• Ballotelli to Arsenal or Liverpool

Ballotelli

Good player. I will even say a great player. The problem with him is that he does not travel light. He brings so much baggage with him.

I guess Liverpool is making a move to have a replacement for Suarez. Apart from Ballo being a handful for EPL defenders, he would be a headache for Rodgers as well.

What are your thoughts X, PR, PM and other Pool faithful?
    I know for Arsenal, Karl will say "Bring 'im com'!"
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well... I like Balotelli as a forward, but regardless, Suarez would always be difficult if not impossible to replace. LFC's main problems this year was defensive rather than offensive, but losing Suarez would be a big "attacking" blow. A proven goal-scorer would have to brought in and Balotelli might fit the goal scoring bill.

With respect to baggage, I think Balo is a harder nut to crack than Suarez. You could see Suarez over the months improving with regards to whatever baggage he was carrying. Of course, as an armchair critic you never know. Balotelli almost got into it with his manager Mancini at City ... I don't see Suarez doing that, so, if he does come in he will be a Tiger that will test BR's taming powers.

...and God help us too!
    Last edited by Peter R; May 25, 2014, 10:11 AM.

I dont see Balotelli as a problem, the only coach he had a problem with was Mancini,his private life is an issue,but this is the age of drama.The youth coach has to know how to deal with these types.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

GUNNERS, mi seh!

Gunners!

Ballotelli

Good player. I will even say a great player. The problem with him is that he does not travel light. He brings so much baggage with him.

I guess Liverpool is making a move to have a replacement for Suarez. Apart from Ballo being a handful for EPL defenders, he would be a headache for Rodgers as well.

What are your thoughts X, PR, PM and other Pool faithful?
          I know for Arsenal, Karl will say "Bring 'im com'!"
          i don't expect suarez to leave, but who knows? football is a mercenaries game. of course I would be sad to see LS7 leave, but, sh8t happens..as for Balotelli, you may recall when we were down 0-1 against Chelsea at Anfield, the best we could do off the bench was Aspas...it may be a move to deepen the squad and nothing more...if so...he would be a great addition.

I dont see Balotelli as a problem, the only coach he had a problem with was Mancini,his private life is an issue,but this is the age of drama.The youth coach has to know how to deal with these types.
            Actually, Mourinho told Ballo when they were at Inter that he had to change as he was uncoachable. so it is not only Mancini who had issues with him. I see where both have said they have nothing against each other and would be willing to work together in the future.

With respect to "The youth coach has to know how to deal with these types". I am assuming that you are saying that he should be able to manage Ballo since he was able to manage Suarez? I think if that is your comparison, you are not comparing apples with apples. I think personality wise, Ballotelli and Suarez present different challanges to a manager to manage.

The best person I think could manage this player is Arsene Wenger. It will be interesting to see what happens and where he ends up.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Brendan Rodgers strikes me as the type of coach who is flexible in how he deals with "problem" players. I don't doubt that Balotelli would pose a different challenge than Suarez, Sterling and any other player, but IMO, I think he'd be more than up to it.
              Last edited by Peter R; May 25, 2014, 10:07 PM.