WCup 2014 - PREDICTIONS (...thinking JA) - Intro & Group A

Great job Karl, I could argue a few but overall very sound, very pragmatic. I don't think Ivory Coast is going to do as well as I at first thought. Defense is average at best, attack is amazing and talented and deep, but defense and discipline is what wins in these tournaments and the little I have seen of the Elephants looked pretty sloppy and without form.

My personal choices are pretty emotional and definitely from the heart, so Netherlands because this is the team I have followed since 1978, life their approach to ball and the recent evolution to 'real' grind ball.
    Next is Ghana, then Brazil and England because of the yard connection and if they play the right team and formation they can do well.

I still do not get it. What am I expected to do? If folks want to use the ESPN application, they have been provided the info right here to do so.
      I take it you are giving you approval to pin Hortical's post with the ESPN chart/application in the forum? Should it be left where it is (that would work) or transferred to become an individual post starting a new thread?

I have no problem with it. Why not create a post by itself with the relevant info and pin it so it is more visible. Could you please take on that? I am running out here in a minute.

Thanks
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have no problem with it. Why not create a post by itself with the relevant info and pin it so it is more visible. Could you please take on that? I am running out here in a minute.

Thanks
          Done!

world-cup-2014-standings-real-time-group-tables-results...

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2...-and-key-facts

Uruguay gonna win.

Maginficent win by the Mexicans...and absolutely dominating

performance. The TEAM has performed as 'light to darkness' previously shown...however, I still do not see the TEAM advancing from this group.

Mexico's next match shall determine her fate...as it is continued improvement in quality play v Brazil's 'must put behind' lousy first game and move towards 'sparkling' quality Brazil.

Intriguing game on the horizon - Previously Brazil surprised with lousy play while Mexico surprised with good quality play.

So what shall we see?
                My thinking is, Brazil having got the first game and the butterflies out of the way shall present improved performance.

Mexico shall enter with improved energy...but not enough quality to cause Brazil to stumble.

We shall see, what we shall see.

Aside: Proud a Mexico!
                Good representation of CONCACAF!!! Allayed somewhat fears of 'CONCACAF looking bad'. USA, Costa Rica and Honduras to come. Can they also present good image?
                Last edited by Karl; June 15, 2014, 02:43 PM.

The Dutch destroyed Spain after the Spanish players wilted.

Spain's ticki-tacka' created excellent chances but for the 'pulling of the trigger'. Main culprit was Chelsea's new man, Diego Costa. His touch was off and his shooting instincts asleep.

The Dutch played sensible passing and moving game...in the first half a tad sloppy. None more evident that RVP's off-sides. However the manner in which the top 3 - Robben, Sneijder and RVP left space between each other ripped 'some experts' mantra that players need to be close (5 - 10 meters apart). The Spanish defenders presented tight ranks...while The Dutch chose 'good' spacing which enabled running off the defenders onto splitting diagonal passes from both mid-pitch and from the wings. The supply was whenever The Dutch were on the ball 'no frills' simple triangular passes that resulted with player in on goal. Excellent football! Excellent TEAM football.

When the Spanish players gave up the ghost The Dutch over-ran them. Great demonstration of same - RVP's quickness in robbing the 'keeper of the ball and stabbing it home before Robben's simply outpacing the Spanish defenders and scoring 2!

Spain to advance...but does this performance 'scream to the World' that the players are simply not up to the task of keeping energy levels up in these humid conditions?

Great win by Holland. ...but it is merely 1 win and in the preliminary round from which she was expected to advance. I would not start turning cartwheels about a World Cup win just yet. Let us see what questions the other TEAMs in their group ask and how they answer!!! Now odds-on favorites to win the group with perfect win record.

Ivory Coast - Japan

Exciting game!

It would be easy to overlook Japan's excellent passing game...but it was wonderful.

It would also be easy to overlook that on balance Japan was outplayed by a strong TEAM Ivory Coast.

France - Honduras?

Cannot judge France's quality based on Honduras dwelling on the ball FOR AGES...and handing to the French players. What we are seeing is Hondurans slow to the ball...slow running to cover...slow to see what is happening around them. ...just a lousy, lousy display by Honduras.

World Cup: Most social sporting event ever, experts say

By Gregory Wallace @gregorywallace June 15, 2014: 12:43 PM ET

NEW YORK (CNNMoney)

The Olympics are big. But they don't stack up to the World Cup, at least in terms of social buzz.

The 2014 World Cup will be the most social sporting event ever, according to projections from the Adobe (ADBE) Digital Index, a study of online marketing.

The month-long soccer championship is already is outpacing the Sochi Olympics and 2014 Super Bowl. The most famous athletes, such as Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo, are getting millions of mentions each.

In the year leading up to the first matches in Brazil last week, the World Cup was mentioned 19 million times across the blogs and social outlets Adobe tracks, which include Facebook, (FB, Tech30) Google (GOOG)+, Reddit, Twitter (TWTR, Tech30), Instagram and YouTube.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/06/15/medi...html?iid=HP_LN

So the best TEAM in the World scores 4 against Portugal?

Portugal put in a very good shift. ...but for a bounce here or there it could have been a different story.

Expect Portugal to rebound.

Brazil v Mexico

Mexico put in a damn good shift!
                            Proud a dem!

Di commentator dem rite, Ochoa MOM!!! Respek!!!

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches....html#nosticky

Good show in both matches, Australia!!!
                              Good sensible football.

Aside: Honduras has played the worse *'football' so far.

*What they put on show was not football! ...rather it was as if the TEAM Honduras had just been introduced to the game and is yet to come to an understanding of it.

Portugal has played the worse "football" so far.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015