Ahm.. I deal with facts.
    then you should be able to deal with the fact that Athletico Madrid are the La Liga champs...and the fact that Barcelona won nothing this season

I think the ball came off the Barca forward (Sanchez?). He towed the ball around the defender and it got to Messi. If it were the defender who had played the ball, it would more likely have been called a handball. Look at the attached picture and see how far offside Messi was and while the Atleti defender was airborne, you could see the Barca forward on one leg, while pushing the other around the Atleti defender. At that time, Messi was about a mile offside, but he was not involved in the play. Once he played the ball, the referee could call him offside.
      Attached Files
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

That Messi was stnding in an offside position is not in dispute I don't think... rather, who touched the ball before it got to him?

I asked this very question recently and I think the consensus was that if it came off a defender and got to an opposition player who was otherwise ini an offside position, the offside becomes null.

In this video (the one posted by Maudib) it looks like it came off the defender. Maudib might have a valid argument!

Anyway, it's all academic now, but... these incidents rae why FIFA should allow replays if they (the replays) can clarify contentious decisions or situations. I tennis, and cricket a player/team gets two chances (minimum) to challenge the umpire. The same could be done in football.

nah...calls like that should not be reviewed...

Why not ? Perfect type of call for a review.

Whistle blow after play completed.. ball in di back of di net. No difference from goal-line review.

No need to THINK.

The video footage does not lie. Came off defender leg.

I took another look at it frame by frame and here is what I saw. The ball seem to have come off the defender's arm, then bounced on the ground and to Messi. It should have been a hand ball and a penalty to Barca or Messi's goal should have stood.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Which video yuh watching.

Di one I saw it clear as day.. yuh all si which part of him body di ball hit.

Wheh yuh seh.. Barca wouldn't ah even get a corner if it did guh out based on dat ref ?

I believe you are seeing what you want to see. Even so, in real time, that would have been hard for the ref to decipher...plus...Atletico was the better team all season, so tek you beatin' an' siddung wid di res' ah we who neva win nuttin and shet u mout'

flag was up so play was dead before the goal was scored...anyway...goal line is all that is needed nothing else...come salt up the game...

I am seeing what I want to see ??

Ahm.. its not as if it is not clear..

Review this footage and tell me what you want to see:

http://www.livesoccertv.com/news/100...offside-video/

Careful not to defy the laws of physics while you are at it...

That the flag was up in this situation DID NOT stop the flow of play. Common sense should prevail.

Flag being up does not make the play dead... Referee has last call..

Try again..

Very well.

Presenting the facts as they stand... Barca cyaan beat ref.. dem can only play football and outscore their opponent.

If Ref want to tek wheh a goal.. dem cyaan stop dat.

See what I mean... if indeed your scrutiny is correct. I.e., if you call for a review, which I think should be available since the technology is there, then whatever the tape reveals should stand.. in other words, if Barca disputed the offside and what you say was true then MAYBE a penalty could be granted. That again would be dependent on some amount of interpretation regarding ball to hand etc etc.

Bottom line though, we have the technology to rectify quite a few wrongs, yet we don't use it. Sad situation.

the flag is up the play was over...who cares about flow or common sense...