Tilla do you see.....

And I ask Dunny to show me where the 110 million were spent. And who said you cannot spend to establish a team and come up empty handed at the beginning? Is that failure, especially when you were in it all down to the wire?

Also, the whole reasoning that Mourinho is a failure because he has not won any silverware in the last two seasons with different clubs is just ludicrous! It is argued as if he was not doing this between two different clubs in different leagues in different countries.
    OK!
    ...but please do not attempt to belittle my GUNNERS' teacher, Arsene Wenger, or making statements on or about him that defy facts. Wenger is an above average coach.

OK!
      ...but please do not attempt to belittle my GUNNERS' teacher, Arsene Wenger, or making statements on or about him that defy facts. Wenger is an above average coach.
      Sorry fi mash yuh corn Karl. Wenger is a good coach if you ask me. I have a lo of respect for the man. I however would like to see him winning and breaking the 9 year drought. Oh, that could soon happen with the FA Cup.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Sorry fi mash yuh corn Karl. Wenger is a good coach if you ask me. I have a lo of respect for the man. I however would like to see him winning and breaking the 9 year drought. Oh, that could soon happen with the FA Cup.
        Tenk yuh, sah!
        I hope you do not have same type mouth (goat mout) as X?

...and this also has to be included in Wenger's achievements -
        • 2006 Champions League final - Barcelona - 2-1 loss

•2007 League Cup final - Chelsea - 2-1 loss

•2011 - League Cup final - Birmingham City - 2-1 loss

I guess I was preaching the other day about celebrating the near misses. Of course Arsenal should celebrate their near misses. They have done well if you ask me considering the way they approach business. Wenger for sure would have been more successful, had he decided that spending big to acquire the best talent was the way to go. I just give his stick because I can. I am sure it is the same with Jose as well.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            The fans couldn't wait to get rid of Rafa who finished third won a trophy and had the team playing some decent football.
            Herald the Special one, played some dire football, won no trophies spent 110 million and transformed the third best team in England to the third best team in England
            Couldn't help it - Had to return to your post. It is a classic!

I guess I was preaching the other day about celebrating the near misses. Of course Arsenal should celebrate their near misses. They have done well if you ask me considering the way they approach business. Wenger for sure would have been more successful, had he decided that spending big to acquire the best talent was the way to go. I just give his stick because I can. I am sure it is the same with Jose as well.
              Wenger for sure would have been more successful, had he decided that spending big to acquire the best talent was the way to go

Tilla Wenger couldn't spend what him don't have, lets get that straight. If you spend what you don't have you end up like Portsmouth or Leeds united. Now there is money do you think he will start next season without spending some? Chelsea and the rest should be very afraid, my Gunners are back and ready to win some silverware.

Couldn't help it - Had to return to your post. It is a classic!
                But Karl no true?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  Wenger for sure would have been more successful, had he decided that spending big to acquire the best talent was the way to go

Tilla Wenger couldn't spend what him don't have, lets get that straight. If you spend what you don't have you end up like Portsmouth or Leeds united. Now there is money do you think he will start next season without spending some? Chelsea and the rest should be very afraid, my Gunners are back and ready to win some silverware.
                  Dunny,you always go off on a tangent with your discussions. I could have predicted some redicalous response like this from you.

That said, where did you read that I said he should spend what he doesn''t have? You guys always boast that Arsenal continually makes a profit. I thought making a profit would mean that funds could be available to acquire players so you can realize your ambitions. We all know that Wenger has access to funds, but chooses to "pinchy kobi" and hope he can find success with the bare minimum. Where has that gotten him? A more ambitious management would have given him the boot after his 5th season coming up empty handed. But they have allowed to cancer to continue to fester...

Counting near wins is good, but at some point they need to trun a near win into something tangible.

Dunny,you always go off on a tangent with your discussions. I could have predicted some redicalous response like this from you.

That said, where did you read that I said he should spend what he doesn''t have? You guys always boast that Arsenal continually makes a profit. I thought making a profit would mean that funds could be available to acquire players so you can realize your ambitions. We all know that Wenger has access to funds, but chooses to "pinchy kobi" and hope he can find success with the bare minimum. Where has that gotten him? A more ambitious management would have given him the boot after his 5th season coming up empty handed. But they have allowed to cancer to continue to fester...

Counting near wins is good, but at some point they need to trun a near win into something tangible.
                    Come on, Tilla?
                    You are among other things a business man. You know the "bottom line" being in the black is key. ...as such/thinking within the ambit of such continuos profitability of My GUNNERS; is it not reasonable to think My Gunners Board, the majority of our Shareholders and other Stakeholders are 'with it' on profitability?

I think we are all happy with my GUNNERS healthy financial state...even as we plan to win 'silverware'. That also means we understand why we have been 'beat' by the big spenders more often than not and we also are working to get in our 'licks'. Who knows the first 'lick' may be delivered tomorrow. - ...but could it be The FA Cup?

Let us see what tomorrow brings!!!!

Hey, it has been said over and over that Arsenal's board has given the man authorization to spend. So obviously it is not a situation of the club not having money to achieve its objectives, it is Wenger who is afraid to spend. So Dunny is saying Wenger is not going to spend what he doesn't have. The point is, he has it, but will not spend for whatever reason.

I think the manager of clubs should focus on team management and leave the financial aspect of the game to the board. If the Board says you can spend 100 million on players for next season, it is because they would have looked into their situation and know that they can afford to spend the money. Wenger's job is to win trophies and with winning trophies come even more money into the kitty. Be a manager and leave the financial management to the people with the expertise to do so.

I can't see anything ridiculous about my answer, it is well documented that Arsenal didn't have the money to spend until last season. We just had enough to keep our head above water after making a little bit of profit. Not only transfer fee but it is also difficult to compete with the likes of Chelsea, Man U and Man City when it comes to playing wages, the big players want big wages which we don't pay.

I thought you guys didn't have money for the transfer market.

Wenger ready to confirm new contract

£100 million! Talk about not having money!

I do not profess to know any club's books much less source of funds.... but Chelsea and City were apparently thrown money by their owners who had money outside of the clubs own earnings... not all clubs had that option, nor were their owners willing to dig into their own pockets to subsidise their pastime.

It is new capital hence accounted for.Not much of creating a level field because some clubs are worth more than others by virtue of profits too.
                              Most clubs remained at a disadvantage.The justification is apparently to stop clubs from going into disarray,that hardly the case with those deep pockets clubs.
                              Just seems prioritizing debt payments is the way to go..

It is new capital hence accounted for.Not much of creating a level field because some clubs are worth more than others by virtue of profits too.
                                Most clubs remained at a disadvantage.The justification is apparently to stop clubs from going into disarray,that hardly the case with those deep pockets clubs.
                                Just seems prioritizing debt payments is the way to go..
                                Prioritizing debt was exactly what Arsenal did. They are now in a position where their stadium is almost paid for - so believe me, they are strong financially and setup well for the future. HOWEVER, while they have done it responsibly, you cannot say the same for Chelsea or City. Both are (and have) frigged up the game by introducing a ridiculous financial imbalance.