8-0 is an absolutely unacceptable performance!!

Anybody thought that our ballers were just too tired, not fresh, with heavy legs? Why? Three games and intercontinental travel in 14 days can do that to you.

Mariappa was right. Playing France in France after 2 weeks of travel from New York for Serbia, to Lucerne, Switzerland for Switzerland, to London for Egypt is exhausting and to Lille for France is not the right environment and condition to expect excellence from professional athletes.

I saw a whole lot more positives than negatives coming out of this four-match tour for our national team. I hope the next time we play France it will not be after an exhausting world tour and with at least 5 days of training in one location.

Under the circumstances, Well done Jamaica!

Look at El Salvador, they were not even in the hex, put in a decent showing against Spain.)
      Spain played down to EL Salvador's level. ...based on the languid way the Spanish players moved around and a mind's eye review of this Spanish TEAM's high standard...I would say Spain is 10 or so goals better than that El Salvador TEAM.

At the level we are at Football development needs more manpower and community support more than money in Jamaica. Again Time is the essence. Do we foster a learning environment and a sporting environment for our kids??

I agree I am young to this parenting thing but we need to answer that question first before we talk about money.

Spain played down to EL Salvador's level. ...based on the languid way the Spanish players moved around and a mind's eye review of this Spanish TEAM's high standard...I would say Spain is 10 or so goals better than that El Salvador TEAM.
          Karl, while I agree they may be far better than they played, the the game was still a 0-2 win for Spain, not a 0-10 win. Let's not make up new facts.

That may be but that did not happen, just like Ja game with Serbia based on what some said we should have picked up six there but good keeping and luck saved us. At the end of the day you get lucky sometimes and sometimes there is nowhere to hide like versus France, the perfect storm, France was looking to deliver a good result and play hard, we had. Weak gk and our boyz had zero chemistry and little fight back ability thus we pick up eight in that ambush to which we came unprepared.

Karl, while I agree they may be far better than they played, the the game was still a 0-2 win for Spain, not a 0-10 win. Let's not make up new facts.
              So you think I made up facts when I said immediately following our matches
              against the 3 teams faced earlier that each was at least 5 goals better than our Reggae Boyz...and that only because the score-lines were as they were?

That would be 'strange' reasoning...just as 'strange' as this 'pretense at suggesting' [ hah! - ] that I had said the score against El Salvador was not 0 - 2 but rather 0 - 10!

btw - This is what I said - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...550#post481550 - That is certainly not what you are suggesting that I said!!!

Shall I express what I said another way? OK: - The score-line of 0 - 2 does not accurately reflect the gap in quality play between the currently higher ranked French TEAM and the current El Salvador team. My opinion is the gap would be more accurately reflected if expressed as/by mentioning a score-line gap of 0 - 10!
              Last edited by Karl; June 11, 2014, 02:05 PM.

A battling midfield with speed and guile on the flanks of that midfield, think Phillips and Powell, a experienced, tough and fast defense.

Again would love to see the 3-5-2 which would have Austin and Watson at dm, Phillips and Powell on flanks, start with rum rum in the middle and deshorn and Dawkins at top, with Dawkins sitting back a little. Morgan in the middle of the defense with taxi man on left and nosworthy on right.

All those players have shown strong heart and an ability to improve and thrive through tough circumstances.

suh why yuh bring this back up like a harbinger?!! and on the day wi supposed to make in our debut in this version of the caribbean cup? ah bwoy!

This is a specious argument we've heard since 1998 to excuse the failure to address what football SHOULD be about i.e. development. It is stunning but instructive that you parrot this bankrupt argument so openly.

It is not the government's job to drive football player development... nor is it particularly expensive in the scheme of things. Many here, including I, have advanced affordable development plans.

This rubbish about World Cup qualification sparking development was disproved post 1998 and should be put to bed. After the 1998 WCQ hysteria died down what happened in development?? Precious little. What drives development is vision, planning & execution... not WCQ

Stoni you should really be ashamed to post such drivel. Are you feeling well?
                    Stoni... given your comprehensive transformation into a development advocate on your very rocky Road to Damascus... I do hereby formally rescind my criticisms

Thanks for your forbearance

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it"

George Santayana.

We suffer from this malaise thus we get 9-0 from Cr, 6-0 from England and 8-0 from France all inside of 15 years.

All this time and we have not even built a style of ball which emphasizes defense, speed and counterattack which based on what we have is almost natural fit. Thus in our wandering across the desert chasing the ball we are going in circles crossing the same spot over and over with no guide or compass as to where we are actually going.

One big step forward, playing to plan, commitment to team, showing a non calypso mentality, more like a 'get up stand up' performance.

This type of committed to team display needs to be the very base of the Jamaican style of ball, pressing and counter at every level of ball from primary to rspl, while we work on that, the next is learning to pass, quick progressive combination passes and running without the ball and finally attacking and finishing, which is truly about finding assassin style cold hearted players that are fast, determined and skilled.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                          Such a massive loss means that the team was in total disarray, no clear plan, execution was poor and adjustments non existent.

This French side as I said before was going to attack Jamaica that was clear, they beat Norway by 4 and struggled in drawing with Paraguay and were obviously looking to end on a high and the quality of the players on the squad is clearly very good.

To get 3-0 in the first half is one thing unacceptable but to get five in the second means we got much worse, we took a giant step backwards after two small steps back and one sideways shuffle against Egypt.

When are we ever going to learn that you cannot attack a superior opponent and not expose yourself badly when they get the ball. At least two of the goals that I saw were really poor and inadequate keeping, but at the end of the day everyone needs to eat john crow xxxx on this one, players, coach, management, losing is one thing, losing this big is a massive embarrassment and shows a total lack of pride, lack of resolve and plain calypso type mentality which is the exact opposite of what we should be aiming for. The bleacher website headlines called Jamaica minnows, I was not happy at that, but after this match we are even tinier than that we are minnow eggs, probably even smaller.

I said this in the England game many years ago, let's not play these traditional top ten teams unless we are ready to leave it all on the field, we did not see any of that today. Switzerland though top ten is not a real top ten team just go through the lineup and you will see that, look at this French team and you realize that it is filled with excellent players, we brought our f game today and they brought their b+ game.

So where do we go from here, we must build the foundation on defense a defensive formation with speed and skill on the counterattack, we cannot get anywhere thinking we can play this open, fluid, attacking game as I hear many talking about over and over, we must field our best team and a well worked team in encounters against the really big teams like this French team.

Let's see what the Carib cup holds, can we actually field a team that can play to instruction, can we get coaching and management and team leadership on the same page unlike the last Carib cup which bawled out poor communication and leadership with every game. Let's see, the thing we are weakest at we must aim to be strongest at organization and execution to plan, enough with this calypso style execution, this was worse than a windies cricket performance.
                          So Stoni, after all that are you happy with the progress? What needs improving if anything?

scoring is the obvious answer...

Set piece delivery, we have a lot of height but keep wasting free kicks and corners

Great step forward, most don't even realize how significant this is, those were not practice matches, those were real hardcore games with real results. We should have had at least two results from those games.

The constant pressing needs to be the blueprint for every jamaican team going forward from primary to rspl. The pressing game led to multiple interceptions which we could not take advantage of.

It also made our weaknesses more transparent, we have always known our passing against superior teams was close to nonexistent, which we always tried to address with long ball which really is a total waste of time.

So passing, passing on the counter , passing quickly to create mayhem in the defense, especially on the counter are all areas for massive improvement. Funny thing though our football culture is not really a strong passing culture and we neither measure passing or the ultimate stat in passing which is the assist so lots of room to get better, finally massive possibilities in improving our finishing, finding better finishers and developing techniques to improve the finishing process.