• Jamaica v Serbia preview

http://www.jamaicafootballfederation...erbia-preview/

Since the JFF cant be bothered to put a squad out mek mi name a few squad members that me know are definitely there.

1. Nicholas Beckett(Harbour View)
    2. John Ross-Edwards(Harbour View)
    3.Kemar Lawrence(Harbour View)
    4.Michael Seaton(DC United)
    5.Andre Blake(Philadeiphia Union)
    6.Romario Campbell(Waterhouse)
    7.Jaco Barrett(Montego Bay)
    8.Deshorn Brown(Colorado Rapids)
    9.Darren Mattocks(Vancouver Whitecaps)
    10.Lloyd Doyley(Watford)
    11.Rudolph Austin(Leeds)
    12.Joel Grant(Yeovil Town)
    13.Chris Humphrey(Preston NE)
    14.Simon Dawkins(Derby County)

Schaefer’s headache
      Boyz coach grapples with finding right blend of players ahead of tour

IAN BURNETT Sport Editor burnetti@jamaicaobserver.com

Saturday, May 24, 2014

MILLER... makes his return after recovering from two successful knee surgeries

NINE local-based players have been selected to join the ranks of the Reggae Boyz in a series of high-quality friendly internationals over the next two weeks.

The squad, which has been chopped and changed repeatedly due to the unavailability of foreign-based players for varying reasons, will also include debutante Simon Dawkins, a 26-year-old striker from Derby County in the English Championships.

The Boyz face European outfit Serbia at the Red Bulls Arena, New Jersey, in the United States at 3:00 pm next Monday. Then they travel to World Cup-bound Switzerland in Lucerne on May 30, before engaging Egypt in London on June 4, then closing out the glamour tour against former World Cup champions France in Lille on June 8.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...-tour_16735185

I am happy to see the return of Joel Grant. We seem to have forgotten about this player since he debuted, and did well, for us in the U-20 World Cup qualifiers several years ago.

I am surprised that he has not moved up the ranks in the English leagues, however. Yeovil Town is not exactly up there. He may be a bit of a show boat with his immense skills.

Have you seen him lately or consistently, Dunny?

I am happy to see the return of Joel Grant. We seem to have forgotten about this player since he debuted, and did well, for us in the U-20 World Cup qualifiers several years ago.

I am surprised that he has not moved up the ranks in the English leagues, however. Yeovil Town is not exactly up there. He may be a bit of a show boat with his immense skills.

Joel has been playing well and is a good player. Yeovil just haven't got the budget to compete with the Championship clubs that is why they got relegated, however Joel had a decent season.

Mo, what is your opinion on Brian Brown, is he not capable of making this squad?

Man, this is tough. I guess we have another Tuffy on our hands?

Of Brown's league leading 17 goals, maybe 60% were headers. Not that I have a problem with that. Klose remains one of my favourite German players. I think one could make a fair argument that he needs to show more with the ball at his feet.

But, just like how I wanted Tuffy to get a fair chance with the Boyz, I think Brown deserves his chance. He is still relatively young and I would like to believe he will get his chance on the national team. The coach probably felt these international matches, against what should be quality opposition, may not be the right time.

Man, this is tough. I guess we have another Tuffy on our hands?

Of Brown's league leading 17 goals, maybe 60% were headers. Not that I have a problem with that. Klose remains one of my favourite German players. I think one could make a fair argument that he needs to show more with the ball at his feet.

But, just like how I wanted Tuffy to get a fair chance with the Boyz, I think Brown deserves his chance. He is still relatively young and I would like to believe he will get his chance on the national team. The coach probably felt these international matches, against what should be quality opposition, may not be the right time.
                Ok thanks, he seem to be one of those players who is like a magnet for the ball in the box, a penalty box goal poacher.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  Ok thanks, he seem to be one of those players who is like a magnet for the ball in the box, a penalty box goal poacher.
                  That he is, and there is nothing wrong with that, because he does not muff those chances. He follows the ball well on crosses and does a decent job getting them on target.

Goal scorers are like gold dust so if he continue banging the goals he can't be ignored and will make a good living from the game.

For those who can't make it to NY, the game will be live on PPV TV. It will cost $35 to watch.
                      I see it listed on U-Verse.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Long time Simon Dawkins a beg a game. From his time in the MLS he said he wanted to play for Jamaica. Hope he make good use of it. Not a bad player.

Brian Brown will get his chance if he continues. I think the current strike core of Mattocks and Deshorn. Seaton hasn't done themselves any harm on the recently concluded Caribbean tour which make it harder for him to force himself in.

This game will be a real test for the boyz, I hope we don't get embarrassed.
                          The squad for this game looks short of experience in the defensive areas.

Weakened Boyz face tricky Serbia in friendly.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...endly_16739089

For me, it's about Schäfer beginning to create a team that can compete with it's quality, much like how Carl Brown built his wonderful team several years ago. If only that team had a deadly striker.

So, while the scoreline is not the most important thing for me, it would be nice driving out of the parking lot with our heads high.