No Donovan = Big Mistake for USA

• No Donovan = Big Mistake for USA

I have to agree with the writer, and Klinsmann picking a 18-year old with one cap, and that was a sub, generates questions.

Klinsmann Leaving Landon Donovan off US World Cup Team Is a Horrible Decision

Jurgen Klinsmann has way too much job security. Clearly Landon Donovan does not.
    That's the only way to explain the unexplainable. Klinsmann announced his 23-man team for the World Cup in Brazil on Thursday, and the story is less about the nearly two dozen players who made it than the one who didn't.
    Donovan was left off the World Cup roster, meaning he will miss out on his fourth World Cup so Klinsmann can reward 18-year-old Julian Green for spurning Germany to play for the U.S. National Team. For Klinsmann's national team.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2...rible-decision

Much like how Jamaica is set up, certain players born elsewhere and playing in the Motherland, get a pass from Berti Vogts, Hertzog and Klinsmann.

I like Donavan.

Hortical, you must remember: a football coach suit-case muss always pack...an' i'm cyar tank full gas.

Captain America can't make the US team.

Klinsmann's son mocking Landon't Donovan's cut on social media says it all.
          Can only imagine some of the phrases a German man like Klinsmann would use to discuss Donovan's soft personality.

In Klinsmann's teams has Donovan played well?

I do not think he has been good. On this site (Yes, Mosiah: On this site) I questioned his loyalty to TEAM USA and the coach and wondered if he was interested or merely going through the motions?

Yet, Klinsmann gave him a good run even after Donovan snubbed him and took a self-imposed 'rest'... and particularly during the Gold Cup where I thought Donovan was widely successful without moving out of 1st gear... .

...but Donovan was not the only player I questioned. I also questioned Dempsey's commitment. It has appeared to me that Dempsey also has been giving only token effort. TEAMs cannot afford any player who gives less than best effort. It is a recipe for disaster.

Having so called 'sure-picks' or any player giving less than maximum effort rubs other players the wrong way. They resent losses when that occurs...as they consider it unfair to be 'killing' selves for the TEAM's cause while others slack. It upsets the coach as it forces a firing of the otherwise 'sure pick' as retaining same works against TEAM cohesion and bonding...and works against achieving aims/goals. Such players prevent TEAMs fulfilling maximum potential...and in many cases totally destroys TEAM.

I expect if Dempsey does not give more in his matches that he shall also find himself sidelined before the World Cup is through for the USA.

It is TEAM performance that is most important. Donovan played the fool by not pulling his full weight. If I had Klinsmann's power he would have been fired before...a good while before. It is TEAM 1st...2nd...3rd...through to infinity.

...but then I have repeatedly made known my stance on TEAM...did I not call for the removal of TH14 from My GUNNERS when he started to form the fool? ...did I not at one stage call for the removal of our Reggae Boyz greatest striker by the numbers...Luton Shelton as he was all about self...holding head down and refusing to share the ball with TEAMmates/taking crazy shots both resulting in the giving away of REGGAEBOYZ 'ball' and ruining TEAM possession and thus opportunities at success? Selfishly running up his goalscoring numbers to the detriment of TEAM success?

Klinsmann had no choice but to fire Donovan. I wondered what caused him to delay this long. I guess some are thinking he should have taken Donovan to the World Cup to embarrass TEAM USA and elicit cries of Klinsmann being the problem?

Klinsmann has selected German born Timothy Chandler, the least committed player in the US pool.

I do not think he has been good.
                Stats in the Jurgen Klinsmann era:

Goals
                14 – Dempsey
                11 – Donovan
                9 – Wondolowski
                8 – Altidore,
                7 – E. Johnson
                4 – Gomez
                3 – Bradley
                2 – Bocanegra, Corona, Diskerud, Goodson, Orozco Fiscal, Shea
                1 – Bedoya, Buddle, Cameron, Clark, Evans, Holden, Jones, Rogers, Zusi

Assists
                10 – Donovan
                6 – Bradley
                5 – Jones
                4 – F. Johnson, Zusi
                3 – Altidore, Bedoya, Dempsey
                2 – Beckerman, E. Johnson, Shea
                1 – Agudelo, Boyd, Bunbury, Cameron, Castillo, Gordon, Holden, Orozco Fiscal, Parkhurst, Torres, Wondolowski

Funny how some will stray from the stats when it suits them! And vice versa!

LOL!

Thanks, Zeppo! (Yech! That did not feel right.)

Zeppo, your facts/stats cannot stand up to Karl's feelings on Donovan's contribution to TEAM. Him could have a million assists!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                        Stats in the Jurgen Klinsmann era:

Goals
                        14 – Dempsey
                        11 – Donovan
                        9 – Wondolowski
                        8 – Altidore,
                        7 – E. Johnson
                        4 – Gomez
                        3 – Bradley
                        2 – Bocanegra, Corona, Diskerud, Goodson, Orozco Fiscal, Shea
                        1 – Bedoya, Buddle, Cameron, Clark, Evans, Holden, Jones, Rogers, Zusi

Assists
                        10 – Donovan
                        6 – Bradley
                        5 – Jones
                        4 – F. Johnson, Zusi
                        3 – Altidore, Bedoya, Dempsey
                        2 – Beckerman, E. Johnson, Shea
                        1 – Agudelo, Boyd, Bunbury, Cameron, Castillo, Gordon, Holden, Orozco Fiscal, Parkhurst, Torres, Wondolowski
                        Yeah...and Shelton scored a bundle of goals for us...but as far as TEAM-play goes and making our TEAM good quality...even half-good quality (whatever the hell is that???)...he adds nothing!!!

Look, your response to Klinsmann's axing of Donovan goes it falls right in the Bruce arena's silly comment on 'the 23 players selected are not better than Donovan'.

Guess Burce is suggesting that, for example, on thinking of 'keepers he would pick Donovan as favored 'keeper? ...point is Bruce is not that silly. The only answer is, his emotions have gotten the better of him.

How many assists does Luton have?

So Donovan has lead in assists in the Klinsmann era, but has done nothing to help the team.

Ok, Karl. Got it.