Do you think it is important for an up-and-coming team like Jamaica/ The ReggaeBoyz to pay attention to the players' images? if so why?
HL, here's a marketing/image question for you
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
yes they should but to what expense I don't know but basic education can help.
What extent are you talking about?? One could also say the brunt of that goes to Dunny and Mosiah etc. as agents.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
By players' image(s) ,i take it you mean both appearance and conduct?
Why?
It's all about Brand marketing. Brand ReggaeBoyZ sells EVERYTHING Jamaica.
Hope I understood the question.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
you nailed it sir. That's why I directed the question to you. Ok, so I looked at the link that Dunny posted below that is advertising the upcoming matches and the first thing that struck me was the players who they have representing us. They were mainly UK based players which I understand is necessary to sell the matches to the UK and European public. When you compare the UK based players images (and I am not talking about them being brownings), they are clean shaven and their hair trimmed compared to our local based players who all look disheveled and ungroom. We are striving to improve our international standing in football and there are many little things that are overlooked by us (as a people) and not seen as important. I said here some years ago that Tappa, when he was the national coach, needed to wear a suit while he's on the touchline and I was almost chased off the forum. I saw our white Jesus, German coach wearing a full suit yesterday in 84 degrees temperature. Here's another example, when you watch the EPL or any European league, most of the players are generally well groom regardless of their choice of hairstyles. Player's image is important in this business of football. Our players should be made to clean up (whether it means getting a haircut, platting over their canerows, and shaving their facial hair)themselves before they report to camp.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Is tbe irony missing to you that the walking tattoo billboards and the beyond mohawk hairstyles are players marketing themselves.Fellaini looks more towering with his hair uncut,David Beckham the marketing genius....
Besides,the captain of one of the most famous Brazil world cup team(albeit that team failed..)was himself and aberration if sorts on a team with smooth face Zico et all.He more than any of his teammates was tge quintessential profressional on or off the pitch.
Our locals struggle with being seen as equal to their foreign counterparts,that my friend,is no fault of theirs.
I generally agree with you but you have to leave a little room for players to express themselves. That can also add a little marketing value. It seems like we have no concept of marketing. Will touch a little bit on it later- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Maybe you should really consider stop including in your post those below the belly jabs,it purports your position as correct,that runs afoul of the purpose of discussing issues.I am sure by virtue of being chief offender,you know our locals are often unfairly criticised.
Football is (indeed)a business HL but what does heavily tattooed players and outright insane hair cuts say about your basic principle of business.
What did the locals do that is unforgiving?
Originally posted by Jangle View Postdisheveled and ungroom."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran