Tilla do you see.....

It might have been about Mourinho, but it begs the question, why focus on Mourinho two seasons without a trophy when he has a coach who has not won anything in 9 seasons. Why so focused on others while missing the thing staring you in the face?
    Dunny, the teams which are all conquering are the ones that can afford go out and get the players they want. Look at Barca, Real, Bayern, ManUre, etc. It is just the way it is and the big spenders will always continue to spend to get the best. It is not Mourinho's fault if his club gives him the tools to get the job done. I just hope they give him time to mold the side into what he wants it to be

Your answer above, maybe the special one aint so special after all. Maybe Wenger would have had multiple titles if he managed Real Madrid or Chelsea where money was no object.

Can you name which players 110 million was spent on under Mourinho? I know Shruller arrived with him, but was more less signed before Mourinho's deal was agreed. Then there was Willian (32 million), he sold Mata for 37 million and Debryne for $20 million. Brought in Matic (20 mil) and Sala (12). Do the arithmetic and let me know if that is 110 million spent. When you do, let me know how much Man city spent to wil the EPL?

I think you are being unfair to Mourinho. With a little more luck on his side, he could have been on the winning side this season as well. I am happy with what the team achieved for the season, although I would have been happier with the EPL trophy.

Dunny, the teams which are all conquering are the ones that can afford go out and get the players they want. Look at Barca, Real, Bayern, ManUre, etc. It is just the way it is and the big spenders will always continue to spend to get the best. It is not Mourinho's fault if his club gives him the tools to get the job done. I just hope they give him time to mold the side into what he wants it to be.
      I think you are being unfair to Mourinho. With a little more luck on his side, he could have been on the winning side this season as well. I am happy with what the team achieved for the season, although I would have been happier with the EPL trophy

I don't think I am unfair at all, Mourinho is trying to make people think that he has an inferior squad to the rest when he has just as much resources as Man City. If you want to bring luck into it then I am gonna say to you if Arsenal had Ramsey, Ozil and Walcott fit all season we would've won the league.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Tilla - So the question is Tilla, are you happy with the quality of football Chelsea have played this season and are you happy with the return you have received on the 110 million pound spent improving the third best team in England to the third best team in England?
        Now that is a question!!!

Tilla?

Cho, Ramsey aint all that and as for Ozill, he is yet to prove that he is cut out to be a success in the EPL. Walcott needs to be playing with a more ambitious club, as Arsenal at best is becoming a feeder club.

I have actually seen games in which Chelsea sould have won, had it not been for the influence of referees with bad decisions. Players also have themselves to blame too against the lesser oppositions. Maybe you can also fault the manager for not putting enough preparation into some games that see the team losing to teams at the bottom of the table. I cannot explain how a team is ready for the big teams, but fall short against a Villa and Sunderland etc. Those teams are supposed to get a smacking similar to the 6-0 that was placed on Arsenal which is a much better team than those bottom feeders.

Anyway, my point is this. The team missed the boat this season. I would hope that Abromavich have some patience as this was a near miss and could easily have been a success for Chelsea. I think City's success is deserving, although with the squad at their disposal, they should not have had to struggle as they did to lock up the championship. It is left to be seen if Liverpool can repeat what they did next season. Their Achilles heel was they only knew one way to play and it was all out attack. If they can overwhelm you with their attack, then you were toast. Contain their attack and they would be left without answers as how to go forward.

Anyway, it should be interesting come next season.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It might have been about Mourinho, but it begs the question, why focus on Mourinho two seasons without a trophy when he has a coach who has not won anything in 9 seasons. Why so focused on others while missing the thing staring you in the face?
            No Tilla, the question was focused on
            Mourinho's spending of more than £100,000,000 and for the immediate past two seasons he ends up with the dismally empty cupboard.

* dis·mal
            [ dízməl ]

1.depressing: depressing to the spirit or outlook
            2.hopeless: showing a lack or failure of hope
            3.of poor quality: very poor or inadequate

*dismally
            dis·mal [diz-muhl] Show IPA

adjective

1. causing gloom or dejection; gloomy; dreary; cheerless; melancholy:

2. characterized by ineptness or lack of skill, competence, effectiveness, imagination, or interest; pitiful:

As in "Our team played a dismal **game".

**game - Here means the entire season...as per the EPL season being the game the Premier Leagues 20 TEAMs were engaged in.

Maybe Wenger would have had multiple titles if he managed Real Madrid or Chelsea where money was no object.
              Hey Dunny, a good manager is not just one who is able to work with limited resources to get average results as you have seen from Wegner over the last 9 years. Good manager recognizes what is needed and is prepared to spend what the club can afford to reach its objectives.

Wenger may not make it at other clubs as while the clubs may place an emphasis on silverware, he wants to make Champions League and save money by not acquiring top quality players. Arsenal is the right club for him as he would not last anywhere else without winning something.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Cho, Ramsey aint all that and as for Ozill, he is yet to prove that he is cut out to be a success in the EPL. Walcott needs to be playing with a more ambitious club, as Arsenal at best is becoming a feeder club.

I have actually seen games in which Chelsea sould have won, had it not been for the influence of referees with bad decisions. Players also have themselves to blame too against the lesser oppositions. Maybe you can also fault the manager for not putting enough preparation into some games that see the team losing to teams at the bottom of the table. I cannot explain how a team is ready for the big teams, but fall short against a Villa and Sunderland etc. Those teams are supposed to get a smacking similar to the 6-0 that was placed on Arsenal which is a much better team than those bottom feeders.

Anyway, my point is this. The team missed the boat this season. I would hope that Abromavich have some patience as this was a near miss and could easily have been a success for Chelsea. I think City's success is deserving, although with the squad at their disposal, they should not have had to struggle as they did to lock up the championship. It is left to be seen if Liverpool can repeat what they did next season. Their Achilles heel was they only knew one way to play and it was all out attack. If they can overwhelm you with their attack, then you were toast. Contain their attack and they would be left without answers as how to go forward.

Anyway, it should be interesting come next season.
                Over the 38 games your team wasn't good enough, every team can point to where they made mistakes I can also point out games where Chelsea were lucky and shouldn't have won. Likewise Arsenal, I am not gonna make any excuse for my team. So my final question to you is if Jose go and spend another 100 mil this summer and end up empty handed next season would he still be the special one? I must admit Roman has been looking more and more miserable at the dire football he has been watching so I can see him pulling the trigger!!

If you want to bring luck into it then I am gonna say to you if Arsenal had Ramsey, Ozil and Walcott fit all season we would've won the league.
                  Dunny, you keep burying your head in the sand. The problem with your club is the coach. He is past his expiration date.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hey Dunny, a good manager is not just one who is able to work with limited resources to get average results as you have seen from Wegner over the last 9 years. Good manager recognizes what is needed and is prepared to spend what the club can afford to reach its objectives.

Wenger may not make it at other clubs as while the clubs may place an emphasis on silverware, he wants to make Champions League and save money by not acquiring top quality players. Arsenal is the right club for him as he would not last anywhere else without winning something.
                    Hey Tilla, their are money bag clubs cueing up to hire Wenger, if he was to leave Arsenal and work at a club where money was no object he would win unlimited trophies and not just winning but winning with style.

Are you sure about that?

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And I ask Dunny to show me where the 110 million were spent. And who said you cannot spend to establish a team and come up empty handed at the beginning? Is that failure, especially when you were in it all down to the wire?

Also, the whole reasoning that Mourinho is a failure because he has not won any silverware in the last two seasons with different clubs is just ludicrous! It is argued as if he was not doing this between two different clubs in different leagues in different countries.

And I ask Dunny to show me where the 110 million were spent. And who said you cannot spend to establish a team and come up empty handed at the beginning? Is that failure, especially when you were in it all down to the wire?

Also, the whole reasoning that Mourinho is a failure because he has not won any silverware in the last two seasons with different clubs is just ludicrous! It is argued as if he was not doing this between two different clubs in different leagues in different countries.
                          Tilla just cool no man, don't tek it so serious boss. I am only being mischievous, I rate Jose but don't like his behaviour. I also think he is overrated. He is not as great as people think he is, because without a loaded cheque book he would look ordinary like the rest.

Mi nuh understand you. You call me out and ask my opinion, then you begging me to cool.

Your point about coaches needing a loaded checkbook to be successful, I have to agree. I do not think this is a Josey problem alone though, because if you ask me, Alex Ferguson, Pep Gardola, Mancini,, Pellgrini and even Wegner suffer from the same disease. The thing is, Jose has shown that is you allow him to build the team he wants, he will get you results.

With that, I am done.

And you got spanked by by Crystal Palace and Sunderland this half of the season... dat mean dem bettan dan unuh this half???

Below is what counts my friend! but keep trying...
                              Liverpool 84
                              Chelsea 82

Over the last 9 years Arsene Wenger got average results?

Hey Dunny, a good manager is not just one who is able to work with limited resources to get average results as you have seen from Wegner over the last 9 years.
                                Facts are stubborn!

I am sure you do not mean Arsenal's Arsene Wenger as any computation on his results over the last 9 years shows work of an above average coach producing above average results.

Just for the record:
                                The EPL - Let's guess that an average of 5 new EPL managers enter the league each year after each year's commencement.

Let's also remember that there are 20 EPL managers at work on the first day of each EPL season.

Using the facts above, Wenger in each of the 9 seasons referenced by Tilla is 1 out of 25 managers.

During those 9 years Wenger has consistently performed above 20 other managers. How then falling within that 'above 20 managers' group = 'average performance'?

btw - Within that 9 year period -
                                2005/06 - 4th

2006/07 - 4th

2007-2008 - 3rd

2008/09 - 4th

2009/2010 - 4th

2010/11 - 4th

2011/2012 - 3rd

2012/2013 - 4th

2013/14 - 4th

In each season Wenger's performance was better that 20 of the 25 managers.

In Europe's major competition, The Champions League, Wenger has consistently gotten his team qualified for the competition. He sits within the rare breed of managers that consistently qualify for this elite league.

It should be noted that within those 9 years he has gotten his TEAM to advance out of the first round and indeed has had his TEAM play in the finals an even rarer accomplishment for managers.

In the minor competitions he has reached finals.

Tilla, my friend, I would 'love' to see your math?