JAWGE!!! I have a question about Brazil.

• JAWGE!!! I have a question about Brazil.

Brazil is one of the 3 teams I support, & since you're an ardent support I'm hoping you can answer this question.
    Brazilians have represented some of the Top soccer/ football nations, like Germany, Spain, Portugal, Italy & Belgium, as well as other countries in Europe, Asia, Africa, Middle East, North America, Caribbean, Central America & South America. In this World Cup there are Brazilians representing Spain, Croatia & Portugal..............Do you know of any player ever representing Brazil, at any level, that wasn't born there???

I will have to be honest nope, sorry.

Don't be sorry!!!
      It's interesting that of the 8 countries that have won the World Cup, Brazil, Argentina & Uruguay (South America) are the only ones that I can't find any record of ever using players that weren't born there. That's remarkable, especially considering the amount of traveling & relocating we do.
      Also, looking at the caliber of countries (includes 3 World Cup winners) that have "used" Brazilian footballers says a lot about Brazil's expertise at teaching the game & developing players, coaches, trainers etc.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
        Don't be sorry!!!
        It's interesting that of the 8 countries that have won the World Cup, Brazil, Argentina & Uruguay (South America) are the only ones that I can't find any record of ever using players that weren't born there. That's remarkable, especially considering the amount of traveling & relocating we do.
        Also, looking at the caliber of countries (includes 3 World Cup winners) that have "used" Brazilian footballers says a lot about Brazil's expertise at teaching the game & developing players, coaches, trainers etc.
        Which world cup winning countries other than spain has used Brazilian ballers?

Germany & Italy have had Brazilians represent them.

Do you know who they were and what level?

GERMANY - Cacau (World Cup); Paulo Rink (Confed. Cup & European Champs.)
              ITALY - Dino da Costa (friendly); Anfilogino Guarisi (World Cup); Jose Altafini (World Cup); Angelo Sormani (World Cup)

Don't be sorry!!!
                ...there is also the matter of the tremendous post World War 11 influx of foreigners - (escape from Europe and...?) - ...you would think the love of the game would translate into some of the kids having developed the requisite skills to have challenged for a place on national teams

mmmm?
                Interesting question, boss!
                One I shall look into such as I can.

GERMANY - Cacau (World Cup); Paulo Rink (Confed. Cup & European Champs.)
                  ITALY - Dino da Costa (friendly); Anfilogino Guarisi (World Cup); Jose Altafini (World Cup); Angelo Sormani (World Cup)
                  Wicked! Thanks. Good likkle piece of trivia, too bad di gyal dem nuh care enuf about ball.

'Nice' work!!!

Guarisi (Filo) was the first Brazilian to win a World Cup ('34 with Italy).
                      Altafini was a member of Brazil's '58 winning team, but played for Italy '62 because back then Brazil didn't call players who weren't playing in Brazil.

You're welcome.

Bless up boss. Another interesting point is that Brazil was on the verge of a three peat but in 98 France beat Brazil three goals to nil. This is very unusual
                          (granted everyone wants to beat Brazil in a final and hoist the trophy) as most teams only edge out Brazil by one goal (whether it's 1-0, 2-1, 3-2,4-3) but to beat a talent loaded Brazilian team by three goals to nil is practically unheard of. Hey considering Brasil is out there for 90 mins. Well France did it in 98 (a mystery). Most teams when they tie with Brasil,they count it as a win ( I can speak for Ja Most coaches keep their jobs when losing to Brasil by one or two goals. The coach just say "ah well you know that was Brasil, what do you expect"

The 3 - 2 loss in '82 hurt me more than that finals loss.

Oh my why did you have to go there. Yes, yes. I have all the games except the one against Italy. To me it just doesn't exist.