England's penchant for folly selections!!

Do you even think that Terry can be a distraction in the dressing room? know his pass with teammate girlfriend and his choice words and behavior? Do you think that may be one reason why Hodgson had no interest in recalling him?

Converting John Terry into a DM is the dumbest talk you have ever posted in all your entire posts. IF, and that's a big IF, John Terry was available, there is no other position for him to play other than CB. JT is probably the slowest CB playing top level football in the world. However, he more than compensate for his slowness with intelligent positional play and timely tackles.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Stoni is a real comedy act to rahtid, when picking a squad it is all about balance and this England squad is beautifully balanced with youth and experience. John Terry is retired so how was he going to get picked. Lambert deserves his place through his performances in the league. Lampard is the only dubious selection, Carrick should've been in. Barkley is a brave and justified selection.
        One question, Dunny.
        Can Roy Hudson get Barkley to play with his TEAMmates...pass the damn ball when better suited options are all over the damn pitch? So far this guy plays in a manner that suggests he thinks his job is to destroy his TEAMs play!!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          It in there man
          Johnson, Cahill, jags, baines

Wilshire for lack of a real dm, Gerard

Sterling, Rooney, lallana

Sturridge
          Okay thanks, and what do you think would have been a better line up?

Hahah, that is the difference between us, innovation takes breaking convention, it is easy to call names and much harder to bring the heat through reasoning and good argument. I will take your abuse Sir if it makes you feel better about things.

You said some of it right, he is slow but as you said he is also intelligent with timely tackles, he has the knowledge to make a difference, right now England has no one to play that role at all on that team. I would take jt over pretty much anyone else on the team, I believe shaw could play that position as well, but all else including wilshire and Gerard are just not good enough defensive players for the task at hand.

So you want to play JT and Gerrard in the middle? The Reggaeboyz would be in good company then.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am thinking they can win the group too, but you err seriously on some of your points. Henderson and Gerard play a lot for their club but liverpool also has the highest number of goals scored against them in the top five by far, even crystal palace at number 11 has less goals scored against them.

Look specifically at weak points and you will see them very clearly, Johnson has fifty caps but his strength comes in attack he is a adequate defender, England needs superior defenders in the World Cup, what most people can't seem to understand is that this is the World Cup not some friendly game, so weaknesses will be amplified.

Welbeck is an ok player, nothing special a tap in loose ball artist, same with lambert, great results thus season no doubt but a starting eleven place, a place on the England squad now?!

Ross Barkley is another example of 'imaginations gone wild' thirty five games and not one assist, where is the beef on this youth, so he is a great dribbler but what has he done, he can't get out of his own way.
                Squad is not bad, it is starting eleven that scares me and seeing welbeck, Henderson, lampard and lambert starting is what I see as the issue and this idea that Hodgson wants to play Jogo bonito. First round is nothing but grinding and look for the other team to blink first, 4-5-1 with a good dm backing Gerard and Rooney playing attacking mid with Sterling, all lane on either side and Sturridge up front is just what is necessary now.

I am thinking they can win the group too, but you err seriously on some of your points. Henderson and Gerard play a lot for their club but liverpool also has the highest number of goals scored against them in the top five by far, even crystal palace at number 11 has less goals scored against them.

Look specifically at weak points and you will see them very clearly, Johnson has fifty caps but his strength comes in attack he is a adequate defender, England needs superior defenders in the World Cup, what most people can't seem to understand is that this is the World Cup not some friendly game, so weaknesses will be amplified.

Welbeck is an ok player, nothing special a tap in loose ball artist, same with lambert, great results thus season no doubt but a starting eleven place, a place on the England squad now?!

Ross Barkley is another example of 'imaginations gone wild' thirty five games and not one assist, where is the beef on this youth, so he is a great dribbler but what has he done, he can't get out of his own way.
                  Pan pint, boss!

...but?
                  Squad is not bad, it is starting eleven that scares me and seeing welbeck, Henderson, lampard and lambert starting is what I see as the issue and this idea that Hodgson wants to play Jogo bonito.

...then same flow of thought...mind you even same paragraph...

First round is nothing but grinding and look for the other team to blink first, 4-5-1 with a good dm backing Gerard and Rooney playing attacking mid with Sterling, all lane on either side and Sturridge up front is just what is necessary now.

Now what do you really mean here i.e. in this last paragraph?
                  Just asking as I am puzzled...

Squad is not bad, it is starting eleven that scares me and seeing welbeck, Henderson, lampard and lambert starting is what I see as the issue and this idea that Hodgson wants to play Jogo bonito. First round is nothing but grinding and look for the other team to blink first, 4-5-1 with a good dm backing Gerard and Rooney playing attacking mid with Sterling, all lane on either side and Sturridge up front is just what is necessary now.
                    The title of the thread boss, England penchant for folly selections. As if there are better alternatives left at home. Name me a better alternative to Johnson at right back, name me 2 better centre half than Cahill and Jagielka. Welbeck is a vital player for England on the left because of his work rate and goal threat 8 goals in 24 games from the left his not something to be frowned upon, I have seen him put in excellent performances against teams like Bayern Munich and Real Madrid in the CL. Lambert, Lampard and Barkley are all back up players so I don't know why you assume they are starters. For your information England starting team if all fit is Hart, Johnson, Cahill, Jagielka, Baines, Henderson, Gerrard, Lallana, Rooney,Welbeck and Sturridge. Sterling will play if Welbeck doesn't make it

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                      Stoni is a real comedy act to rahtid, when picking a squad it is all about balance and this England squad is beautifully balanced with youth and experience. John Terry is retired so how was he going to get picked. Lambert deserves his place through his performances in the league. Lampard is the only dubious selection, Carrick should've been in. Barkley is a brave and justified selection.
                      "Lampard is the only dubious selection, Carrick should've been in"

Wow, I thought I was the only one seeing that.

One question, Dunny.
                        Can Roy Hudson get Barkley to play with his TEAMmates...pass the damn ball when better suited options are all over the damn pitch? So far this guy plays in a manner that suggests he thinks his job is to destroy his TEAMs play!!!!
                        Barkley is a young player, he will learn. He is a player I like a lot because he picks it up and run at defences. England been crying out for a player like this for a long time. These type of players give defenders sleepless nights. Once his decision making improves he will be a world beater. Cristiano Ronaldo was exactly the same as a young player and look at him now. To be one of the best you have to beleive in your ability and Barkley have belief in abundance. Roy Hodgson and Martinez will make sure that he uses the ball better

So you want to play JT and Gerrard in the middle? The Reggaeboyz would be in good company then.
                          Wait, is Stonigut this or him ganja smoking bredda - Stonihead? LOL!!! Stoni, come on man! I am the LAST man fi support Jangle, but mi tink him ketch u! LOL!

The way how Stoni love defend him only play fi 0-0, park the bus boys don't worry about scoring!!

So the last paragraph is the answer, how to field the best eleven with stronger defense and the fastest most skillful and interchangeable attackers.

Thus 4-5-1 must be played due to weakness at rb and need for greater strength in the middle, a good dm, excellent tackler, interceptor, good passer out of the back, can initiate the counterattack upon winning the ball with lallana or ox or Sterling running the flanks. Problem is england don't have anyone like that so jack wilshire will have to do, probably just want him to stay home and behind Gerard and ahead of front four no hero biz just fundamental ball, that is what England needs from that position in the 4-5-1 no box to box biz.

4-5-1 with extra dm addresses core d weaknesses somewhat.

In attack we want to maximize speed, skill, creating something from nothing, being able to hold the ball and also create for others, lallana, Rooney and Sterling all fit that bill, Rooney lines up at attacking mid, giving him the reins on the attack and less worrying about being the goal scorer and let Sturridge do his thing up front. That is the side lockdown and grind time defense with fast counter attack through those players. Attempts to put welbeck, lambert, lampard, Henderson is just more of the same run and chase ballers we have seen these last fourth years. I hope Barkley does not make the field at all, he can't even create for his club, not one assist as a midfielder in thirty five games.

I hope that answers your question.

The folly actually really comes into play on who makes it on the field and I am going to close my eyes and walk away if any combination of Barkley, lampard, lambert, wellbeck or Henderson makes it on the field.

Those are ok players but no value add at all just more of what we have seen in the past.