Sickko .. or is it Jangle, or is it Westman, or is it T.K.? It nuh matter ..
Dear Sir Alex Ferguson…
(I’m hoping that you run a Google search on you name and come across this letter).
Thank you for this wonderful 2006/2007 season of football that you made possible for so many of us. Many people wrote this team off in the beginning of this season. Yet, You Believed! Your belief made the team achieve the most impossible and un-thinkable. You brought back pride to Old Trafford once again. I now once again enter bars proudly with my AIG replica shirt (not that I were ever really ashamed, I now just walk a bit more proud). Thank you!
Our team had their highs and lows this season…
With our “highs”, it showed just what a great manager and tactician you are. Our good start to the season, our thrashing of Italian opposition, beating of Liverpool (TWICE!!) and most importantly, our Champions trophy are just a few of these highlights. These are admittedly mostly thanks to you.
In fairness, we should therefore assign the “lows” to you as well…our continuous crumbling against “great” opposition, our lackluster performances during games that really mattered (Milan and Chelsea). I understand that the EPL was the main priority this season. But, by getting so far in the other cup competitions, I have to admit that it is very disappointing to see the manner by which we got beaten. Perhaps we could have gone out with our heads held high and playing more attack-minded during these games…(I cannot remember the last time cup final that United played not to win, but to draw…it hurts). After beating Roma in fantastic fashion, with the entire world now looking at us, we went and played defensively against Milan. Now this is real humiliation.
For next season, can you please not show the other teams the amount of respect that you showed Milan, Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal? We are the champions, not them… That kind of respect instills fear into our team and kills off our game. When the team is firing, we play the most beautiful football in the world. No other team can come close to matching this.
Sometimes it is something like “poetry in motion”… And even better, we win these games (which is more than what I can say of Arsenal’s supposedly beautiful game… talking of which, as a manager, can you perhaps tell me what is so beautiful about their game? I’ve been watching a few of their games recently and just don’t get what the fuss is about?). I know we cannot play every game like that, but that is what we love to see.
Now that the transfer frenzy is upon us again, I believe that you will do what is best for the team. I know that there is no way anyone can persuade you to let go of the team’s 451/433 formation. Your persistence with it – even during our most torrid displays – is enough prove of that. It appears that this is now the future of our club’s playing style. I guess we have now seen the last of our “flying wingers”?
The way I see it, I believe that it can work out. But, in my opinion, for this formation to work, we will need the proper players. For starters, we need 3 forwards that can rotate well. We already have Rooney and Ronaldo. I think we need to add one more Rooney or Ronaldo. Perhaps Tevez and/or Robben? Should you add a good midfield “anchorman” in the mould of Makalele – perhaps this is where Owen Hargreaves fits in – then I believe our team will be set for this. No need to tinker with our defence.
I know this is a real headache for you because, apart from attaining the services of “proven” players for this new formation to work, you also need to blood youngsters for United. One player that immediately pops to mind is Rossi. How on earth are you going to do this? I really do not envy you.
I hope you have a lovely holiday – you certainly deserve it – and trust that we will see some fantastic football by Manchester United next season.
Yours truly
“Just an average, thankful, Manchester United fan”.
Dear Sir Alex Ferguson…
(I’m hoping that you run a Google search on you name and come across this letter).
Thank you for this wonderful 2006/2007 season of football that you made possible for so many of us. Many people wrote this team off in the beginning of this season. Yet, You Believed! Your belief made the team achieve the most impossible and un-thinkable. You brought back pride to Old Trafford once again. I now once again enter bars proudly with my AIG replica shirt (not that I were ever really ashamed, I now just walk a bit more proud). Thank you!
Our team had their highs and lows this season…
With our “highs”, it showed just what a great manager and tactician you are. Our good start to the season, our thrashing of Italian opposition, beating of Liverpool (TWICE!!) and most importantly, our Champions trophy are just a few of these highlights. These are admittedly mostly thanks to you.
In fairness, we should therefore assign the “lows” to you as well…our continuous crumbling against “great” opposition, our lackluster performances during games that really mattered (Milan and Chelsea). I understand that the EPL was the main priority this season. But, by getting so far in the other cup competitions, I have to admit that it is very disappointing to see the manner by which we got beaten. Perhaps we could have gone out with our heads held high and playing more attack-minded during these games…(I cannot remember the last time cup final that United played not to win, but to draw…it hurts). After beating Roma in fantastic fashion, with the entire world now looking at us, we went and played defensively against Milan. Now this is real humiliation.
For next season, can you please not show the other teams the amount of respect that you showed Milan, Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal? We are the champions, not them… That kind of respect instills fear into our team and kills off our game. When the team is firing, we play the most beautiful football in the world. No other team can come close to matching this.
Sometimes it is something like “poetry in motion”… And even better, we win these games (which is more than what I can say of Arsenal’s supposedly beautiful game… talking of which, as a manager, can you perhaps tell me what is so beautiful about their game? I’ve been watching a few of their games recently and just don’t get what the fuss is about?). I know we cannot play every game like that, but that is what we love to see.
Now that the transfer frenzy is upon us again, I believe that you will do what is best for the team. I know that there is no way anyone can persuade you to let go of the team’s 451/433 formation. Your persistence with it – even during our most torrid displays – is enough prove of that. It appears that this is now the future of our club’s playing style. I guess we have now seen the last of our “flying wingers”?
The way I see it, I believe that it can work out. But, in my opinion, for this formation to work, we will need the proper players. For starters, we need 3 forwards that can rotate well. We already have Rooney and Ronaldo. I think we need to add one more Rooney or Ronaldo. Perhaps Tevez and/or Robben? Should you add a good midfield “anchorman” in the mould of Makalele – perhaps this is where Owen Hargreaves fits in – then I believe our team will be set for this. No need to tinker with our defence.
I know this is a real headache for you because, apart from attaining the services of “proven” players for this new formation to work, you also need to blood youngsters for United. One player that immediately pops to mind is Rossi. How on earth are you going to do this? I really do not envy you.
I hope you have a lovely holiday – you certainly deserve it – and trust that we will see some fantastic football by Manchester United next season.
Yours truly
“Just an average, thankful, Manchester United fan”.