It was scored from a corner-kick:
The Laws of the Game cannot be more explicit -There is no offside offense if a players receives the ball directly from a corner
Other consideration: In the instant case the ball came in contact with a defender. So it could be said the defender received the ball directly from the corner and then played it to the forward (dos Santos). For fact the ball was never played at any time after the restart of the game by the corner by any other member of the Mexican TEAM (dos Santos' TEAMmates)...therefore on this second consideration dos Santos has also not found himself foul of the Law.
GOAL! GOAL! GOAL!
FIFA has mandated its Referees in all FIFA tournament be outfitted with a intra-TEAM referee communication tool so referees can also seek clarification from assistant referees (and issue instructions as necessary) during the course of the game. If the referee on seeing "NO OFFSIDE" thought the assistant referee was signaling for another offense he could have checked to so ascertain and to accept his assistant's advice or to discard same!!!
The signal for offside call is raising of an arm which shall not be lowered until the given kick is taken.
Can anyone remember what the referee did as it pertains to 'raising an arm' signal for an In-direct Free Kick such as would be awarded for an off-side or dangerous play?
Or did he not raise an arm - i.e. He gave a direct free kick penalizing the Mexicans? ...indicating that a call on Offside was never made...but rather a call for a 'foul' by a Mexican?
For my part I saw no Offside or foul committed. Appears to be mistaken call by Ref. GOAL it should have been!
Leave a comment: