• No deal, says ISSA - Coke's $30,000,000 not tasty enough

No deal, says ISSA
    Clement Radcliffe, ISSA president

Coca-Cola's $30-million bid to become the new title sponsors of the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) senior schoolboy football competitions has been flatly rejected by the schools governing body for that of incumbent sponsors Pepsi, the Observer has learnt.

http://reggaeboyzsc.com/articles.asp...139&category=1

I still think we're going about it wrong!

If we had our house in order, instead of wasting time and money on schoolboy football, why not try to push the U13, U15 and possibly an U17 league?

I can't help but think that palms are not being seriously greased. Why would ISSA reject what seems to be a much better offer? Coca-Cola not into the grease bizniz?

Again, I call for ISSA to be completely overhauled and run by business men who understand that sports is a bizniz, whether or not it takes place within schools. Some principals could always be on the board and even have veto powers, but as it is right now and has been for a while, ISSA is a joke!

And this attitude as if it is some private entity - nonsense! ISSA is a public entity and is answerable to the people of Jamaica.

If we had our house in order, instead of wasting time and money on schoolboy football, why not try to push the U13, U15 and possibly an U17 league?
        Lazie: You are always on about efficient use of "the people's funds"...why then you - (btw - You are with Jawge on this one! Imagine that you and Jawge ? ) ... - you would not want the sharing of costs that using the already in place school environment - which incidentally has the not to be discounted reach - captive reach - on all our kids, would bring?

Why could the schools not each have those age-groups you propose subjected to most modern training methods?

Do you know we already have such competitive age-groups programs in our schools? Do you not think that the next phase of developing those programs should involve improving the "course work" under the guide of professionally trained staff?

...damn! ...mini-academies throughout the entire island? ...possibility of no great talent missed? Damn! ...again, DAMN!
        Last edited by Karl; May 25, 2007, 09:58 AM.

isn't it so Jamaica run?

A nuh just Burrell alone eehh.

From Portia to Omar right down to Boxhill. Them choose not to tell the people the truth and don't question them about it. Them jus do what is in the "best interest" of the people without explaining anything.

Yuh nuh see di Gleaner editorial how Air Jamaica a deal wid wi like stepchild. After we the taxpayers have forked out "nearly US$1billion...over the past dozen years or so" the managers keeping us in the dark about what's happening.

People lick dem head inna dis yah country!

Yuh can mark my word, Burrell will be quizzed about the JFF's finances until he is blue in the face. Him gwine haffi duh better than tell people fi jump inna sea! When him put up a Captain's Bakery sign at 20 St. Lucia Crescent, then and only then will he get some reprieve.

SUPPORT YOU 100%. Keep up the pressure and nuh let it down fi any president of the JFF.

Them take the people business like a fi dem. A wonder what the money from the sale of Air Jamaica going to do? pay off some debt the govt been hiding? Election? seems strange how them sell shares in PetroJam, and Air Jamaica right around election time. Can they avoid running with it?

Karl, can you please post

in English? Mi affi guh altavista fi translate yuh post and even that site have problems. It is clear the school system not pushing through the needed talent.

A few years back Boxhill named a bunch of youth coaches and I thought he was going to do the right thing. Let the kids guh a school guh learn, then after school they meet at strategic points where they would get proper coaching (when that is available) to control, pass, move in to spaces etc. Yes, it would have been nicer to start teaching from 5-6 -7 years but ...

When I look back at a player like Byron Earle that was a start in Manning Cup and couldn't deliver on the int'l stage I realized that we needed a different approach.

A few years back Boxhill named a bunch of youth coaches and I thought he was going to do the right thing. Let the kids guh a school guh learn, then after school they meet at strategic points where they would get proper coaching (when that is available) to control, pass, move in to spaces etc. Yes, it would have been nicer to start teaching from 5-6 -7 years but ...
                  What does Boxhill's failure to deliver on his sweet speeches have to do with making the 'football courses' in the schools more efficient?

Massa wi move on fram Boxhill alreadi.
                  It must be planning for the future!

When I look back at a player like Byron Earle that was a start in Manning Cup and couldn't deliver on the int'l stage I realized that we needed a different approach.
                  ...and, that is what I am saying, the approach to using what we already have - vast resources in physical plants, colleges that turn out coaches with more theoretical knowledge on how to teach...and, how to teach and manage football programs, than attending any half-arsed FIFA and or FA's two sessions and or two weeks course - must be changed!

Our college courses deal with the reality of our situation...lack of the sophisticated equipment found in world recognised academies...on how to use our local 'at hand material' and re-organisation possible by supplimenting the base knowledge our coaches have with implementing upgrading courses...both bringing the course to our coaches - visits by outside experts - and, sending our "lecturering coaches"/the teachers of coaches to visit top academies and top professional club to "see and learn what they do and how they do it" and bring that knowledge back into the schools...

...Yes boss, a new way is needed! ...and, I have been preaching about that for a long...looooooooooooooog time!

...just imagine if in your school in Alligator Pond the entire school - girls and boys - was exposed to 'first rate football teaching'? ...would any top talent be found there?

Karl, to be a teacher what are the requirements? Yuh consider that? When I was in high school the D Cup coaches were the PE teacher who wasn't very good at player, a spanish teacher and a business teacher.

Sometimes I feel its a waste of time talking to insane people.

Karl, to be a teacher what are the requirements? Yuh consider that? When I was in high school the D Cup coaches were the PE teacher who wasn't very good at player, a spanish teacher and a business teacher.

Sometimes I feel its a waste of time talking to insane people.
                      There you go...again!

Isn't it we are (in your case were...) saying we should improve on what we had? ...and, I am now saying at that time the teachers were still 'miles' better than what was in te wider society.

Lazie: Things have been consistently improving. There have been advances in the teaching/coaching of track & field and football - (these I have first hand knowledge of) - in the colleges.

You do realise there was a time when at your school down in Alligator Pond the pupils did not even know there was a game called football?

You do know it was one day introduced by teachers...and, the standards of teaching about/on the game has improved?

In my early days at high school (up until 1962), forget about early elementary school where we did not even know of football, the only training/teaching/coaching the Phy. Ed. Dept. gave on the game was 'run sum laps', duh some 'press-ups' and 'leg raises', running on the spot, have balls kicked from the wings and/with one time shooting...then, 'play a game' = chase di ball!

While still at high school there was marked improvement in the teaching of the game. It had evolved into the addition of 'outta mi life' big kicks at the back and chasing the ball down and shooting.

Yes, there were exceptions, there was the STGC sweet short passing game, KC's, JC's use of speed, Vere's mixture of the rugged tackles, big kicks out of the back and sweet silky moves of a "Skill" Cole, Cornwall College's use of superb individual skilled players...but, most high schools were still at the very basic stage.

Bad as our football is at the youth level...the improvement in levels of play as well as the all-island reach of the game has grown...and, the teachers' colleges and teachers generally have had a lot to do with that!

What is wrong with making further improvements?

Look at improvements in Track & Field? The schools are our academies there! Would you like to deny the advances in results gained are phenomenal?

If, in fact, Track and Field has seen phenomenal progress in coaching and performances of the athletes, why can we not transfer 'the method' to football athletes?

1. The Track & Field people are using the physical plants and human resources found in the schools.

2. There has been steady improvement in teaching on that disciple in the colleges?

3. They have added sending some of their teacher/coaches to courses outside of the island and have been bringing international coaches into the island.

It is working! What is wrong with football people doing the same thing. The same physical plants i.e. schools are there for the using! The teachers colleges have improved on te teaching of the football teachers! Why cannot the same be done for football as has been done for and is still being done for Track and Field?

*BTW - You would not know that the colleges have been recruiting University trained lecturers - mainly from Great Britain - to head their Phy. Ed. departments and update teaching methods in among other sports/games football.

I know. for example, that W.F. Green (attended University of Edingburgh, I think) and Horace Lewis (attended the University of Leeds, I think)...others such as Edwin Murray (currently VP at GC Foster), Noel Montieth (current Senator, former lecturer at Mico College, former principal of Maud McLeod), Grover Campbell (formerly of Wolmers, Exed and Mico College, Stanley Green (formerly of Mico and now somewhere at an institution in Florida)...Dorothy Hobson...all studied abroad...

There are many, many more out there...and, some are in the high schools...
                      Last edited by Karl; May 25, 2007, 11:52 AM.

I never attended school in Alligator Pond. Secondly, mi see yuh a talk bout Track and Field. Know what ... ask Scaly fi define insanity fi yuh.

Sorry - Thought you were from that area...but, I hope you did not fail to see it applies to any school in any area of Jamaica!

Track and Field? What are you talking about?

The reference to Track and Field is only there to show what can be the result of investing in football in a similar manner!

You do know that the persons I mentioned were trained in multiple sports disciplines - football being one?!

Bwoy, Lazie yuh...
                          Last edited by Karl; May 25, 2007, 04:49 PM.

This is a BIG DEAL!

I wonder what alternate deal is in the works or was signed?

It is just plain simple, Radcliffe should just stick to being Glenmuir's principal and let others with the capability and expertise take over his role at ISSA. The man is just downright "chupid" and doing a very poor job... why he has been in this position so long? We constantly reward mediocrity. My 8 y.o. is more articulate than the man....aah bwoy!