Ghana Witch Doctor claims responsibility for Cristiano...

• Ghana Witch Doctor claims responsibility for Cristiano...

Ghana Witch Doctor claims responsibility for Cristiano Ronaldo’s injury

http://www.og.nr/rbt/25188-ghana-wit...9s-injury.html

Very entertaining indeed!!

I guess he can make Ghana win the who enchilada then....

Let's hope Ronaldos' injury is not a hoax...

It seems as if Kwaku is a popular Ghanian name. I met a Ghanian named Kwaku back in my days in college. I had to contain myself not to buss out laughing. The only time I heard that name is when I was growing up in the country and old people would say "iff yuh caann ketch Kwaku, yuh ketch 'im shut!".

I never thought I would have heard anyone actually having that name. I guess, the reference to that name goes back in our African history.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

indeed it does.....our ancestors were not the idiots we have been made to believe that they were.

our ancestors were not the idiots we have been made to believe that they were.
          You are right about that.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Some more info on names like Kwako.

Kwaku is of African Akan origin meaning "born on Wednesday". Kofi is also used for a child born on Wednesday.
            The Akan first-names are usually derived from the day an Akan child was born.
            We may be familiar with Kojo, which is given when the Akan child is born on Monday.

Yeah I had a friend from Ghana and That is how they name their children.

You will find some of these African names we are use to but we don't use the meaning they use as we associate it with things in our history. My friend was aware of some the African names we use in Jamaica and stuff like "Duckcunu" which the African name for Blue draws and "Fifi" a food that some people still eat in Jamaica that is directly linked to Africa. In Jamaica we associate Codjoe with been short.

"Dukunu" and "Blue draws" were used interchangeably in my country upbringings. Fifi sounds familiar, but cannot place it at the moment.

i remmeber a "fifi" as a little horn or whistle ... something of that nature.

Since you all are talking about names...it reminded me of a joke I once heard:

A six year old young Indian boy from a proud plains tribe woke up one day, and asked his mother,

"Mama, why did you give me my name? I don't like it...why didn't you give me a nicer name?"

The mother responded warmly, with the love and kindness mother's have, and said gently as she held her son in her arms...

"You should be proud of your name my son, but I did not name you, it was the medicine man, he names all the children in the tribe, why don't you go ask him?"

So the boy set out to find the medicine man who he found sitting crossed-legged beneath a big oak tree, smoking his peace pipe and meditating on the great majesty of nature all around him. Mustering up the courage needed to impose himself on this powerful figure, the little boy feebly asked

"Mr. Medicine Man..."

"Yes my son" responded the medicine man gruffly

"I have a question..."

"Ask..." grunted the old man

"Why did you give me my name?"

The medicine man took a long draw from his pipe, smiled...and with conviction and authority, set about educating the young lad

"I name you, same way I name all children in tribe..." rasped the weathered old man

"I sit beneath wise tree and look to nature for name,

"I close eyes and what I see when eyes open is name I give baby...

"When I name your brother Flying Eagle, it is because I see proud eagle soaring in bright blue sky above...

"When I name your father "Running Buffalo", it is because I see big Buffalo galloping across plains...

"When I name your sister "Falling Leaf" it is because leaf fall from big oak tree...

"But why you ask such strange question, Two Dogs Fu*king?"

Last edited by Paul Marin; June 7, 2014, 08:03 AM.

Sorry a Fufu.

"The African slaves after emancipation were joined by Indian and Chinese indentured laborers who also brought their culinary traditions as well and these heavily influenced the Jamaican cuisine. But we must focus on the African culinary preferences which have laid the most influence on the nation’s cuisine. Jamaican recipes such as duckunoo and Fufu are both of African origin coupled with ackee and salt fish, mackerel and bananas known as rundown are also of African origin."

Can't remember having it as an adult but I know my grandmother talked about it and others from St.Mary.

Jamaican recipes such as duckunoo and Fufu
                        I guess the uptown way to say it is "Duckunoo". I never heard it pronounced like that when I was growing up, it was more like "Dukunoo". I have heard of Fufu, but cannot recall just what it is.