USAF...you have a nerve.....

• USAF...you have a nerve.....

..to show your face after Altidore the "Goal God" drop a brace the other day....

I hope that he finishes leading goal scorer at the World Cup, BUT that doesn't change my opinion, thus far, of him. He's limited as a world class striker. You have to put in a system that "nurses" him. If you want me to rate a player a world/top class he has to be able to perform not only within a system that caters to him, but also in a wide open format, where he can consistently create for himself & others & most importantly lead.
    If I don't rate Ronaldinho as one of the GREATEST (great on an all-star club team & when he wasn't the focus or leader for Brazil) then Altidore has a lot of work to do.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
      I hope that he finishes leading goal scorer at the World Cup, BUT that doesn't change my opinion, thus far, of him. He's limited as a world class striker. You have to put in a system that "nurses" him. If you want me to rate a player a world/top class he has to be able to perform not only within a system that caters to him, but also in a wide open format, where he can consistently create for himself & others & most importantly lead.
      If I don't rate Ronaldinho as one of the GREATEST (great on an all-star club team & when he wasn't the focus or leader for Brazil) then Altidore has a lot of work to do.
      Lol...I'm just harassing you USAF...truth is Altidore is at his best when he is combining with teammates...he's not the type to create a goal on his own...frankly there's nothing wrong with that....if you have a team that's going to look to solve pressure he'll do well....if he has to go long stretches without meaningful touches he'll struggle....it's just not his game.....let's go easy on the whole world class thing...no one was entertaining that thought. As for Ronaldinho...yeah I was suckered by his 04-05 season with Barca. I literally thought I was watching the greatest player ever. By the time 05-06 hit teams had figured him out and his lack of discipline caught up to him. Even then it's hard not to root for him whenever he plays. He's too much fun. Wish he had come to MLS for a farewell tour but I know he was making one last run for this WC so going back to Brazil was the best move. So how many goals will Altidore score this WC?

That's the million dollar question. Depends on SERVICE & him being patient & disciplined (staying up top, exploiting the gaps, getting in scoring position quickly & often and making the defense work).

I hope the USA and Ghana go through to the next round:

Yes, I said it.

It aint gonna happen. We would see hell freezing over first before that happens.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Not likely, but when it comes to sports & soccer/football the impossible can become reality. If that happened, it would be BIG & possibly the biggest shocker in World Cup, especially for the "experts".

Recall Portugal was beaten by the US in 2002 WC . I saw that game.

Recall the US was cheated against germany in the Group of 8 (could be the following WC) i have to check the records.

King Jawge mentioned that his crystal ball foresee some upset.

BTW: check your mail shortly.

I think you got the picture USAF!

Hope all is well with you (and you have lots of beer in your fridge for the next month)

Have the opportunity to go to the WC & even attend the games I want + the finals, BUT business has its foot on my neck. Thought moving from employee to employer would give me more freedom. Planning to retire by 2018.

HL the upset was the US going through. That group isn't really a group of death as Germany will Lead the group. The fight is for second place (and the US knows this) I know where the US will pick up three points. not saying anything more

Yes, I said it.
                        Can ghana face uruguay again? I would not watch that game if it happened, true something mus' come out to blame suarez if ghana lose...even if suarez was back in liverpool watching the game pon tv.

...was it last WC where Argentina was kicked out at the group stage?

King Jawge "on any given day"...and Brazil, Spain, germany are not immune (and you know that).

We can only speculate on paper.

What happen on the field is entirely different.

Can't wait for Thursday!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can bet you money that Germany will win that group.The Germans have a system they are too precise, they won't make careless mistakes. The rest of teams are liable to slip up here and there.

On Brasil not being immune: Brasil is not immune because Brasil makes Brasil not immune trust me on that. Yu nuh see USAF ah give yuh Brazil history. Even with average players (by Brasil's standard) and a lone star Brazil cannot be taken lightly.

I think the US won against Poland back then too.

I should not say the US cannot win, as anything can happen. That is why games are played as no team is guaranteed victory unless it is earned on the field.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran